We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original style - friendly owners”
Review of Gurnee Donuts

Gurnee Donuts
Ranked #1 of 4 Bakeries in Gurnee
Restaurant details
Marion, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Original style – friendly owners”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

So my aunt/uncle recommended us trying this donut shop. My 2 boys are donut hounds so it was up to me to put this place to the test. They are the true donut coinsures. We got a dozen random donuts from here. The owners were working and answered all questions we had. They were constantly bringing out fresh donuts while we were there. Price wasn’t bad compared to your brand name donut shops in the area. Boys and all of us loved the donuts. They were very fresh and delicious. You could tell they had that “secret” recipe taste. Recommend this place as I would’ve never found it had it not been for my aunt/uncle. We will be back during our next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Dounuts”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

One day, my brother brought home these doughnuts to my parent's house and i was so amazed on how good they where. Now, every time i go to Gurnee, i hope to see a box of these doughnuts sitting on the breakfast table. These are better than any Dunkin Doughnut. There is room to sit and eat, but it's not anything special, much like a diner. It's seems to be a family run and owned business.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZafferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than a chain”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

A great little place on the corner of Grand and 21. I always try and support the family business against the big chain. If you are in Gurnee try and stop by.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magna, UT
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food, convenient location.”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The owner/manager was very friendly and gave me a couple of extra items as it was later in the day. Nothing fancy, just good, tasty food. I wouldn't hesitate returning or recommending this place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mehodgsonsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My daughters' favorite donuts.....”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We do not go out often for donuts, but this place is consistently good and my girls favorites

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdeutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurnee Donuts also viewed

 
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Gurnee Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing