We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clennell Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The location is stunning - the most beautiful countryside, unspoilt and a wonderful setting. The old house is gorgeous too - a wonderful old building, full of character.
Our room was large, very clean but fairly basic. Other comments about the television are true, it is old fashioned but worked fine for us. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but the room had everything we needed. Little finishing touches like shortbread on the tea tray and the toiletries in the bathroom were very good.
The whole place is a little tired and jaded, but the owners make the most wonderful hosts. They are helpful, friendly and very welcoming.
Dinner was average, breakfast was nice but limited selection of cereals and no fruit etc. The cooked breakfast was good though.
Our room was warm and comfortable, other areas of the hotel were very cold - including the breakfast room. I also thought downstairs there was a very strong smell of fried food - both in the evening and the next morning which was a little off putting.
We had a reasonable stay here, there are plenty of good things about the hotel, but I don't think we would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    65
    24
    10
    18
See reviews for
55
133
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very comfortable room just what we expected from an old building.very friendly staff nothing to much trouble there to help anytime.it was fish and chip night on Friday when we arrived it was beautiful,fab food fab people fab hotel.highly recommended.......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked Clennell Hall for a one-night stop on our way to Edinburgh. The place has loads of natural charm and the surrounding area is really lovely. We were travelling with our two young boys and especially appreciated the layout of Room 1 with the small adjoining bedroom which is so rare. The owners were really helpful and the local farm owner even took my boys over to see the newborn lambs in the morning! It's not luxury and the comment below about no wifi or phone service in the bedrooms needs to be noted, but all in all a really lovely stay and good value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annalisapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I have just come home from staying at Clennell Hall and I wanted to write (what I feel) is a fair and honest review.
I wanted a weekend away for my husband and I as were child free for the weekend and didn't have much chance to get away together. Clennell Hall looked stunning on the website and perfect for a luxury weekend away. When we arrived we were not disappointed. The house, grounds and location are beautiful. We had pre-chosen the room that we wanted. When we arrived we were advised by Roz that the shower was dripping in the room we had booked and we could stay in another room if we wanted to. We appreciated the choice but after we looked at the other room and chose to keep the one we had chosen originally. The room was just as we had hoped however we were surprised to find an electric heater plugged in and the central heating to be off which meant that the room was cold. There was a small television which was connected to a freesat box. We didn't mind this as we weren't planning on watching much TV but when we did put it on the volume would go off and on which was very annoying so we just switched it off anyway. There was no mobile phone reception or wifi in the room which we didn't mind but I feel needs to be clearly pointed out on the website to give people an informed choice.
We ate in the hotel bar on Friday night and the food was good. It was fresh and used local produce and was reasonably priced. The atmosphere in the bar was lovely and we enjoyed a warm welcome from Rocky and Roz.
Breakfast on both mornings was average. I was disappointed that the sausage and the beans appeared to be cheaper alternatives. I was looking forward to a locally sourced tasty sausage (no innuendo intended) however this was not the case. Some of the food items were cold and others were hot. The dining room carpet was seriously in need of vacuuming and it was really cold. There also appeared to have been some kind of leak down one of the walls which made it look shabby. However, the scrambled eggs were beautiful as was the view from the dining room window. On the second morning the carpet had still not been cleaned and there were two other families in the dining room at the same time as us. It was clear that Roz (who appeared to be doing the cooking and waiting the tables alone) was struggling to keep up to all of us.
On the whole our stay was enjoyable however, I do feel that I was expecting more from it, especially given the look of the website and the other reviews I had read. The hosts and the location made the stay enjoyable, however I was left feeling a little let down in some areas.
Both Rocky and Roz were attentive hosts and it is clear that they love the house and the area. There was a mix up with the room rate that I had seen on the website and what we were charged. This was easily rectified and was not a problem for Rocky to sort out.
Thank you to Rocky and Roz for a nice stay. Just a shame that some of the additional touches I expected from a hotel of this price range were lacking.

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely however the mattress on the bed is really hard and the bed is very squeaky. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We didn't stay at this Hotel we were out for the day and popped in for a cup of tea and were amazed at the beautiful location and the warm friendly welcome we got from Mr Rocky Ramshaw. Mr Ramshaw is very knowledgeable about the area and told us a lot of interesting stories linked to the surrounding area and the hall itself. The rooms look really nice and I think we might consider a short break there in the future as the food is apparently fantastic. Thank you Mr Ramshaw

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a very nice country hotel located in the stunning northumberland countryside. Very nice food and atmosphere. It is run by rocky and roz who are tenants they do not own the building itself. It is clean and tidy and staff are extremely welcoming. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A group of family and friends have just visited Clennell Hall Hotel for the first time as part of a range of birthday celebrations planned for my Sisters 40th Birthday. From the moment we arrived we were treated to a very warm welcome from Rocky, Roz and the team. Our rooms were large, warm, comortable and well equipped with everything that we could need, We spent some time exploring the grounds and surrouding countryside - which was exceptionally beautiful. We enjoyed an amazing meal prepared by Jane and her team - all of the food was home made and it is most definitely the best game pie I and the four of us who indulged in this option have ever experienced. The kids 'made room' for homemade deserts and the meringue suprise was amazing!!! Drinks in the bar with our 'Bar Host with a Wicked Smile' was again a treat - and it was only the fact that we were all so shattered that eventually got us off to bed!! Breakfast again was a treat - and enjoyed by us all. So my recommendation to you is simple - review the website now and see some visuals of what it has to offer and then take a tip - book now you won't be disapointed. Thanks again Rocky & Roz we will see you all soon. All the best for a fantastic 2014 and beyond. Andrea, The Gibsons, The Youngs & The Hedley - Aulds xx

Room Tip: Ummm Room 7 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaGibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbottle
17.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
19.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
19.3 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
682 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
0.0 mi away
The Redesdale Arms
The Redesdale Arms
#2 of 6 in Otterburn
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Property: Clennell Hall Hotel
Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing