We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambiance, beautiful grounds.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highden Manor Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Awahuri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, beautiful grounds.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Highden is one of the few places I've found where the pictures don't do the place any form of justice. The grounds and building are a breathtaking retreat, and the people are simply wonderful. Avril, Andrew and the staff are very accommodating, friendly and helpful at every turn. It's hard to find a place with a bad view. Like the other reviews say, great drinks, great food. So glad i chose this place for my getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    16
    9
    14
    10
See reviews for
22
43
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The dinner you dream about and ambience to match. We could not fault the meal, service and setting. This a 160yr old listed listed building with beautiful period interior design, glass, wood and furniture giving you the feeling of going somewhere special. The grounds offer peace and tranquility.
Our suite was incredible, comfortable bed and luxurious linen and towels.
Our hosts were warm, friendly and welcoming.
Thank you so much for a memorable valentines celebration.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family attended a wedding over the weekend...This was something we had been looking forward to for over a year as my daughter was one of the bridesmaids....i had been up to Highden in April with the groom and his soon to be mother in law and thought what a wonderful place it was...Well when we got there on the Friday i was sadly disappointed....Highden had gone from a beautiful homestead to a place that needed a lot of TLC...the room my family stayed in had to share a bathroom (which was fine) but my daughter got locked in as the handle was broken, then i noticed the broken window down stairs which really shocked me....it got worst from there on in...on the morning after the wedding at breakfast Avril decided it was fine to insult the poor bride in front of her guests which was very unprofessional .i had to watch two people( the Bride and Groom) that i love have their wedding day and weekend ruined by people that have not a lot of understanding or compassion for people...i was most disappointed in Andrew and Avril's behavior.But on a good note the food was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank leeannew218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Awahuri hotels

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Arriving on Friday afternoon as a guest to a wedding on Saturday it took a good 20 minutes for anyone to show up to welcome us to the Manor. This was not a good start to our weekend!
Without looking to hard it was very noticeable that Highden Manor is in a bad state of decline. A broken window in the Manor at the front entrance was not a welcoming site to the luxury weekend advertised on their website of which we had been expecting. The deck out the back was covered in bird dropping and the chairs and tables of which we were expected to sit at also evidencing the birds were not far away and did not look as if they had been cleaned recently. Cracks in the ceilings and walls and plaster on the floor of the boardroom (of which we used over the weekend) near the front entrance. Long life milk with expiry dates dating back 12 months were found in both the rooms in the manor and lodge by the guests. The website does not in anyway portray Highden Manor as we have experienced it this weekend. Also do not think you can use the Chapel for your ceremony (as advertised still on their website on 9 February 2013) this is now a bridal shop. Two bad if it is raining the bride and groom were offered 3 umbrella's off the front deck should the sun not be shining for their special day the night before the wedding! The owners made no effort to arrange an alternative having told the bride and groom 4 days before the wedding the Chapel was no longer part of their package. A public display from the owner in the dining room this morning with the bride over the number of quests eating breakfast. They had run out of food and were not able to supply enough breakfast for all the guests that had stayed at the lodge and manor. The owner was very unprofessional in the way she dealt with this and after upsetting the bride with this public display the owner continued to hail abuse at the bride as she moved around the tables collecting plates. I was sad and embarrassed for the bride and groom who have spent the last two years preparing for their special day to be treated in such an appalling way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We attended a wedding here yesterday. When we checked the website we thought it looked beautiful. The food at the wedding was lovely. However, when we turned into the driveway first impressions were disappointment. There were pot holes along the drive - large ones. Not a good start on entering. Driving to the house from a distance it looked grand and has the 'wow factor'. But as walked towards the front door we noticed a broken window and the exterior had seen better days. On entering our hopes rose again as it is stately with beautiful wooden walls and floors and huge chandeliers. Then we walked upstairs and I noticed a huge magnificent painting balanced delicately on a narrow ledge right above my head. I would not want to be on the stairwell if an earthquake struck! Next we went out to the verandah where I almost caught the heel of my shoe in a hole in the floor. On closer inspection the floor was dirty. In the center of the pagoda where the ceremony took place were four crooked paving slabs. Not very sightly and I would not think it adheres to health & safety requirements. I just want to raise these matters as they are important and it is such a shame as this place could be amazing if thought, care and attention were given to the venue and customers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
610 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stopped by for high tea and to visit the gardens. The tea and food was very good. The gardens looked a little ratty and could use some TLC. The manor is a wonderful place to view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

The Manor itself is full of style but the lodge is a very poor cousin - no comparison. The whole place was booked out for a family wedding. Our main bug-bear was the lack of any kitchen facility. My parents are on medication and there was not a glass, mug or any vessel to put water in. The double rooms are charged at $130 with continental breakfast - our room was the only one with a tv (basic 3 channels and no batteries in remote). Some rooms only had one blanket and no heating in their room. We were on the ground floor and heard every footstep taken on the floor above. We understood it was shared facilities in the lodge but thought that would include at least a jug and cups. Felt like we were in an episode of Faulty Towers minus John Cleese. The wedding itself was lovely but recommend avoiding the lodge as accommodation as it presently is.
I understand the owners are taking over as of this week so hopefully they wil make necessary changes to improve visitors stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awahuri
8.7 mi away
Thyme Out Estate
Thyme Out Estate
#6 of 8 in Feilding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
5.5 mi away
Aroha B&B Feilding
Aroha B&B Feilding
#1 of 8 in Feilding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
17.5 mi away
Celtic Motel
Celtic Motel
#1 of 1 in Foxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.2 mi away
South Street West
South Street West
#2 of 7 in Feilding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.9 mi away
No photo provided
Scottbase B and B
#4 of 7 in Feilding
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highden Manor Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highden Manor Estate

Property: Highden Manor Estate
Address: 220 Green Road | R D 6, Awahuri 4476, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Awahuri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awahuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highden Manor Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 36 acres of manicured parkland and formal rose gardens, Highden Manor Estate is registered as a Category 1 historic landmark property by The New Zealand Historic Places Trust. Built in 1896 as a country home for a Wellington Member of Parliament, The Right Honourable Walter Woods Johnston and his wife Celia, this is now a Hotel & Venue in the Manawatu countryside, just 15 minutes drive from the city of Palmerston North. Restored to its original grandeur, the Manor welcomes guests for overnight stays, conferences, weddings, private functions, retreats, and offers the perfect venue for a multitude of special occasions. Ask about the "Exclusive Use" options for your occasion, or hire the public rooms and garden and create your own event. A truly private retreat property, Highden is "An Experience" not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highden Manor Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing