We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really close to Six Flags Great America”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Really close to Six Flags Great America”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We didn't walk to Six Flags, but we could have and saved $20 each day for parking there.

The hotel staff was great and very helpful. The breakfast was quite good, well maintained and lots of options. The room was very clean, although the bathroom was small and the sink area incredibly tight.

Nice new flat screen TV in the room was very nice, along with a good selection of HD channels.

Room Tip: Buy tickets to Six Flags here. Big discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    159
    59
    27
    6
See reviews for
198
81
34
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hotel is located close enough to six flags to walk to the park, about a mile. Location great. Hotel room clean except for bugs found in two rooms from 7/4 to 7/6. Those two rooms ajoining were on the first floor. During our two day stay we found and killed 8 bugs. Three different types, none appeared to be bed bugs. We told management about it the day of our departure and they called pest control. They offerred nothing else even though Hampton has a 100% satisfaction guarantee. I guess I should have asked. One of the rooms was paid by 50K of Hilton points. A cash and point refund should have happened.
If you stay at this hotel I would recommend not staying on the first floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike_Drab, General Manager at Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we strive to provide our guests with 100% satisfaction. I’m glad that you notified our staff so that we could address the pest situation.We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will work to make sure the problem is addressed. Please contact me directly at 847-662-1100 so I can speak with you about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Nice hotel. Close to several restaurants. Very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcitgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Stayed there for a week. The rooms are small and packed with furniture. The updated rooms are quite good, but the new furniture smells quite a bit. You clearly hear the noises from your neighbours and the sound from the corridor.
The Service is different; some people got a bottle of water and candy, some not.
The wireless network is poor. We tried to use it in the conference room and it doesn't work well. The personell has no clue how to fix it. Anyway it is very slow and you have to deal with a changing wap key.
The self service breakfast is ok but not more.

Room Tip: There are updated rooms, ask for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detlef_Birgit_Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Only stayed 1 night for an early appt. in the area the next day. Lobby clean & front desk very hospitable. (Non-smoking rm) smelled like smoke. On our way out to eat a late dinner, let front desk know. They were apologetic and willing for us to switch rooms. Because of the late night (and air freshener we sprayed) did not want to make the effort to switch rooms but appreciated the offer. Beds & pillows VERY comfy. Breakfast in a.m. good & standard for a Hampton Inn chain. View from room was uneventful but we were not there for leisure so acceptable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here on business with FHC Great Lakes. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly and had a nice lobby to work in if you don't want to be sequestered in your room. Large pool area and decent places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsballbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorr
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The check in was speedy and professional. The room was clean, comfortable and shower worked well (i.e., water flow and temperature). This appears to be set up like the Drury Inn, if one has stayed with them. We didn't know it was an outdoor pool, but it was very warm and it was enjoyed by all who entered. The area around the pool was great too - wide so that you are not on top of other's conversation.
The hallways were quiet and there was a bus of Army reserves checking in. So that maybe part of it.

Room Tip: Check - in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing