We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alice
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

Perfection

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Dec 2015
My girlfriends and I recently travelled to the Maldives for a long weekend, and had the most amazing time at the Dusit Thani Maldives. From the moment we landed to saying our goodbye to the Maldives, the service was unbelievable. The Dusit representative met us upon arrival and immediately took care of checking us and our luggage in for the sea plane. She then accompanied us to sea plane departure area (about 10 minutes bus ride from the Male Airport), and welcomed us to the Dusit private lounge. When it was time to leave, she once again accompanied us to the hold room and made sure we were checked in and ready to go. The sea plane was about 50 minutes (including a short drop off at another island hotel). We were greeted at the Dusit by the General Manager and his staff. It was such an overwhelmingly warm welcome! We were then taken to our Ocean Water Villa, with our luggage to follow. The room is huge with a large terrace and plunge pool overlooking the ocean. Unfortunately, the water just outside of the villa was a bit choppy with large rocks, so I wasn't able to take advantage of taking a dip in our "backyard ocean." Not a complaint at all, considering the beauty of the whole resort. I had been to the Maldives before, and my biggest complaint about the previous resort was that the food selection was extremely poor and limited. Not the Dusit! From breakfast, to the mid day snacks/tapas, and dinner, everything was delicious! We were in amazement that they had such amazing quality and fresh ingredients considering that the hotels in the Maldives are so isolated. We couldn't compliment the chefs enough! We dined at the Sea Grill and also their Thai restaurant for dinner and The Market for breakfast. We enjoyed every single dish! Surrounded by the beauty of the Maldives and the amazing food and drinks already warrant an amazing holiday, but what I believe set Dusit Thani Maldives over and above was their service. From the General Manager to the bartender Khasmir (sp?) and everyone in-between, we couldn't have felt more welcome. Everyone on the island knew our name and would greet us by name. They were all so friendly and kind and were always more than willing to assist us with any of our needs. Our villa butler and cleaner really took such great care of us during our entire stay. I would recommend this resort over and over again, and I look forward to another visit!
We stayed in an Ocean Water Villa with breakfast included. The prices were quite reasonable for F&B, especially for the Maldives. We also had a spa session each, taking advantage of their specials. 90 minutes for USD150...a great deal! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to do any of the many activities on offer. Hopefully, next time! Thank you Dusit Thani Maldives!
Date of stay: December 2015
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this review
Responded 15 Dec 2015
Dear shallowal16,

On behalf of the entire team, our sincerest Thank You for your delightful description of your amazing vacation! We are humbled that you admired the level of service we provide our guests, in our goal to continuously deliver authentic, gracious Thai hospitality and create the magic of a unique experience in the Maldives. I will certainly share your appreciations to our Dusit Thani Team, especially Khasmir who was recognized by name.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your villa which is certainly a favourite among our visitors, providing spacious interiors and panoramic views of the turquoise waters. This tranquil ambience coupled with gastronomic delights make for the ultimate vacation. Our award-winning culinary team is pleased that you appreciated our delectable cuisine offered in all our restaurants. The whole team is motivated to read your glowing reviews.

We continuously endeavor to create a mix of entertainment for our guests and it is a pleasure to know that you were able to experience ultimate relaxation at our signature Devarana Spa. Thank you for your earnest recommendation and we hope to welcome you back for more island escapades!

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£1,269
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £1,269
  • travelup.com
0.0 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
    £1,509
  • Expedia.com
    £2,381
2.7 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • StayForLong
2.9 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Agoda.com
2.9 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
  • Lol.travel
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £607
3.4 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £894
  • ZenHotels.com
    £761
  • travelup.com
3.7 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Beachfront
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £507
  • Expedia.com
    £877
4.4 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Pool
£271
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
4.5 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Beachfront
£148
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    £148
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.7 miles from Dusit Thani Maldives
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Mudhdhoo
Reviews (2,675)
Filter reviews
2,675 results
Traveller rating
2,432
163
38
18
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,432
163
38
18
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea grill ocean villa sand bar thai restaurant fish pure indulgence dive center naan special thanks infinity pool our honeymoon sea turtles marine life male airport kids club family beach the general manager
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 2,675 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2015

Finally have time to review this impressive resort. We stayed there from Feb 16-20 2014 for mommy and daughter birthday trip. When we stepped into the ocean villa, my jaw dropped! The view was insanely beautiful! I'm very picky when it come to cleanness and the design of the room. I have to say it was perfect! Everything morning waking up to the ocean wave and the sea breeze are amazing.
I LOVE their breakfast buffet. I love how they had Thai noodle in soup. I had a bowl of this goodness every single morning. And the fruit selections is unbelievable. For someone who doesn't get to eat good Thai food and tropical fruit. I was in food heaven. I have to say the reason why i picked this Thai group resort cause I wanted to have good asian/thai food. If you are having a drink at the sala bar, make sure you try the prawn chips. I wish i get to pack those to go with me. As for the other restaurants, they weren't as good as the breakfast and a bit over priced.

I noticed the deck has been upgraded. Which is great, cause my mom and I both got splinter from walking on the deck barefoot ouch. We requested few times to have a lower bike and they never delivered. The bicycle was a bit hard to maneuver for someone who had never been on a backpedal bike brake. Needless to say, i wiped out. I visited the doctor three times during my stay. I forgot the doctor name, but he was very helpful and friendly, that goes to all the staff as well.

We were very fortunate to have late check-out. We got to enjoy last bit of this wonderful resort.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank grayceln
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2015

Dear Grace L,

Sawasdee Krub!

We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your amazing experience here on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to know that you are pleased with our offerings: from our varied culinary delights and our wonderful villas, to our friendly staff. Indeed we are proud to share that we are part of the Baa Atoll community, the first ever UNESCO Biosphere reserve in the Maldives.

Thank you for bringing your useful suggestions to my attention. We apologize for the difficulty you experienced with our bicycles, which are classic models with pedal brakes that can be stopped by pedaling backwards. While we ensure that our guests are thoroughly briefed by our butlers on the correct usage, it does take some time to get used to. You will be pleased to know that we now have lower bikes available, as well as having a few hand brake models that you can request for in exchange.

Aside from touches of Thai features in our areas and villas, our oriental heritage is also evident with our sumptuous Thai cuisine at our signature restaurant Benjarong where we aim to take our diners to the Land of Smiles with authentic delicacies infused with Thai elements in an over water setting. Reading about your appreciations of our culinary creations bring great pride to our Culinary Team.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to giving you more memorable experiences on your next visit with us!

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

A few years ago Virgin Holidays had a campaign promoted their service level saying that customers booking with them could expect to be 'Treated like Rockstars'. An interesting and headline grabbing statement but surely no resort on earth could provide such a service could they?. WRONG - Dusit Thani Maldives offer such a high level of service you do feel like celebrities and yes, even Rockstars!
This was our second visit to DT and our 20th trip to the Maldives and it was quite easily the best week we have ever spent in the region. The rooms were fantastic, the food, under the guidance of Executive Chef Cameron, a genial Scotsman with a love and knowledge of all things culinary, was a major highlight throughout the week. Their Benjarong restaurant served Thai food better then any I have eaten anywhere in the World and the Sea grill was a close second choice for superb steaks and fresh fish. Dusit Thani is a beautiful island, with a wonderful house reef, lovely unspoilt beaches and well cared for gardens but it is the staff that really make this island unforgettable which is testament to the manager Joachim Schuette, an amiable German with vast experience and obviously exceptional leadership skills. We will be going back for a third visit and maybe even a fourth or fifth - we do have a Rockstar lifestyle to live up to! (Quick thanks to Azem, Riyaz, Alex, Naseem, Katy, Rebecca and the wonderful dulcet tones of resident duo Stephan and Linia)

Room tip: All beach villas and water villas have a wow factor.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 729alann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Khob khun krub Alan N!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will certainly share your enthusiastic words of praise to the whole team. I am delighted that our team made your holiday unforgettable and delivered our Dusit standard of service from start to finish.

It is always our pleasure to serve discerning guests who are frequent visitors to the Maldives. We sincerely appreciate you for taking valuable time to share your comments with us. Beach and Water Villas are definitely a favorite, where our villas are fronted by a wide and lovely white sandy beach or picturesque views of the ocean meeting the sky. Our food and beverage team led by Chef Cameron ensure that you are personally taken care of. I will certainly extend your thanks to them especially to our crew in Benjarong.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next adventure, please always feel free to contact me or any of the team members should you wish to revisit our little piece of paradise! ROCK ON!

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I really advise you to go to Dusit Thani. Simply the best. Amazing workers with a very good sense of humor. Nice rooms with an amazing view. 5 star food. I got 4 words for you people "Go to Dusit Thani". DONE

Room tip: there are many types of rooms. I recommend the ones that are like little chalets which are the ones who have a view of the sea
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamani i
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Hamani I,

We love the straight-to-the-point review of our beautiful resort! Another 4 words: THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

It is our pleasure to know that we were able to create cherished memories for you and your family on our island paradise. Do let us know when you would like to return for another sunny escapade! Khob khun krub!

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in ocean villa 204, the villa was big and nicely appointed, the free domestic flight was an extra advantage for us to choose this resort, we have stayed before in 2 resorts, and I can say everything was great in DT, the only down rate was for food, Benjarong thai restaurant was great and thanks to Rahul for giving advices about some dishes,soft shell crab was lovely, Sea Grill restaurant is so so, I think this resort would need another restaurant or a weekly promotinal buffet on the beach like what other resorts do, I didn't try the market dinner buffet.

Room tip: water villa have better coral reef than ocean villa, but ocean villa is more private.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AuH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear AuH_Traveler,

We are thrilled to read about your amazing adventure on our island paradise! On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your enthusiastic praise and kind compliments of our colleagues especially to Chef Raijul and our Benjarong crew. We are glad that you enjoyed your villa, giving you access to our house reef for some out-of-this-world snorkeling encounters with the bustling marine life.

The resort offers an abundance of dining selections, activities and services as we always aim to have something to suit everyone. The Market offers a different themed dinner buffet every night with cuisine inspiration from all over the world. You will be pleased to note that we are looking into more promotions. Thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to our sunny shores soon!

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We just had our stay here for 4 days. We have been to some of the best resorts in the world and generally this one is an excellent first tier candidate. We want to especially point out the brilliance of its staff at the food and beverage services, in particular the main restaurant supervisor Alex Akram who has been the most caring and considerate staff we have met. His team and himself took personal care for us and gave us the best experiences in all of our breakfasts, lunches and dinners. We had arranged private beach dinner, lunch at the sea and etc, where we had particular requests and all of which have been catered with positive pleasant surprises. The service teams are friendly and very cultural minded, and very friendly too. We felt pampered. They were able to introduce the Maldivian local cultures and particularities in their culinary traditions in many of the food and drinks they served, which were mostly organic and naturally/locally grown. Their preparations and diligence are remarkable and highly appreciated. Other than that, general environment, ambience and designs of all parts of the resort are also one of a kind.
We would love to come back due to Alex's outstanding hospitality:-)

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank julianalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DusitThaniMaldives, General Manager at Dusit Thani Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2015

Dear Julianalam,

Thank you very much for writing this glowing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Indeed, it is a matter of immense pride and delight for us to read your compliments, especially so coming from discerning guests. We are overwhelmed with your kind words for our flawless service and hospitality.

We appreciate your commendation for Alex and his team members. It brings us great pride that you valued the services of our team. Our colleagues have all been trained to provide you with our Dusit standard of service, and we are very motivated to know that you are impressed with our team’s friendliness and efficiency.

Truly, it has been a pleasure to serve you on this occasion and we shall be overwhelmed to welcome you back to Dusit Thani Maldives.

Sunny regards,

Joachim Schuette
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews