We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long queues for a tasty meal”

Michael's Chicago Style Red Hots
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Highland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We've been serving the community for over 40 years. We recently renovated and offer accommodations for private events 7 days a week. We are open for lunch & dinner and serve beer, wine & signature cocktails everyday, all day! Our space and menu and kid and family friendly and our large menu offers options from everyone. Gluten-free options are available!
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,140 reviews
878 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,378 helpful votes
“Long queues for a tasty meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

There was a long queue, but the food was worth the wait - juicy and tender burgers. Seated outside in good weather, you can people watch, especially with other restaurants like Benjamin Tappas and gelato places just down the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Michael's Hot Dogs - Always good, always a good option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We've been going to Michael's for years. This place is always crowded at dinner and lunch because everyone who lives in HP or surrounding suburbs knows the food is always good and always consistent. The wait staff is friendly even when things get hectic which they often do. There is a place in front where you place your order, watch it being cooked or put together, you pick it up and take it out or to a table. There are several places outside to sit and a large room in the back that's filled with pictures of people eating at Michael's. Lots of locals in those pictures. I usually get the cheddar burger which is good, the kids get hot dogs and the hubby gets burgers or chicken or skirt steak sandwiches. It's all tasty and even though it's more expensive than the usual hot dog/burger joint, the food is worth the price. They have all the makings for salads too. I don't order them but they appear to be really large portions. They make milk shakes and other ice cream items.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We have been going to Michael's for 30 years. It is always great food. The Char burgers and Char dogs are cooked for YOU to perfection. It's fast food done your way totally. AND you MUST order the Cheddar fries. Nothing is better!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niskauna, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pilgrimage worthy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I grew up in HP and still visit my folks several times a year. I make Michael's part of my visits each time I come. I only wish I could eat here every night for the entire visit. There are so many wonderful dishes that I could have something different each night and be happy. It's always a very difficult choice as to which item to order. All 4 generations of our family can happily eat here from 91 to 1. Really!

The wait can be long approaching prime eating hours so going a bit earlier/later is helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiskayunaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Great Fast Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Their pitas, sandwiches and salads are all terrific. I especially like the Gazpacho! The staff is always friendly and helpful. My personal favorites are the turkey pita, hot dogs, hamburger and build your own salad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cglicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Chicago Style Red Hots also viewed

Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to Michael's Chicago Style Red Hots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing