We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for just one night at this Hampton Inn. This facility doesn't meet my expectations for a Hampton Inn, but keep in mind it is across the street from a major amusement park, just a mile from a huge outlet mall, AND we were there on the 4th of July. The hotel was completely sold out. The breakfast was very good, but you had to wait at least 15 minutes to get through the buffet line. The rooms are small - 2 double beds for 2 adults and 2 teenagers is tight. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    156
    56
    27
    6
See reviews for
186
79
33
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly and best of all you can walk to Six Flags and save the parking fee of $25. The rooms were small but the beds were comfortable. Note that the swimming pool is an outside pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland Heights, Missouri
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay here was not that great. The room was horribly small. There wasn't even space enough for a place to sit. There was a chair wedged up between a bed and a window. You had to sit on the bed the whole time you were in this miniature room.
The breakfast was awful. We were there four days and they NEVER had cream cheese for the bagels. Never. Could there be, I don't know, a grocery store nearby where one could at least purchase some CREAM CHEESE??? The powdered eggs were awful as well. The lines for the bed food were ridiculous. Also, they ran out of syrup for the waffles and replaced it with a very poor hygienic choice of a single large plastic syrup bottle that kept moving from near the food.
The only reasons I am giving this place two stars is because the staff was very nice and you can't get much closer to Six Flags.
I would do my best to try and stay in one of the other hotels in the area in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youthministerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I chose this hotel 1) I like Hilton Properties 2) It was equidistant from both downtown Chicago and Milwaukee airport 3) Great Price 4) Enough shopping/restaurants in the area. I had an even in downtown Chicago and 12 hours later I needed to be on a 7am flight out of MKE (Milwaukee Airport). It was quiet, clean and the staff was very friendly. I was able to book it 1 hour before I checked in and had no issues at check-out. The town of Gurnee is home to Six Flags so I imagine it can be chaotic and expensive in summer, but I had no issues. Within 5 miles of the Hampton, there are many restaurants, grocery and drug store shopping that makes it convenient. It was also easy to get off and on the exit ramp. It is worth noting that the gas station across the street is open very early so you can fill your tank and drop of the rental without have to refuel. I would definitely recommend this place if you need to be between Milwaukee and Chicago, and don't want to pay the high price of downtown hotels.

Room Tip: I chose a room on a higher floor. The elevator was a bit slow so don't go above second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastman, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our stay was very nice. Hotel was clean...didn't see one thing out of place or that needed cleaning. Everything smelled fresh. Pool was warm & sparkling clean. Breakfast was the best complimentary breakfast I have EVER had at a hotel! Staff was super friendly and always had a warm, welcoming smile. BEST OF ALL.....it was quiet!! I hate staying at a hotel when all you hear is everyone else in the building!! Only thing that could have been better is they only have King or Full size beds....no Queen size.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Nice, quiet and comfortable stay. Staff very friendly, and rooms very comfortable. Great location! Six Flags across the street, restaurants all around and next door to Gurnee Mills Shopping. Staff very friendly, and rooms very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
326 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived here on our last night in your beautiful country. Have been travelling for 3 weeks. Staff were most helpful and friendly, especially Yenny who checked us in. Of all the hotels we have stayed in on this trip this one and Hampton Inns in particular have been far the best. Breakfast v. Good, fresh fruit and the free coffee 24/7 is wonderful. In future will not look at other hotel chains.

Room Tip: All rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mavis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#3 of 12 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee

Property: Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Address: 5550 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-4901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee Hotel Gurnee
Hampton Inn Gurnee Il
Gurnee Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing