We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Koya

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Koya
Ranked #17 of 105 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I visited Koya for the first time the other day and was pleasant surprised by my experience. Due to its location, I never knew that Koya was so close to where I live (its hidden from view by road). I had the Bento box with the salmon for $11, which was definitely worth the price! The salmon was full of flavor and cooked well, the sushi was delicious, the soup tasting fresh, and the tempura full of flavor (and freshly fried, so it was hot)! The service was great-the staff was friendly and quick. I liked the atmosphere of the restaurant as well. It recently expanded, so it has plenty of seating now for crowds. Now that I've tried Koya, I will definitely be coming back for another visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pullerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oustanding sushi at an outstanding price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wonderful food, creative selection / combos for sushi and sashimi, includes great miso soup, and mochi for dessert. Service is attentive without being a pest, and its rather cozy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food in an Out of the Way Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We love Koya. It started as a very small restaurant with about enough seating for 20 people. It's since been discovered and they've expanded in to the adjacent staff but it is still an intimate restaurant. The sushi selections are fantastic - we love the Hawaiian, Philadelphia and spicy rolls but there are a lot of creative ones from which to choose. There are also options for non-sushi items such as teriyaki, sukiyaki, bento box and the like. Prices are higher than when it was new but the quality is really top rate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dlscps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Courtesy, hard work and Imagination=Koya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Koya is a Japanese restaurant located at the very north end of Highland Park, Illinois, in a small shopping center, at 508 E. Old Elm Road, the busy street bordering Lake Forest. Just to the east is the Town of Fort Sheridan.
Koya is a mountain about a 2 1/2 hour train ride from Tokyo.
Enough georgraphy.
Koya opened in a storefront some six years ago and from the beginning has always provided tasty, generous, well designed portions presented gracefully. A small ice cream dessert topped with a parasol is gratis.
When Koya opened, we didn't give it much of a chance because not too far away was another, larger competitor. But, Koya has not only survived but our hostess informed us the other evening as we were eating our
sashimi special and rainbow dragon sushi roll -accompanied by hot saki- that they had acquired the adjoining property and were doubling in size. Construction is slated for October.
These folks have earned their success.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajgold84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great date night or family place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Everyone is always extremely nice at Koya. We go there with and without our children and we always have a great meal! Their fish is always fresh! It is a small dining room but there is something very comfortable about dining there. I highly recommend eating there. You will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melinda2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koya also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highwood, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Koya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing