We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Highland Park
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Surprisingly good and cheap breakfast in a neighborhood not known for the later. By the way, it wasn't a Mexican breakfast; it was fried matza with onions. Who knew?

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northofchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no the good”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

expensive,ok food.drink and cocktail test cheap.the jefe loud and inappropriate

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gentile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
792 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Satisfied My Mole Craving!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This place is wonderful. I went there the other day to satisfy a craving for mole, and was not at all let down. I got the chicken enchiladas in mole sauce, and they tasted amazing. The chicken was spiced perfectly, the mole sauce was the best I've had-- and the sides of rice and beans were perfect as well.

We come here often and are seldom disappointed. Our worst experience was when my father ordered a special, which the waiter failed to inform us cost twice as much as any other entree (over $30). And, our service the other night was a little lacking when we had to ask the server repeatedly to close the open window on a chilly night. (And they continued to seat parties at tables so close that we were constantly bumping into each other, despite numerous open tables all over the restaurant).

Still, the food is so amazing and generally reasonably priced that our only real complaint is that we wish they were open on Friday nights!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Always traveling
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best, and we've had a lot!”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We've eaten a lot of Mexican food and this has been the best for us! We even brought our two youngest and they loved it (ages 5 & 2). The enchilada diner was so full of flavor and a very generous portion, the taco platter had around 6 varieties of meat/filling choices and my son who got the chicken tenders loved them, I tried them and they were delicious. My two year old shared the enchiladas with me, particularly the retried beans and rice...next time she's getting her own; the homemade refried beans and rice were fantastic, not the usual canned stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank With4kidsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I lived five and a half years in Mexico but never had better Mexican Food”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

The menu is extensive and there is something to satisfy everyone.Every dish is authentic and perfectly prepared. eh service is friendly and efficient. the decoration is colorful without being gaudy and overwhelming. The prices are all very reasonable. I can't find one flaw with this restaurant.I urge everyone who lives in the area to visit it,I can guarantee you'll want to return as soon as possible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Africanman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Highwood, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 
Highland Park, Lake County
Highwood, Lake County
 
Highwood, Lake County
Highland Park, Lake County
 

Been to La Casa de Isaac Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing