We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Had a group of us all take a post-prom trip to Six Flags, and we all booked several rooms at the La Quinta Inn. My girlfriend and I booked a king bed room for ourselves. The room rate was only $50, so we couldn't pass it up! First impression as we drove up, Looks great. Clean, near restaurants, Right around the corner from Six Flags. Front desk staff was very friendly. We got a room on the first floor right down the hall from the pool. I was a bit nervous that it may be a noisy location, but didn't have any problems. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. It was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on.

I frequently visit the Gurnee area to go to Gurnee Mills Mall and Six Flags, but usually don't need a hotel since I only live about an hour or so away. But this will be the hotel I stay at the next time I need a hotel in Gurnee!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    147
    78
    26
    16
See reviews for
212
68
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, il
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

I think the LaQuinta is a great value. Every year my mom and I plan a shopping trip to Gurnee and we have stayed here the last several years. The rooms are very clean with free internet. The breakfast is very basic, but it's free. The location is great. It's right off the interstate with close restaurants next door. Gurnee Mills and Six Flags are very close.

Our only complaint was the hot tub was SO hot that we could not get in.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pupnfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced, rated #3 out of Gurnee hotels and in close proximity to Great America and Gurnee Mills which was our goal. While the closeness to locations and price were spot on, the #3 in ratings is questionable. When we first arrived at the hotel around dinner time everything seemed in order...nearby restaurants, clean lobby, sufficient parking, etc.. Then we got our first dose of reality. We checked in and received our room keys on the 1st floor and headed off. Upon entering the room, we found that there was an exhaust fan (one used for drying flooded areas) in our bathroom and the room looked like someone was already staying there. Back to the front desk. Got another room. 2nd floor this time. So, we took all our bags up the stairs (the elevator was slow and there is only one for the entire hotel) only to be thrust into the sauna (didn't know it had one!) of the hotel. Someone had rigged a piece of dryer venting out of what looked to be a computer room and it was blowing hot air into the hallway. It's August and 95 degrees outside! I know.. let's make it 104 degrees inside! Finally, we got to our room at the end of "Hell's hallway" and the room seemed allright at first. It wasn't until the next day when we were near the nightstand that we encountered the wonderful essence of cat urine. We found out later that small pets are allowed in the hotel. Following that discovery, I also now noticed the top of the blanket for one of the beds had a spot on it which looked like dried up cat puke, (we have cats ourselves, thus we know the smells and sights left behind by them) which wasn't noticed earlier due to it almost matching the ugliness of the color of the aforementioned blanket. The "free" breakfast was a joke. Go to IHOP next door instead, unless you like to make your own waffles. If you do, be sure to spray the waffle iron with the cooking spray, the hotel provided first or else deal with a smoke filled dining area like we had to deal with. I'm not blaming the hotel for that one since it wasn't their fault, just some friendly advice. But, not enough tables or seats for the guests and constantly running out of food items is a shame. Didn't want to go near the "kiddie sized" pool after all this, so cannot comment on it. Found the garbages surrounding the outside of the hotel overflowing each morning too. My advice at this point is, if you want a cheap stay near some attractions in Gurnee and you like to be out from dawn to dusk (so you're hardly in the hotel) then, by all means, stay here. If you're like me however, and don't want to feel like you need to take a shower when leaving the hotel after just taking a shower in your room, seek other options. In this case, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheezhdinoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed here a couple times before and seems about the same. Great rates, good place just spend the night or two. Rooms are on the smaller size and beds seem to be double size. The room was clean and quiet. New carpet and fresh looking walls. Bathroom could of been a little cleaner. Breakfast ok. They do need to update their 1990 TVs though. Pool is small .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michigantraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luleå, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The La Quinta in Gurnee could not be in a better location if you are making a trip to great america. We also got a great price and were satisfied with the rooms, breakfast, and pool.
Our stay was not "Mind blowing awesome", but it was good enough.

Here is what we liked:

The price was very reasonable.
Rooms were clean and quiet.
The curtains block out almost all the light.
The pool and whirlpool were pretty good
Proximity to great america, Joes crabshack, Outback Steakhouse, and Olive Garden
Free Wi-Fi

Here is what we disliked:

The AC unit seemed to have a mind of its own. Woke up a couple times because we had to adjust it. It was pretty loud and didn't seem to cool very effectively
There was some rowdiness in the pool area and it was crowded at times
Breakfast was crowded, understaffed, and underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Just stayed at La Quinta in Gurnee Il and had a nice stay. I was told at first at our Double Bed , Non- Smoking room was not available after booking it a month in advance through hotels.com. They eventually found a room for us and were told that Hotels.com overbooks and it is safer to call the hotel itself.
The room was normal size,small bathroom but was clean and did not smell. The A/C worked fine and no problems with TV,Iron etc. There was five of us( 3 kids) so it was a little tight but we managed
The hotel provides a free continetal breakast which includes waffles ( u make yourself), bagels,rolls,cereal,fruit, hard boiled eggs. Not bad overall.
Location is great !! It is smack in the middle of Six Flags and Gurnee Mills Mall.
OUTBACK STEAK HOUSE, JOE"S CRAB SHACK,IHOP and OLIVE GARDEN are right next door! Not bad at all for the price $87.00

The pool and the hot tub pretty nice too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racso12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights with our three children (20, 15, &12). We spent time at the Gurnee Mills mall shopping (the mall is fantastic and has great discount prices-my oldest son spent hours at the bass pro shops). We also played at rink side sports-lazer tag was great and then we went to six flags.

The hotel is close to the interstate, but no noise at all. It's in walking distance of many restaurants, including, Cracker Barrel, Ihop, Joe's Crab shack, Olive Garden and Outback Steakhouse and across the street from
starbucks and an ice cream shop. The mall is only a minute down the road and six flags is about a minute the other direction.

The hotel was clean and neat and the pool was nice. The staff was really nice and accommodating. We did have our toilet back up but they fixed it immediately.The beds were super comfortable and the price was such a great value. The breakfast was average, but what do you expect for a free breakfast.

The only negative was I wish they had rooms with queen size beds or adjoining rooms. We had to get on executive room with a king for my husband and I and our daughter slept on the sofa bed (which was a twin size) and our two sons shared a separate room one door down with two double beds.

We had friends stay at the Key Lime Cove and they had things stolen out of their room while we were there and we didn't have anything taken or tampered with at all and felt very safe and secure in our hotel. And you couldn't beat the prices!!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#8 of 11 in Gurnee
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Address: 5688 Northridge Dr, Gurnee, IL 60031-4910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
La Quinta Hotel Chicago
La Quinta Gurnee
Gurnee La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing