We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid food- slow service”
Review of Wholly Frijoles - CLOSED

Wholly Frijoles
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid food- slow service”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

The wait service folks were very friendly and the food was solid. Unfortunately, our 25 minute expected wait turned into over an hour wait. It was also disappointing that they ran out of chili rellenos - one of their specialties. The food was not good enough to get me to return due to their long wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was a surprise for us. A few girlfiends and I were staying at the Country Inn and Suites right behind the restaurant and decided to walk over. Wow is it good! Their salad that comes with each meal is great, and I had the chicken taquitos. Delicious! We were all satisfied with our meals. I enjoyed it so much, that I made a point a few months later to stop while my husband and I were driving through Gurnee. We make a point to stop every time we are in the area. Looks can be deceiving...don't drive by this gem!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephD0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This little place is tucked away in a small strip mall and it is worth trying to find it. They have six or seven lunch specials (every day of the week) for just $6.99. Thought that they might skimp on the quality and quantity of the food but that was not the case at all. Lunch specials come with a fresh salad too! Affordable beer variety as well. A great little spot with terrific service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJHinsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great things come in small places”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

A surprise discovery, we've enjoyed Holy Frijoles twice now. A great affordable night out! A chance to try something different from heavy standard chain Mexican fare. All home made. All beautifully presented in upscale style. Lighter spicing, so we actually had a lot to choose from on the menu. Stuffed Chicken, Coconut Shrimp, and Fajita dishes tasted delicious and had much appreciated complexity of flavor. Yea! Not drowned in dry rub, sauce, cheese or over salted. Salsa much better than average too. Enjoyed the hibiscus cooler. Yummy desserts. Especially enjoyed the mango cheesecake and cream brulee. Very accomodating, attentive customer service. I would guess spiciness could be adjusted for those looking for more kick. Only negative is they need a bigger restaurant...the place is a small strip mall location, very crowded when busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjiloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fresh ingredients!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This place is awesome! The food is fresh with great flavors, and great presentation. Waitress Kristin was helpful in deciding on type type of food I would like based on not liking spicy foods. Love the cilantro in the salad, very refreshing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Villageresident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wholly Frijoles also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing