We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, huge portions”
Review of Merlo

Merlo
Reserve with OpenTable
Merlo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 106 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,427 reviews
508 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Good food, huge portions”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Food was good, not great. Portions were huge. No sides served with entrees but most entrees were large enough to easily share without leaving hungry. Deserts were just fair. Lava cake was dry, double chocolate had way too much frosting. If you're in the area, and can't get in to Abigail's 1 block away, Merlo is fine. Or for pre-Ravinia but I wouldnt go out of my way for it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chitownsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    19
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Merlo's Will Not Disappoint”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Merlo's earns top reviews for everything from food to service. The waiter was attentive, helpful and friendly. The chicken parm, their pizzas and grilled calamari were superb. My only knock is that all desserts are served with hazelnut dust thus making the restaurant not a peanut-free friendly place. Great jewel for the Ravinia area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Handy To Ravinia”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Merlo's prior to a recent concert at Ravinia. It was perfect as we were able to use public parking, dine at Merlo's and then take the very convenient shuttle to Ravinia. We ate outside on the patio, but did go inside to use the restroom and observed the high noise level that so many reviewers have complained about. If the weather permits, eating outside appears to be the best option. I found the meatballs at Merlo's to be among the best that I have had at any local restaurant. They were very mild and without a lot of spice. Based upon some friendly conversation with other guests around us, everyone seemed to enjoy their meals and the quantities were very generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“I Enjoyed This Place”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I could have had the roasted Brussels sprouts for dinner and been happy. They were fantastic...even though I ordered them without the bacon. There were tasty wines on the list, with numerous choices. I had the chicken parmesan, which was second to none. Great little Italian neighborhood spot!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edyrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now That's Italian!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Just excellent. Went there tonight with with family, including relatives in from Italy. Really good and attentive service to the whole family. All of the food was great. Brussel sprouts and brick chicken, as well as the cauliflower special, particularly stood out. I grew up in Padua, Italy, and I say, Merlo's does Italian food real and right! We will be back often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merlo also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Merlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing