We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Backyard Steak Pit

Backyard Steak Pit
Ranked #30 of 142 Restaurants in Gurnee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Has been in Gurnee for at least 20 years.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We ate hear as a party of six plus two children. The serving staff were very friendly and helpful but we felt the food was a bit of a let down. We have had better steaks at less expensive restaurants in the area. Soups were served lukewarm. We would not return to this restaurant which we felt was too expensive for the quality of foof served.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    5
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We came here to celebrate my husband's birthday. We loved the food and service. Will definitely come back. Try Ahi Tuna and Ribs with shrimp.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kisa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caeur D Alene
Level Contributor
516 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the dinner. The filet was well done with great sautéed mushrooms. The steed veggies could be better.
My waitress was friendly but a bit distracted by the bar responsibilities.
Overal a good place. Worth going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralpa.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Place to Celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Went here after Naval graduation. We were looking for a steak place, but not a chain. What a great surprise.The food was excellant. The lobster bisque was fantastic. My husband and son's steak was cooked to perfection. Reasonable prices for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yummy ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The place is bigger than it looks and well worth a stop to eat there. Have eaten there many times and have never been disappointed. All the food is good especially the ribs. There is a small bar that you can eat at as well or have a drink while you wait for your take out order.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Backyard Steak Pit also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
 

Been to Backyard Steak Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing