We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good time....”

Six Flags Great America
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Gurnee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This amusement park, located halfway between Chicago and Milwaukee, has over 100 rides and attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a good time....”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Expect long lines/wait times on weekends. The BEST time to go is on a weekday. It's pricey, so always check for discount coupons and BOGOs. If you live nearby you might want to consider a season pass that includes parking!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Sebring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    984
    673
    294
    148
    194
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good time had by all!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

With action rides and a safe environment to trust kids on their own, Great America was a definite hit. Kids got the thrills and fun, we parents got the safety and enjoyment of the park and rides. A nice place to spend all day. One of the few places you can still allow your teens to spend a day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eenerxram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Six Flags/Goliath review”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went to Six Flags on Friday and had a great time. We got there around 2:00 and got on Raging Bull within 15 minutes. The lines for everything except Goliath were pretty short. Since we are season pass holders we figured we'd wait to ride Goliath when the Coasters after Dark started. At around 7:00 the fog started rolling in and we figured we shouldn't wait much longer to get in line. Had about a 2-hour wait, but it was worth it!! Goliath is AMAZING! It did break down throughout the day and once when we were in line, but that's expected with a new ride. Definitely a must ride on your next visit. It's smooth, fast and very thrilling. It was foggy and dark when we went, which added to the excitement, since we couldn't really see anything. We didn't do the water park this time, but there is a $5 charge this year if you are not a season pass holder (excluding thrill pass). Overall it was a great day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Six flags rocks!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Been to many amusement parks from coast to coast and SFGA has the best coasters of them all! I would definitely be back here to ride the Goliath which is the best ride I've ever been on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Neymar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“We are die hards! Kids could enjoy this park daily, all summer long!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Can't do all the rides here enough, there are plenty. And they run the gamut of ages. Two kiddie areas, roller coasters for all ages and sizes, water rides, spinny rides and even a beautiful 2-story carousel that overlooks a reflecting pool surrounded by lovely landscape. Terrific photo opp.

This mom barely rides the scenic Sky Tower and relaxing train around the park, but it still makes for a great day with the kids! The park is clean; decent food though a bit pricey, ample restrooms, photos taken on select attractions, and benches to go around. (I've never been without a seat while waiting for kids.)

If you're seeking parades and shows throughout the day, you will be disappointed. There's one show worth seeing, Reflections, especially if it's hot or rainy. The 'parade' is a joke, particularly if you've been to Disney or even attended your own towns July 4th celebration.

Despite the high prices, food variety is ok, not great. Games are aplenty if you like to try your luck and give the park even more of your money. Restrooms are perfectly fine, clean as well. Staff friendly and helpful. Value terrific-just 2 visits per year make a season pass worthwhile. We even used them at other Six Flags in the US.

SFGA is a 'can't miss' for families on the go who love adventure!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank familygalChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Six Flags Great America also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Six Flags Great America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing