We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Komandoo
Certificate of Excellence
Banstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Take your shoes off when you arrive, put them back on when you leave. From the very special welcome (google the Komandoo welcome song) when we arrived to the day we left we could not fault anything on Komandoo. The food was 5*, and unusually one main restaurant didn't matter because the restaurant was so lovely and the food was spectacular. The staff were all extremely professional and very friendly. The attention to detail was what made this island holiday so special - from sweeping the seaweed off the beach each day to knowing we had a birthday from our registration form and decorating our table for dinner, without us saying a word, everything is designed to make sure you have an unbelievable holiday.

Our room was beautiful, with a partially open air bathroom, so you are under cover but feel like you're showering in the open air, very special. Our 'room boy' cleaned our villa twice a day, and we had an allocated waiter for our stay who got to know us and what we liked.

If you're looking for utter relaxation, undisturbed romantic time together, with no stress, the most beautiful island and a little piece of paradise, go to Komandoo, you won't be disappointed - we're going back next year.

Room Tip: The beach villas are all you need and they're the cheapest. They're secluded and the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank GwenBryne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Sunny greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your "paradise review"

I could not agree with you more that the first thing to do after the jetty (can be hot) is take of the shoes turn of the phone and enjoy the sunny side of life.

It was great to read how much you enjoyed the buffet, and the friendly staff.

As you say its team work that makes this place what it is from the people behind the scenes to the person sweeping the beach, and doing something special for that special 21st birthday.

It was good to read also how much you enjoyed your home away from home and the open shower.

We look-forward to welcoming you again soon for another relaxing holiday on Komandoo till then
Safe Travels,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    229
    40
    11
    11
See reviews for
60
1,597
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Once again a fantastic holiday in the Maldives. The holiday began with the amazing sea plane journey, views are exactly as you see in the brochure. A lovely welcome of song and dance awaited us. We stayed in a beach villa which was large, airy and spotless. The weather was fantastic with blue sky and sun for the majority of the time. The island is small with lovely reefs to snorkel which we did each day. The food was lovely with plenty of choice for vegetarians, which makes a change. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and greet you each time you go into the restaurant. An excellent choice of island for peace and quiet and 100% relaxation. Would definitely recommend if you want to spend time away from the crowds and would definitely like to make a return visit.

Room Tip: West side of island has more breeze, refreshing when sun is very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Sunny Greetings from Komandoo and thank you so much for your “'paradise'” review.

It as great to read how much you enjoyed your holiday from your lovely room, to the great food including a good choice for vegetarians.

As you say the Island is small with only 65 rooms with a great house reef and a perfect place to unwind and relax.

We hope to see you back soon at Komandoo till then safe travels
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Sorry it's taken us so long to review - finally we've managed to get some time to sit down and reflect on our beautiful honeymoon!

I don't even know where to start!

My husband and I spent A LOT of time researching various destinations because we wanted it to be perfect, and I can safely say we made the right choice!

Everything about this place has been considered right down to the tiny details.

As we arrived we were greeted with lots of friendly faces, coconut ice cream and coconut milk and quickly escorted to our stunning Eagle Ray Jacuzzi Water Villa. As we arrived our bags had already been delivered! We couldn't believe how beautiful it was! We were speechless. We thought photos would have been enhanced to make the sea more turquoise and the sky more blue. but they weren't - Komandoo actually looks like the photos!!!

The rooms are cleaned daily, our room attendant Ibrahim was lovely. Every night he would leave a thought of the day and treat on the bed!

The food is amazing - every day there is something different and all cooked fresh. My husband made good friends with two chefs! Every meal time you get a frozen hand towel which is refreshing and just makes a difference.

All staff are very friendly and helpful.

Patrick is just amazing - you can always see him talking to guests and making an effort. As we read a lot on Komandoo before we arrived, we could see Patrick has clearly transformed this place and done a very good job of it.

The snorkelling is great, we found our favourite spot to snorkel was underneath the pier/jetty were the Aqua Restaurant is, we spent hours there!

Even at full occupancy, you rarely see other guests which is lovely because you feel like you have the island to yourself!

The range of drinks is very good for the All Inclusive Plus package.

We couldn't recommend Komandoo enough, we were so sad to leave but as Patrick said to us 'The one good thing about going home is that you can always come back' :)

We are looking forward to receiving our honeymoon T-shirts as we didn't get them when we arrived due to manufacturing problems.

A perfect honeymoon!!!

Room Tip: A sunrise Jacuzzi Water Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kassybilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Sunny Greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your “Amazing Honeymoon!!!!!” review.

Congratulations on your recent marriage and it was great to read how much you enjoyed your honeymoon.

I am glad you enjoyed our homemade coconut i cream on arrival and when you were shown
JWV it became your home away from home. As you say its picture perfect as you step into the turquoise sea.

I will pass on my thanks to Ibrahim who I can see did an excellent job and I am glad yu enjoyed the sweet dream message of the day.

The chefs are good fun and I am glad you enjoyed the food so much. As you say the snorkeling is amazing and its true the bigger fish like to hide under the jetty. I am glad to read you enjoyed you AIP package we our newly added cocktails.

Your Tshirts will be on the way please just shoot my an email with your address. Murphy laws is they came the day you left.

We hope to see you back soon till then safe travels Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The holiday begins with the sea plane adventure to Komandoo, the views from the plane are what you see in the brochures so take your camera on board! The arrival was friendly and island is so picturesque. We spent time in a water villa, and in a jacuzzi beach villa (East side), both are amazing. The water villas have a large, private deck with your own access to the water, and you are pretty much straight onto reef so it's amazing for snorkelling. The beach villas on the other hand are straight onto white sand beach and within a very short swim you can get to the reef and the drop zone just beyond. We saw small reef sharks, a ray, and a million different fish and corals just with snorkels. The rooms were really well furnished, lots of small well designed features, and very peaceful and relaxing. The food was also excellent. We stayed 12 nights and didn't get bored of the food, and the service was fab. We had plenty of lovely fresh fish, good quality beef and chicken, various cheeses (including a cheese selection each evening), curries, pastas, salads etc. we were all inclusive and it was worth it. The island was kept beautifully clean. It is also small, there is not lots going on, as the majority of guests are there to enjoy a private, relaxing holiday. We thought that was a plus point! Once you arrive you don't need shoes, even for dinner. This island resort delivers in every respect what the brochures make you believe a Maldives holiday should include. We would recommend the resort without any hesitation and had an absolutely incredible time. Thank you Komandoo!

Room Tip: All villas are quiet but water villas are at the far end away from the bar and restaurant (5minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your "Perfect honeymoon paradise” review.

Congratulations on your recent marriage and it was great to read how well you honeymoon went.

Flying a seaplane for the first time is an amazing experience and always good to have a camera at hand.

I am glad you enjoyed both rooms both bring a different type of comfort, as you say the snorkeling is amazing around Komandoo with a big chance to see turtles as well.

I am glad you enjoyed the buffet cuisine with the good service it also great to know you would recommend us to your friends.

We look-forward to welcoming you back soon till then safe travels Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We reached the resort to an amazing welcome of song and dance. The resort is extremely well-kept and the staff is helpful and friendly. We were staying at the water villas and the rooms are better than what they look in the pictures…trust me. The restaurants are on the other side of the water villas so it is a good 10 minute walk and the food was quite nice I must say. They had a different spread every day and the restaurant staff are well trained. A few things to note:
1. Set your watches the moment you arrive at the Resort to the timings they tell you else you will miss your buffets…We did. (If I remember correctly there is a time difference of an hour between Male time and the resort time)
2. Try and experience all the water sports they offer. It’s a lot of fun.
3. Water villas are worth it
4. Travel from Male to the resort is in a shared sea plane so be prepared to wait for other flights to arrive before you all are taken to the resort.

Room Tip: Take the sunrise room as the view is amazing with no obstructions. On the sunset side there is anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Sunny Greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your “Amazing Honeymoon destination” review.

Congratulations on your recent marriage and it was great to read how well you honeymoon went.

Komandoo is one hour ahead of Male time to give you one extra hour of sun during sun set time.

It was good to read you enjoyed your room, the good food and friendly staff.

Wishing you safe travels for the future.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our 3rd visit to The Maldives but a different island experience and as predicted Komandoo did not disappoint....stunning,small,tranquil Island,just what we hoped for..just perfect! ...especially appreciated the welcome drums as we arrived Patrick-thank you :)
There are so many good reviews on here,all true ,so I won't waffle too much...basically...
Food-delicious,lots of variety..you must try the catch of the day!
Weather-sun + blue skies,rain in the night but no problem to us.
Resort- Simply stunning!
Our Maldivian island friends-polite and friendly especially Sanwar at Trundi bar :)
Wildlife-loved it all! lizards,sharks,turtle,dolphins,abundance of colourful fish,hermet crabs + bats...what more do you want!!

Sunset cruise + dolphins! amazing!!

1 of the best holidays to date and 1 that we will keep as a treasured memory.Would we go back.?....in a heartbeat!

Thank you to you all at Komandoo for a wonderful memory book holiday. <3

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annemarie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your "Simply stunning!” review.

It was great to read how much you enjoyed Komandoo from, the welcome drums, the delicious food, from friendly staff and the wonderful wild life in and out of the water.

We hope to welcome you soon with some more drums until then safe travels.
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Absolutely perfect! The closest to paradise i've ever been!
The island is gorgeous, the water villas are perfect, the staff is great and the food is to die for.
All of this made our honeymoon as perfect as you had dreamed of.
Hope to be back in a near future!
To Patrick and all of Komandoo staff: thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarrosoNuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatrickdeStaercke, General Manager at Komandoo Maldives Island Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Greetings from Komandoo and thank you for your “perfection” review.

Many congratulations on your recent marriage and for choosing Komandoo for your Honeymoon.

It was great to read that your holiday was "Absolutely perfect!" .

We hope to see you again soon on Komandoo till then safe travels
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Komandoo
14.9 mi away
Cheval Blanc Randheli
Cheval Blanc Randheli
#1 of 1 in Randheli Island
167 reviews
4.8 mi away
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hurawalhi Island Resort
Hurawalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Hurawalhi
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
24.3 mi away
Reethi Beach Resort
Reethi Beach Resort
#7 of 13 in Baa Atoll
1,909 reviews
10.6 mi away
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
Atmosphere Kanifushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Kanifushi Island
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Komandoo Maldives Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Komandoo Maldives Island Resort

Property: Komandoo Maldives Island Resort
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Komandoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Komandoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Komandoo Maldives Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Komandoo Island Resort & Spa, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only resort on the island of Komandoo, in Lhaviyani Atoll. It is 500 meters long by 200 meters wide, about 10 Hectares (25 acres). Your seaplane transfer from Velana International Airport is a scenic, 40 minute flight. Komandoo welcome guests 18 years and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Komandoo Maldives Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Komandoo Maldive Island Hotel Lhaviyani Atoll
Hotel Komandoo Maldive Island
Komandoo Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing