We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sharon's 40th Birthday - Family & Friends Weekend Break - January 11th, 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clennell Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clennell Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sharon's 40th Birthday - Family & Friends Weekend Break - January 11th, 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

A group of family and friends have just visited Clennell Hall Hotel for the first time as part of a range of birthday celebrations planned for my Sisters 40th Birthday. From the moment we arrived we were treated to a very warm welcome from Rocky, Roz and the team. Our rooms were large, warm, comortable and well equipped with everything that we could need, We spent some time exploring the grounds and surrouding countryside - which was exceptionally beautiful. We enjoyed an amazing meal prepared by Jane and her team - all of the food was home made and it is most definitely the best game pie I and the four of us who indulged in this option have ever experienced. The kids 'made room' for homemade deserts and the meringue suprise was amazing!!! Drinks in the bar with our 'Bar Host with a Wicked Smile' was again a treat - and it was only the fact that we were all so shattered that eventually got us off to bed!! Breakfast again was a treat - and enjoyed by us all. So my recommendation to you is simple - review the website now and see some visuals of what it has to offer and then take a tip - book now you won't be disapointed. Thanks again Rocky & Roz we will see you all soon. All the best for a fantastic 2014 and beyond. Andrea, The Gibsons, The Youngs & The Hedley - Aulds xx

Room Tip: Ummm Room 7 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    63
    24
    10
    17
See reviews for
52
125
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

myself and my husband had been meaning to stay here for some time so we decided to stay on 31/12/2013. we were made to feel very welcome . our room was very clean , warm and comfortable. as we arrived late in the evening the owners were more than happy to make sure all was well . we spent the evening in the bar with good company , the owners rocky and roz were great company , my husband even been asked to be first foot. breakfast was lovely . overall this is a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful part of the country we will be staying again, firm friends were made . thank you for a great evening

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a outstanding find! A hidden gem in the most beautiful setting. A perfect retreat for a relaxing break after a busy Christmas. Even in December the countryside here is breaktaking and we enjoyed a wonderful walk along the Alwin Valley with amazing scenery. The Hotel is very welcoming and has lots of nooks and crannies and some interesting history. It is also very clean - top marks! We enjoyed a very nice evening meal in the Dining room. The Dining staff were very attentive and the food was extremely tasty - strongly recommend the Rabbit Pie made by chef Jane. All the staff are delightful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was a happy one and it worked! A special big thank you to Rocky and Roz. You are the most hospitable hoteliers. We are so looking forward to returning to your 'Brigadoon' soon!
Carol and Glen Hall

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Clennell Hall is an impressive and welcoming hotel set in its own grounds in the peaceful and beautfil Coquet valley. The owners were friendly and willing to please and our room was well decorated, clean and cosy. We ate in the bar both evenings and enjoyed the home cooked food (eating far too much of it!).

Our niggles were minor: the bottom sheet on our bed was too small for the mattress so rucked up in the night; the hot tap in the bath was slow (it took 30 minutes to fill); the key to our room seemed to have been misplaced and although there were few guests and we didn't feel insecure, we had to ask several times for a room key to be found.

Overall, I would reccomend this hotel. We didn't have our own children with us but there were several families there and their children were clearly made welcome and catered for. The adjacent caravan park means that in holiday times the hotel would be busier that its 12 rooms would suggest, something to bear in mind if you want a quiet break.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6 (above original Pele Tower and with 6ft thick walls). The room was cosy, comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Even if you only stop here for a drink the welcome is excellent, Rocky is a fabulous host knows so much about the hall and it's history, well worth a visit great stop off on a walk too, we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at Clennell hall on the weekend of the 16th November with my girlfriend Lisa for my birthday.I would like to say that our stay was absolutely brilliant!Rocky,Roz and all the staff could not of been more hospitable and made our stay so enjoyable.The room and meals were also top notch.A bid thanks to Rocky and Roz!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our first visit to Clennell Hall was in July 2013. What a find. A beautiful building, full of character and history. Rocky, Roz and their staff, could not make you more welcome. Nothing is too much bother. A fabulous relaxed environment. Just the recipe for a break away from our hectic work environments. We have eaten in the bar on several occassions, excellent freshly cooked homemade food. Thanks sylvia and Jane. Breakfasts are wonderful, cooked to order by Roz, not a drop of grease in sight. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Rockys bar is usually a lively place as it is frequented by local people. We have always found people extremely friendly. On one of our stays there was live music.The firework display in November was amazing, it was the best non commercial display we have seen.

The area itself is amazing - stunning scenery, fabulous stars at night. Great for walking, cycling relaxing with a good book ( was great to do this in walled garden this year, with such wonderful weather ). Close to visit Rothbury, which has Cragside National Trust property near by. Alnwick, Lindesfarne Island, Otterburn ranges and many other places of interest are within easy driving distances.

For us, to return to Clennell Hall at the end of the day, is the icing on the cake. We have rarely visited the same place twice, as we like to try different areas. We are about to visit Clennell Hall for our fourth time, which says it all. It has won a place in our hearts.

Well done Rocky, Roz and staff, keep up the excellent work.
Breeda and Andy, York.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Bee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbottle
23.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
21.1 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.1 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
15.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Property: Clennell Hall Hotel
Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing