We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm neighborhood/local restaurant and definitely not a Denny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Point Restaurant

Point Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 142 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Warm neighborhood/local restaurant and definitely not a Denny's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My friend and I were hoping to go somewhere local for food, and the handsome guy at the front desk of Holiday Inn Waukegan told us about this place. This place was not mentioned in any of the magazines, and nor did the locals heard of places recommended by magazines. We drove to Point and was not disappointed but enlightened. The food was great with many people in there. 'Tis not as oily or salty as many other diners. Going in big groups aka church groups can be tough with waiting, but going with another person or two is fine. The servers are also welcoming and joyous, and I will definitely visit there again if I'm around that area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zygomycota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy WI
Level Contributor
322 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A return visit worth the return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We've been to the Point on other occasions and this morning's breakfast was a good example of why we return on the odd occasions when we find ourselves needing food about and hour and 20 minutes from home.
Today my wife had the asparagus omelette with pancetta and raisin bread toast while I opted for the avocado omelette with bacon and pancakes. We were both very happy with the meal and the service.
It's nice when people just do the right thing, over and over and over again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food and many choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Food is very tasty and there is a large menu with many choices. The wait staff is friendly and helpful and will recommend, if asked.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great Family-Run Diner Fare - Pancakes Top the Local List”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My family and I have been coming to the Point on a regular basis for over 4 years, and during that time have had a consistently great experience. The restaurant is family owned and operated, and the hosts know us as soon as we walk in, a rarity in today's market, trust me. Here are the highlights you can expect:

ATMOSPHERE
A bit on the "kitchy" side, with country-themed decor surrounding the dining room. Pictures and statues (which can be picked up, watch out kiddies) of chickens and other farm animals adorn the walls and booth spaces. The restaurant is ALWAYS busy, whether morning, noon, or night, so there is a constant buzz from other diners going on all around you. The staff is a bit loud, not overly so, as they work the floor like pros.

SERVICE
The staff has been around forEVER, including the bus boys. Most of them are family or friends of the family, and very loyal to the owners - a testament to the quality of the place and the food. The service here has always been very good, bordering excellent for what they do, and they treat you like your mom would if you came for a meal.

FOOD
Decent to great, depending on what you get. Recommendations for breakfast include:

Red Velvet French Toast - you can only get it on special - two words... WORTH IT!!
Pancakes - Strawberry, Blueberry, and Raspberry top the list, though most any choice is great. Light, fluffy, and filling.
Mexican Egg Burrito - Tasty, with a mere hint of heat to it, this is the perfect fill 'er up.

VALUE
Fair, considering the quality and the service. Most items range from $6.00 per plate up to $12.00, depending on whether breakfast lunch or dinner, and I haven't had one thing which I felt wasn't worth what we paid.

Overall, if you're looking for a diner, drive out of your way for this one - it's the best in the area, and worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank j2white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This is a great after church breakfast restaurant. Always lively, service good, food very good!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemini5930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Restaurant also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
 
Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing