We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Luxury but Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clennell Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Harbottle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Luxury but Homely”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Beautiful setting, warm welcome, spacious room, spacious bathroom, plenty of hot water, power shower, needs a little TLC in places.
Spent a lovely evening in the bar enjoying local ale and some excellent home cooking, whilst being serenaded by Dave Walton and his Guitar brought back memories of times gone by.
Would return if in the area at any time.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    64
    24
    10
    18
See reviews for
54
130
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a stunning hotel. The room we stayed in was very comfortable.The location was fantastic and the historic building was superb. The food and real ale were excellent and the hosts were very welcoming and hospitable. Only one night spent there but we will be back again for a longer stay. This venue would be ideal for a sight seeing holiday in the north east or a function such as a wedding, team building exercise walking holiday or vehicle rally.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peel Tower and had a very comfortable night in an atmospheric setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Hi All
Stayed for four nights with my wife and kids whilst I took part in a local event. Food was excellent, rooms clean and tidy and the location was superb.

My kids enjoyed playing in the grounds and there is ample parking. Its a good location for the outdoors with nearby walks in the Cheviot Hills and the forestry tracks can be a good day out on a mountain bike.
Recommended, Rocky and Ros who run the place were very friendly

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Really enjoyed our visit to Clennell Hall. Lovely food and the friendliest staff you could wish to meet. The place has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and the staff really show they care about the customers. We will be going back in a few weeks with hour grandkids and they are rally looking forward to it. Can also recommend the locally brewed real ale - superb!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vigvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a brilliant weekend. Proprietors and staff made u welcome and very accommodating. Felt homely with homemade good food with local ale.... Fabulous!! now in the calendar for next year - Mrs B and family (the lads)cheers all at clennel hall x

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Battchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Yes I my wife does have the correct hotel.

You had a bikers festival on and were serving sandwiches at the bar that had been their for ages.

Back room is to the right of the bar, room has dark wooden panels and a fire place.

The 'tunnel' to the bar had a seat and a pay phone (which have now been removed as the owner is too tight to spend the money to get it fixed, leaving people at caravan site etc with no pay phone!)

Toilets are dirty! Run down and a mess, if that's what you call clean no wonder the tables in the bar are sticky and the cellar wall is black with thick mold, glasses arnt very clean.

I suggest you focus less on manager feedback on trip advisor and more so on putting right the hotel if you class that as clean I will invite you to our home for a week so you can learn to clean instead of hold a puppy at the bar while people are eating etc.

Do you even wash your hands?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank John-1978cqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

had a great time at clennell hall. the food was very nice, the place was clean mine hosts were very friendly and helpful, and made the weekend most enjoyable will go back,. had a very relaxing time .Would recommend clennell hall for enjoyment , relaxation.and good company and if you choose the right weekend some very good entertainment

Room Tip: all rooms are good even the harry potter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evelyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbottle
17.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
19.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
19.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
8.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#6 of 6 in Otterburn
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clennell Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clennell Hall Hotel

Property: Clennell Hall Hotel
Address: Clennell Hall, Harbottle NE65 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Harbottle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Harbottle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clennell Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clennell Hall in Alwinton is a large historic Country House (Visit Britain 4-star rated) situated on the edge of the Northumberland National Park within an area known as the Coquetdale. Beyond the picturesque surrounds of the Hotel and the village of Alwinton you can enjoy the beautiful countryside for hiking, cycling, fishing, horse-riding, golfing, hunting and walking holidays. The area is an excellent base for exploring the Cheviot Hills, the spectacular Northumbrian Coast, castles and gardens and is located upon the Pennine Cycleway (Route 68). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clennell Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing