We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great memory”

Six Flags Great America
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Gurnee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This amusement park, located halfway between Chicago and Milwaukee, has over 100 rides and attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ripon, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great memory”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went here with some of my family and friends for freight fest and it was so much fun. If your worried about being extremely scared don't be because I was at first but I really enjoyed myself!((:

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    625
    283
    142
    187
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Roller Coasters...in the region.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We live in Northern Indiana and make a trip once or twice a summer to Cedar Point in Sandusky. We LOVE Cedar Point because we're coaster junkies and it fixes the addiction. Great America IS closer to us, but just doesn't give us the fix that CP does. That said, we don't care much for waiting in lines and found the platinum flash pass quite effective: we waited in line for virtually only a few minutes on a relatively busy Saturday in the late summer. The new coaster, X Flight is amazing!! Other coasters are great, but it's tough to let Great America add up to Cedar Point. Sorry if this is too biased :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RRSHOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haunted Houses a rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The only thing scary about them was the extra price I paid to see them and the horrible long lines.

Skip paying for this and just do the normal rides and attractions, save this money for the Zion haunted house or Feargrounds in Waukesha, WI

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KG2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake Beach, Illinois, Usa
1 review
“Six Flags Great America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Six Flags Great America is such a great amusement park. The rides, food, and entertainment make Six Flags a great park for the entire family to have a great time in. I love this park! I always buy my season pass to ride my favorite rides like the Raging Bull

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hainesville, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Freight Fest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great America is always fun to visit. Make sure to visit during Freight Fest. They have a section specifically for people dressed up in creepy clown costumes. The night when I visited, I ended up walking thru this section, and I saw small children crying. Even for adults it can be a little freightening, but fun. The food can be expensive in the park so make sure to pack food and drink in a cooler and leave it in your vehicle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne_Schiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six Flags Great America also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Six Flags Great America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing