We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wisconsin 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #82 of 142 Restaurants in Gurnee
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wisconsin 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We ate here for breakfast one morning while staying next door at the Comfort Inn. They have good deals for breakfast and the food was yummy. Would eat here again if in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmolash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    22
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Running Errands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We will often stop for lunch because the restaurants are convenient and the service is quick. We usually all get the steak burgers, which are very good,
The shakes are excellent.
We are not big fans of the soups, and there are not many choices to pick from.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveGuy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have not eaten here in years, but the kids wanted to try it. I was pleasantly surprised by all of the choices and proces.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Long Lines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Steak n' Shake has such great food, but i'm going to have to give this location 2 stars. The wait is horrible around the "4th meal" hour. Dine in, take out, and drive thru. We waited about an hour in the drive thru to get our food, but it did come with a free shake for waiting!

If you don't mind the wait, the Chicago style hot dog is amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I'd never been to a Steak 'n Shake before, but my daughter and husband wanted to go and raved about the food.
The atmosphere was bright & cheery - neon, open kitchen, etc. However, the flip menu on our table was so dirty that pages were stuck together and there were fingerprints all over the base.

When I went to use the restroom to wash my hands, it was filthy. The floor was dirty, the stainless steel had "drip trails", the door itself was grimey; I didn't feel any cleaner after I washed up than before.

When my food arrived, the underside rim of my plate had 3 large (the size of a quarter) smears of dried yellow something (mustard, cheese??) that had clearly been baked on - probably in the dishwasher's dry cycle. It was gross.

I asked for a clean plate, the server apologized profusely and put my same meal on a different plate.

Never again will I dine at a Steak 'n Shake. It's too bad too, because my family really like it there.

The malt was delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksgbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing