We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mirihi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirihi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Mirihi was excellent. Relaxing, fun, beautiful, enjoyable. We spent 8 nights in the water villa. Mostly during the days we either were diving or snorkeling on the house reef. Evenings were spent watching the sunset from various vantage points and enjoying dinner at the restaurants.

We did do the whale shark snorkel which was great. The captain found 2 whale sharks, one of which stayed on the surface, around the boat, for about an hour so we had an excellent time watching this gigantic fish from in the water.

The dive center is really excellent! Chino was our dive instructor, and she was perfect for us. I had tried to take a diving course before and never felt comfortable, but Chino made diving comfortable and of course fun and interesting. The dive sites were fascinating, from big fishes like sharks and tuna to little nudibranches as well as just thousands of gorgeous little fishes and beautiful corals. We had a great time, thanks in large part to Chino, as well as Florian who lead us on our first non-instructional dive. If you are looking to get certified this is a really good place to do it. These people know their stuff, are good, patient instructors, and the underwater scenery is worth seeing. I highly recommend this dive center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

Mirihi is just perfect in every aspect we can think of. We spent a wonderful two weeks in a water bungalow and enjoyed the privacy, calmness, cuisine and under-water world. The staff is very kind and attentive. The house reef and diving spots probably one of the best ones in the Maldives. You experience real luxury but in a very understated and honest way.

Good to know:
- The resort will be rennovated during the summer of 2014
- If you have to wait in Male for your returning flight home, we recommend to stay at the Moonima Lounge at the Domestic Airport instead of the suggested hotel resort near the airport

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sophiezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We were here only three days and we loved it so much we are already planning our return trip. The service is wonderful, the resort and island is small but you never feel crowded, the food (especially Maldivian Night) was really good and the house reef was magic.

My one piece of advice for anyone wanting to go - stay in the over water villa it is really worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent 9 nights at this resort in February. It has taken me this long to write a review as how do you put perfection into words!
This was our fifth holiday in the Maldives but our first time to Mirihi. We chose the island because we had read it had a very good house reef. We were not disappointed.
From the moment we landed in Male and were swept away to a private lounge to wait for our seaplane until the time we reluctantly put our shoes back on after a heavenly holiday the service and experience was second to none.

Reef : The reef is recovering well. We went snorkeling every day for an average of three hours. On our morning snorkel we always saw at least one turtle, sharks, spotted Eagle rays, moray eels and an enormous variety of other fish. We also saw the resident lion fish that is generally around the dive pier, a barracuda , a nurse shark sleeping under a rocky outcrop, a black-blotched stingray, a stonefish, a scorpionfish, box fishes of all colours, a huge school of convict surgeonfish...and so much more. The reef was amazing!

Villa: We stayed in a water villa. It was a good sized room and the bathroom was beautiful. The terrace was very private and the bed was very comfortable. The coffee machine and tea making facilities were great and we never wanted for bottled water. The only criticism I would have is there was not very much drawer space and they didn't provide enough coat hangers.

Service/staff: The service at Mirihi is one of the best we have ever experienced. All the staff (without exception) were professional, helpful, friendly and never intrusive. They all appear to be so happy and content working at Mirihi and this reflects directly on the service they provide. The attention to detail was amazing.

Food: The food was delicious. The restaurant offered a huge variety of both local specialities and more traditional options. The dessert buffet was exceptional. We chose full board and found this to be perfect as price wise if we had chosen half board and decided to eat something at the bar at lunchtime it would have come to around the same price as full board.

Spa: We had a Thai massage almost everyday. We found it to be very good but we would have preferred an outdoor setting rather than the treament rooms.

Island: The island is beautiful. We often felt like we were the only ones there as it was simply so peaceful. It is very small and if you are looking for nightlife this isn't the island for you. There is no TV but the wifi connection was excellent.

If we have to find fault with this resort is would be that they charge for snorkel and fin hire. We felt that this should have been complimentary.
This is not a luxury hotel, it is a boutique resort and this is reflected in the personal care and attention which made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. This resort is expensive but you get what you pay for, it is a first class resort in every aspect.
We travel extensively and this would have to be one of the most beautiful and relaxing places we have ever been.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Fabrizio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Everything... The island, the weather, the water villas, the staff, the reef, the food, the cocktails, the activities... Was absolute perfection. This is paradise. I couldn't imagine a better place on earth. I've put on 2 kgs in 6 days but it was totally worth it! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Paradise Island about a year ago in our honeymoon and just loved it. I felt the need to write another review as we haven't been to another Hotel or resort since that lived up to Mirhi. We've been on a few wonderful trips this year but whereever we go we say to ourselves: "It's just not Mirihi!" The service, the food, the reef, the staff, the location... Mirhi just has it all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Supachops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I chose this particular resort based on its house reef reviews and was not disappointed. The coral and fish diversity were top notch (I have dived many different areas of the world and truly appreciate a healthy reef). The resort and island itself is beautiful. I was afraid the pictures on the website would be misleading, as they normally are with other places, but Mirihi was as picturesque in person! The friendly staff made themselves available to our every need without stepping on our toes and the food was superb. We did the whale shark seeker tour and enjoyed it so much that we did a second tour because we couldn't get enough. The boat crew guys are amazing at spotting whale sharks and manta rays! We loved how the island was so quiet and peaceful, yet there was plenty to do! I feel so lucky to have found this resort for our first visit to the Maldives, as several other guests we met mentioned that they had not-so-great experiences at other resorts and had wished they knew about Mirihi earlier!

Room Tip: We stayed in a water villa within the semi-circle at the end of the island, on the north side. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mirihi
18.7 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,240 reviews
12.4 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
3,347 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Huvahandhoo Island
2,197 reviews
3.9 mi away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirihi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirihi Island Resort

Address:
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Mirihi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mirihi
Price Range: £451 - £1,630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirihi Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirihi Island Resort is located on a secluded tropical island in the South Ari Atoll, approximately 85 kilometres south of the capital Male'. A picturesque and breathtaking 30 minute seaplane ride from Male will bring you here. This emerald gem is just 350 meters long and 50 meters wide with a sparkling palm-fringed beach of fine white sand. Walk barefoot if you choose, this is as close to nature as you can get Blessed with white talc beaches, turquoise blue waters and one of the most amazing house-reefs, it is truly a vision of paradise on earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mirihi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirihi Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Hotel Mirihi Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing