We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive hotel...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 Gurnee
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dive hotel...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I had stayed here along with a few friends while on our trip to Six Flags. The hotel was very dirty and we actually had to ask for clean linens to put over things. The front desk staff was rude and ignored a lot of comments we had mentioned to them. Spend the extra $25-$35 and stay at the Holiday Inn. I would not recommend this hotel at all or the services they offer (a swimming pool).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    72
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
106
27
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Let this be a warning to anyone planning a Six Flags trip: THEY DON'T ALLOW TEENAGERS TO STAY WITHOUT THEIR PARENTS ANYMORE. And that wasn't even the problem for us. The problem was that the clerk on the phone who we were trying to make a reservation with hung up on us. She just said 'I'm not even gonna take the reservation" and hung up before we could explain that we were not a group of teenagers, but 3 family members in our mid-20s taking our teenage sister with us on vacation. We have stayed there several times over the years and couldn't believe that this clerk would treat customers -especially those who have given their business to them before- in such a rude way. We had officially had it. Although we generally liked the hotel before, the cranky staff and the constant weekend pool closures eventually chased us off to another hotel. Save your money on a hotel where the staff actually APPRECIATES your business.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My 2 sons and their friends went down to Six Flags and booked a room at this hotel they were given a room with a queen bed and pull out couch. They pulled the couch out to find dirty boxers and then took the comforter off the bed and found a condem. When they complained to the desk they were offered clean sheets. When I, as their Mother, called the next day they offered a 20% reimbursement and told me the room was thoroughly cleaned due to the occupant that stayed there before was there for 3 weeks. How can they say the room was thoroughly cleaned?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

It's small but welcoming. VERY inexpensive at around $55 per night. It is near the military base so it was convenient for me. The room was clean and the hotel was nice and quiet. I didn't get a chance to check out the pool but it looked clean. The bed they have is the memory foam. If that's your thing then you'll love it! I have a bad back so it wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank CaseyC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I am not sure where these good reviews are coming from.....this place is NASTY.

1) the pool is tiny and has a film of god knows what on the top of the water.
2) the pool is FREEZING
3) the rooms, or at least ours, was dirty. As in.....puke on the wall in the bathroom....a toilet that ran and leaked water......cobwebs. A hole in our bedspread.....stains of nasty stuff on the recliner, a sticky desk, old pamphlets with water marks. Just gross.
4) the other guests kept us up till 3 am. Not cool.

We ended up going to target and buying a king size sheet, comforter and pillows. We covered the entire mess of a bed with the sheet and slept on top of that. I tried to cancel the room and they said I would owe money to switch rooms.
What a joke. Stay somewhere nice, after this experience I will NEVER stay in a hotel that isn't a higher end chain. I don't care the cost, staying in a place as gross as this is not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonestAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is a great location to stay at for a Vacation or just a fun weekend. They have the coolest suites and everybody there is just so friendly! Almost the whole downstairs has black light, and for the children rooms they have cartoon characters! Six flags is right across the street and plenty of places to eat in walking distance!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank proudmom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Me and my boyfriend decided to stay here the night before we went to 6 Flags. Making the reservation was a little difficult at first with them not having our initial reservation and having to rebook. Upon arrival at the hotel, check in was efficient and once we were in the room, we were surprised with the room. We had booked the Lion Themed room which had a jacuzzi for 2. The bed was soooo comfortable I didnt want to get out. The room was nice and clean, a good size (bathroom also) and all the little themed things were pretty cool too. It was just what we expected. We didnt even bother to eat out, instead deciding to stay in the room and relax there. It is a great place to start for a trip to 6flags. Children would absolutely love it here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gurnee

Property: Super 8 Gurnee
Address: 5520 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901 (Formerly Grand Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient, family friendly,newly renovated, clean rooms, memory foam mattress, only 1000 feet away from six flag Chicago ,no need to spend $25 for parking at six flag.Free wireless internet,Indoor pool,free hard wired internet,free grand breakfast,free parking,cabal t.V.,Hairdryer and iron and ironing board,nearly 14 dining option in walking distance,great location,gurnee mill mall is 1 mile,great lake naval station 6.7.Mile, oversize specious room,off 94 interstate on route 132. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing