We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ghastly holiday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adaaran Club Rannalhi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rannalhi
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Ghastly holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

If your idea of the perfect holiday in the Maldives is a mosquito-infested scrub of a postage-stamp sized bit of land, arrived at by boat driven by a kamikaze style crew with a death wish,( and it's a good job that on the way here,transiting through a country of Buddhists,Hindus and Muslims I brought with me the peaceful sense of Nirvana that I was able to draw upon during my near-death experience) ,where the beach bungalows are basic and in a very poor state of repair and have been for many years, at least since 2010 or earlier so the excuse that they're undergoing renovation no longer washes,( like indoor camping), where the food is virtually the same leathery fish stew or pasta every day but endlessly recycled with the previous days leftover veg and baked in cheese 'singles',where the coffee is the worst brand of instant stewed sludge (although some bright spark has had the brass-nerve to display an "Illy" coffee sign ) and what purports to be " fresh orange juice" at breakfast is ,without a shadow of a doubt,orange squash , where the Maldivian language of Divehi is hardly spoken even by locals ( very annoying having made the effort to learn it on another island last year ), if you don't mind fellows guests arriving at dinner dressed in vests or using the bar tables as footstools, then Adaaran Club Ranalhi is for you.

If you have the misfortune to stay in one of the beach bungalows,( currently under refurbishment) ,choose an upstairs room as you won't be bothered by the stream of guests walking by on the way to ( what masquerades as ) breakfast, lunch and dinner.So as you sit on the verandah of your beach bungalow , you will be eaten alive by a plague of Mosquitos .There is no anti mosquito repellant or bug bombs sold in the tiny shop on the island so I would suggest, to relieve yourself from the constant itching , take a regular dip in the salt water, whilst trying not to ignore the "Swim at your own risk" signs.There is no gym and no pool so prepare to be bored out of your skull.

In desperation ,I swapped to a water villa for the remainder of my week and although the fixtures and fittings were much more up to date in terms of the bathroom suite ,TV and music centre, overall the maintenance was poor,( I can come back with my tool box and paints to help things along if needs be) steps to the sea from the villa were downright dangerous and a word to housekeeping:"Enough with the Origami bed sheets!!!".
Foolishly,I ordered a laughably over-priced room service breakfast of poached eggs,toast and fruit juice( bizarrely, coffee and tea is not included on the room service menu). The poached eggs were half raw,half microwaved,in other words,totally inedible.The mango juice was clearly not freshly squeezed .( the breakfast was removed from our final bill). I would be more than happy to demonstrate how to prepare two perfectly poached eggs on toast,with freshly brewed coffee from real coffee beans with a glass of freshly squeezed juice , all in about 10 minutes( I do this regularly at home) to your catering team as they are clearly in desperate need of the basic skills.After all, if you are in the food and beverage/ hospitality business and you are unable to prepare a basic breakfast,do not bother getting up in the morning.Food should be something to look forward to and a highlight of a vacation,not something to be dreaded, wondering what weird concoction of leftovers the chef could come up with each night.The most I had to look forward to all week was an early night and two soluble Anadin in a glass of water.The " wine" served at dinner would be more suited to cleaning windows and the " all-inclusive" spirits served in the bar ( not brand-names) were of dubious enough quality to leave me with a blinding headache and raging stomach ache.

The very brief spats of rain were very pleasant as I live in the Middle East where, at the moment temperatures are at least 40 degrees Celsius and the humidity is at 80% or more.For me then, this is the perfect time of year, from a climate perspective, to visit.Actually, this is the ONLY reason to visit. The ocean, the spectacular fish and the sunshine and the Herons ( who will sit on your bungalow's deck at night spying the fish) are the reasons to come here but are spoiled by building a poor excuse of a resort here.I strongly urge anyone visiting this part of the world for the first time, to spend a reasonable amount of money if you're going to travel from as far away as Europe( thank goodness I live only 4 hours away) to choose a resort such as Vilamendhoo for your first Maldives experience and go up from there.Altogether much friendlier,with much better local cuisine,better service,better rooms ,great water villas , a pool,gym and lots of in house entertainment and arrived at by sea plane rather than the " take your life in your hands" style boat trip.
In the low season,Adaaran Club Ranalhi, popular with Russian and German visitors,is very inexpensive and there are some terrific Groupon rates to be had.But bear in mind, there are very good reasons for that.And for goodness sake,DONT leave a tip just because someone fills up your water glass at meal times.

Room Tip: My tip is: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 725Hardtoplease725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
Dear 725Hardtoplease725,

Thank you for the time taken to review our Hotel.

We have read your review with lots of attentiveness to detail, as we learn from all our customer reviews, while it paves forming better service standards and embrace possibilities to improve our service in an ever changing service industry.

Immediately after reading your review we have put our full attention in studying your concerns for reviving the areas of concern you have heighted in your review, which instantly allowed us to attend them for the betterment all our guests.

Pest controlling is huge challenge that we face and deal in tropics such as Maldives, at times. We have included more attention now and have put in practices and new methods within our outsourced pest contractor-service and increased more activities to control major outbreaks, such as mosquitos.

The food we serve in the Main Restaurant is cooked and prepared with a very strict and a high standard but as food being a personal preference we agree it may not sometimes be agreeable to all. We ensure you the operational systems and practices, which is in place does not allow kitchen staff to bring and serve the food cooked previous day, as food preparation is followed by a timely rotating menu and with respect to all, we will closely monitor your concern within our food operation.

The Coffee (Nescafe) and breakfast concern now we have studied and learned that we can revive the methods and practice in place, so we can improve on the current practice and methods we follow and serve customers a satisfying service. We have brought changes to breakfast served at the Water Villa and Coffee we changed the supplier, so we bring same coffee made in a different country than what we have now.

We are grateful for the insight and valuable information you have provided to us and we believe your comments have helped us to look into our service from a different dimension, so your valuable experience of our services will help our customer experience to be felt in more profound way.

We send goods memories of Rannalhi with thanks, once again.


Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    524
    171
    63
    47
See reviews for
183
886
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

That was the response from a couple at Manchester Airport when they asked where we were going. How right they were. The Adaaran Club is an excellent resort with great accommodation. We had a beach bungalow right by the sea which was very very clean with excellent standards in housekeeping. The restaurant was very large but well organised with little queing even at the egg station in a morning. It was however quite warm for eating even though it is semi outside eating. The bar staff were very friendly and quick to replenish your drinks.
The speed boat was quite hairy inbound but must have been with the tide when we returned which made for an excellent and unusual transfer.
This resort hits the budget without any loss in standards. A holiday in PARADISE

Room Tip: Beach Bungalows are two storey and upper floor more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarnsleyBarnsleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Barnsley,

We have read your review and made us feel that we live on a paradise and made us aware that paradise will stay as paradise only, if we continuously work on keeping service and standards acceptable to every customer who visits us.

It is good to know our housekeeping, food and beverage team and other staff have made your holiday a satisfying and memorable holiday.

We convey warm and sunny greeting from all our team.

Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had been there for my honeymoon.. Awesome place, beautiful rooms, yummy food... everything was perfect...!! I don't thing there would have being a better place for our honeymoon then this. I would like to visit there often for relaxation.. clam.. peace & also to spend quality time with my hubby.. :)

Room Tip: Go for Water house..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear GKC88,

We have read your review and we thank for letting us know that you and your husband had a great and memorable honeymoon with us.

We have shared your satisfaction and happiness with our food and beverage, housekeeping and other team members.

It is good to know that you are wishing to visit us again and let us know when you are visiting us next time.

Warm greetings from Maldives and Rannalhi

Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to Adaaran Club at Maldives for our Honeymoon. We wanted a place where just two of us could get lost... away from the world! And what a perfect place it is!

The Club is 30-40 mins from Male Airport by Speed Boat. (Club owns it, and helps out guest as per their flight timings)

We had booked Water Villa, and it was perfect, secluded from rest of the island, with complete privacy. The Villa was very neat, tidy and cozy. According to the tide, we used to directly step into the water rom our villa. Witnessing the sunset from the deck, with calm wave sound was a great and kind of out of the world experience.

The island is not so big, and one can roam around the complete island in 30-40 mins. The Maldives promises crystal clear water with white beach. the club had maintained the island very nicely.

The breakfast is really King Size. Variety of options to chose from. (Continental + Asian). And they have good spread over lunch and Dinner as well. Vegetarian can opt for rice, curries, pasta option. And the Desserts were very yummy.

The best part about the club is The Cocktail Bar. We used to sit there for hours together. It gives great feeling to sip in cocktails, view endless ocean, listen to waves. The crew at the bar is very friendly and fun.

The club has some event everyday. We had great beach party which started around 9/10 PM, till 1am. The music was great. Dancing barefoot on the sand is one of a kind of experience :)

The live band at cocktail bar also charms the usual enticing evening.

In short, its a great place to be when you want to be with yourself or with your closed one's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhananjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear Dhananijay. P,

We thankfully read your review and let you know it has made us feel very happy knowing you have had a great honeymoon with us.

We have shared your satisfaction with our housekeeping, Island cleaners and food and beverage team with pleasure, as they have made your holiday perfect and memorable.

Warm regards from all Rannalhi Staff.

Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is everything you expect for what you pay. The main bar is great at night and perfect for a after beach drink.
The restaurant has lots of food diversity - from Continental to local - so that you choose what you like the most.
I just recommend more training to the employees. From the entire staff we recommend 2 or 3 employees.
We've stayed in a water bungalow and it's perfect!!!

Room Tip: Stay in a water bungalow - it's worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuiakaBugie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 25 October 2014
Dear RuikaBugie,

We are grateful for your review.

We are happy that you have had a great stay with us and we guarantee you that we will continue, as a daily activity to train our staff, as we believe it is most valuable aspect in bringing happy customers.

Keep in touch and share your insight in which area of service / staff need training as it can help us to have more robust training programs for our staff.

Thanks with regards.

Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Superb is the only word that comes to my mind when I think about this property .Plz don't go on the negative reviews and ratings, even I was a bit skeptical before booking this hotel bcoz the reviews were not so good .But as soon I reached there I found it very good.I would suggest to take an ALL INCLUSIVE package bcoz A-LA-CARTE price will hurt your pocket .Main bar is fantastic staff at the main bar is best in the resort .Main bar is next to the beach and the view is awesome .Food for vegetarians is a bit problem .Rooms were good we divided our stay in beach bunglow and water villa. Beach bunglows are right in front of the beach but u hv to walk a lot from water villa to the main bar and restauran t.Plz be on time at main restaurant as the staff there is not so gr8,they start clearing the buffet 5 mins before the closing time.
Overall it was a wonderful experience nice corals and crystal clear water at the beach and u will not miss the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alrejagaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Dear Alrejagaurav,

It is a pleasure reading your review and knows that you had a fantastic holiday with us and recommending our Hotel to our future guests.

We guarantee you, we will look into the areas you have shown concern in your review and assure we will study an implement ways to revive those areas such as Vegetarian Food and extend Buffer time, amply long enough even after closing hours, so service is available for customer who arrives a bit late.

We have now shared your appreciation of Bar Service from Staff with our Food and Beverage Staff.

We convey Sunny Greetings from Rannalhi and Staff.

Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just spent our holidays at the Adaaran and it was wonderful. We went to celebrate my Husbands birthday and what a birthday he had. The staff decorated our table, made him a birthday cake and when we returned to our beach bungalow we were amazed at the way our room boy, Azziz, had prepared our bed, it was breath taking !!! We saw Eagle rays, turtles and the wonderful array of fish was super. We snorkels over the reef which was only a couple of yards off the beach in turquise water that was as clear as any we have ever encountered before. The staff were smiling and helpful and there was a good selection of meals in the restaurant and afternoon snacks at the bar. We met so many wonderful people and overall had a wonderful holiday and hope one day to return. This was sa birthday surprise for my husbands 80th. The resort caters for all ages, nationalities and creeds, a great place for all.

Room Tip: You need to be a little further from reception if you want it quiet but closer if you want more ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed A, General Manager at Adaaran Club Rannalhi, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Dear Gloria W,

It is a pleasure reading your review and we are happy to know you husband had a great birthday with us.

We have shared your happiness and thoughts on wonderful service you got from Room Service and Restaurant Staff and KItchen Staff.

We send Sunny Greetings from all our Staff.


Mohamed Ali – Moddy
General Manager
gm.acr@adaaran.com.mv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rannalhi
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
7.7 mi away
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Maldives
#1 of 1 in Olhuveli Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fihalhohi Island Resort
Fihalhohi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fihalhohi Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Escapes
Rihiveli by Castaway Hotels & Es...
#1 of 1 in Mahaanaelhihuraa Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
21.0 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adaaran Club Rannalhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Club Rannalhi

Property: Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Address: Kaafu Attol, Adaaran Club Rannalhi, Rannalhi, South Male Atoll, Republic of Maldives, 0
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Rannalhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rannalhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Club Rannalhi 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rannalhi was a favourite transit destination for islanders, being the final fresh-water landfall on the journey south from Khaafu Atoll in the Maldives. Known as 'the measure of gold' (ran means gold, nalhi is a unit of measure) for its beauty and fertility, Rannalhi island is now home to an all-action fun resort where good times and friendship make for unforgettable tropical holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Adaaran Club Rannalhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Club Rannalhi Hotel South Male Atoll
Adaaran Hotel Rannalhi
Adaaran Hotel South Male Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing