We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Six Flags”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best of Six Flags”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Called the night before and booked for 1 night with 2 kids. Checked in early, but had to wait about 45min-hour for room. Had lunch and by the time we finished, room was ready. Shuttle driver was getting off, but took extra time to drive us to Six Flag with info about other places to visit or dine. Very friendly. Staff very friendly. Rooms and beds are very nice and comfy. Love the bedding and plush pillows. Plenty of nice big fluffy white towels. Trouble getting shuttle back from park at night (driver had forewarned), but brought it to the staff's attention at check-out. She apologized and gave me extra reward points. The hotel is big with several entrances, easy to get turned around. I really enjoyed the stay. Good food too!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monaco_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    78
    37
    18
    18
See reviews for
98
34
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

May 23-26, 2013. My travel group had the pleasure of staying at
the convention center. The hotel is equipped with every thing to
keep you satisfied and busy. Any place you need or want to go
is near by. The staff go out of their way to correct or eliminate
problems so you don't miss any portion of your stay. The rooms,
are big and kept clean, the staff is pleasant and eager to help.
Management, made sure there was always enough food and a clean
area to eat it in. THANKS

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We rented two rooms here for a family trip (just a one night stay.) As most of the other hotels were booked up, we decided to try the Holiday Inn. It was a little pricier than we normally stay.

The hotel itself was great. The staff were very professional and friendly. The pool area was clean, large and the perfect temperature. The bar was clean, though the beer was expensive. ($6.50 for a pint)

The room, though, was just average. No fridge. No microwave. Only double beds were available, no queens. The room was clean, and the bathroom was huge. Only room issue was that our family in the adjoining room found a sock left in the room from the previous guest.

Also, no continental breakfast. So: Better hotel than the "budget" chains, but less of a room and no breakfast. Would we stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We called the day prior and arranged a package deal for a room and 2 six flags park tickets. We arrived just before 11:00 a.m. expecting to pick up our park tickets and head there for the day. We were able to check in, buy 2 additional park tickets at a great savings, bring our bags to the room and the courtesy shuttle drove us to the park (saving us a $22 parking fee at six flags). The only issue we had was with the shuttle on the way back. We called twice and the people we were waiting with called 3 times and we were told the shuttle was on the way, then that the shuttle had to make a stop and would be there soon. We probably waited 45 minutes which was long at the end of a long day especially considering the hotel is a 5 minute drive from the park. The staff was all quite friendly. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlymyopinion2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
537 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Although I saw some poor reviews, we just left after a 3 night stay and had a good stay. No problems, pleasant staff, great bar. Did not eat breakfast there, but did enjoy the bar each eve with a drink and snack. The bathrooms are small but remodeled also. No complaints. Clean rooms and clean, very large pool with a hot tub. It is not luxury, but it was a good stay for a reasonable price. I will stay here again when visiting my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

found blood on pillow AND bugs in room. Staff wasnt too good at front desk had attiutdes. Everything else was okay. Had to wait to get things we ask for and didnt get things the way we were told. I had to wait a long time for juice and coffee at breakfast. Over all everything to turned out horrible other than the shuttle was great. Ashley front desk was awesome and a couple others was okay and the other s had attitudes

Room Tip: be careful and watch what u do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for your candid feedback. It is of great concern that you were not satisfied with the housekeeping service and accommodations you received as customer service and cleanliness are of an utmost priority for our hotel. Your feedback regarding our guest rooms and service will be addressed with the appropriate teams to ensure we are providing the best stay for guests at all times.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here after a long day at Six Flags. What a wonderful place to come back and relax! The room was very clean and comfortable. Since we stayed the night after being at Six Flags we asked if we could have a later check out in order to rest before the drive home. There was no problem with this and we were able to stay several hours longer. One confusing moment we had was with breakfast. When we went down for breakfast in the morning we didn't notice the "please wait to be seated sign" and the hostess must have been helping out another table. We just went through the buffet line and got our food and sat down. When we got to the table we knew that the waitresses were not happy with us and did not bring us our beverages. I also felt like they were talking about us to each other and we didn't know why. We finally figured out there was a sign asking us to wait for us to be seated. We ended up having to get up and ask someone to come to our table to bring us orange juice. It was an honest mistake and we didn't see the sign. We apologized and it seemed to make the situation better. We could tell that they were very stressed with all the people so it all ended up ok. Other than that, I do wish it was an easier walk to Six Flags but our stay was nice enough I would go back in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetT908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gurnee hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Chicago Gurnee
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center
Address: 6161 Grand Ave, Gurnee, IL 60031-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Gurnee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Gurnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Lake County's treasure with 10,000 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space, onsite dining, and signature accomodations for business or leisure travelers in Gurnee, Waukegan, Libertyville and more. We are now featuring 210 fully renovated contemporary guest rooms and elegant meeting space. Our full service property offers one of the largest pools in Lake County and a state of the art fitness center. We are right across the street from Gurnee Mills Mall and just minutes away from Six Flags Great America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gurnee Hotel Gurnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing