We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth,MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was my second trip to the Hampton Inn Gurnee. Again I was met by a friendly staff a clean room and an affordable price. Convenient location to the highway, area restaurants and attractions. I would definately choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    163
    61
    27
    6
See reviews for
204
82
35
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
142 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This must have been one of the earlier Hampton builds/rehabs. Now they are almost all new and fantastic, but this one felt a little aged (not old and worn, but aged). Staff was friendly. Room as clean, quiet, and comfortable. And it's just one light off the expressway, so you can quickly get to/from any location in the area via I-94.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

It's very convenient to Six Flags with lots to eat nearby. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable but not outstanding. Breakfast was good with lots of places to sit and eat. I would stay there again when visiting the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank scottrprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a decent choice for a hotel for a short weekend trip to Six Flags with an older child who has outgrown Key Lime Cove. Check in was fast and flawless, it is within walking distance to Six Flags (about 12 minutes), and all the staff I dealt with were friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was just the right amount. I've stayed at other Hamptons before, and I've had similar experiences, which is why I continue to chose this hotel chain for short trips that are not centered around hotel activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to stay kind of last minute for a soccer tournament for my daughter. The rooms were very clean, and the location was great - lots of restaurants in the area and hot far from the mall. On the down side there wasn't an indoor pool. They had a nice selection for breakfast but the hot food was at best "luke warm". All in all it was a nice hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed there a number of times for business but the location is conveniently located close to Gurnee Mills and Great America if you are looking for entertainment. Staff are always very helpful. Like all Hampton Inns, this one is clean, rooms are fine with comfortable beds and bedding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ladymarryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kankakee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times now over the last few years when we visit the amusement park. We like it because it is close enough to walk to the park and we save the 25 dollar parking fee. It has a very nice hot breakfast with helpful staff. The rooms appear a little older but are in good repair with nice furnishings including a fridge and a microwave which comes in very handy with the kids.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing