We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still missing some things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Still missing some things”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is my second stay here this year, and it was pretty much the same. The rooms are nice and clean, although lacking in the fridge/microwave that most of the Hamoton Inn's seem to have.

I was a little disappointed this time, after looking forward to using the fitness room (that I was told on check in was open until 12 midnight). What they didn't tell me until I was looking for it, it that you actually get a pass to the local Gold's gym up the road. It was cold and wet, and I didn't have access to a car. No exercise for me.

The breakfasts were a litte disappointing this time. To try and be healthy, I forwent my usual waffle for oatmeal. The oatmeal went from almost a solid stodge, to runny gruel depending on who made it that morning. The eggs were dried out each day I tried them. No cookies in the evening either :-(

This is nowhere near the cheapest accomodation, and although a nice clean place to stay, it really is overpriced. Just because it's over the road from 6 flags, doesn't mean it should be so much more than the other Hampton Inn's (especially out of season!).
I still have the same complaint about the lack of respect by housekeeping about my wanting to reuse my towels; I hung them all up, and even went to far as to place the 'I want to reuse my towels' over the towels, but yet there they were all fresh when I came back to my room.

Overall, a nice comfortable place to stay, but overpriced for the amenities.

Room Tip: Even numbers at the back of the hotel overlook the Golden Corral, the front rooms have a slightly be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkiebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    163
    60
    27
    6
See reviews for
204
82
35
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I recently finished an assignment in the Waukegan / Gurnee area and had 2 - 2 week stays and 1 - one week stay at this hotel. I kept choosing this property as the staff was very friendly and professional and most importantly the room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. I had a king room with a small couch in it. The hotel is kept very clean, the bed was comfortable and I did not feel 'uneasy' sitting on the couch watching TV at night. The only minuses are that the heat/AC unit blows directly on to the desk top so I found myself shutting it off when working at the desk, and the sink area is very narrow with minimal counter area. Overall the cleanliness and comfort of the room made the extended stays easy to deal with. My thanks to the management and staff for making this a welcome stay.

Room Tip: My rooms were on the 'back side' of the property facing away from busy Grand street but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The rooms were clean and well maintained. The staff was kind. The coffee was good and available around the clock. The breakfast was well done and had a good variety. Convenient location adjacent to local entertainment and dining. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I enjoyed our stay at the Hampton. I chose this location because my son was graduating from Navy boot camp. Although I wanted to be near the camp, I did not want to feel overwhelmed by being in a hotel that was filled to the brim with the families of almost 800 grads. The Hampton was not in Great Lakes, but very close by and provided the breathing room my family needed. The hotel decor was current and attractive. The rooms were clean and comfy. Overall, the hotel was maintained very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NishaSivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Very clean and up to date, great staff. The loby area feels very inviting and relaxing, the rooms are great for work when I need to and the beds are VERY comfortable. I visit Gurnee, IL often for business and ONLY stay here!

Room Tip: The morning breakfast is very good. There isn't an attached restraurant, but there are several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly. I will stay at the Hampton again. I definitely recommend this hotel. You get a lot for the price. The location is great although it's a little difficult getting out from the hotel back on grand avenue. The beds are very comfortable. Overall everything was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamuelS158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Waukegan area. The hotel is clean, well maintained and comfortable. The only problem I had was with a vending machine! The staff was helpful and kind, and we were there with a group of 72 teenagers!! The facilities were adequate for our needs, and nearby restaurants were very accommodating and reasonably priced. Great time, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: some of the rooms were equipped with microwaves and fridges, you may want to check into that if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bemidjimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing