We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Holland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Saugatuck Best Western is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. Rates are comparable to other hotels in the area but if you want to get a room in the summer you need to make reservations because they sell out quick. They have an awesome hot breakfast and when I travel with my kids they love the indoor pool and I love the hot tub. The town is beautiful and they always know what is going on in the area along the lake shore so I never miss the activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    139
    83
    30
    31
See reviews for
111
67
36
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel three years in a row when in the Chicago area. I originally chose this hotel because of its proximity to the O’Hare airport and the airport shuttle that the hotel offers. This year my daughter and her husband were able to use the shuttle to get to the airport when they had to fly home early for work, sparing us a very early trip driving them to the unfamiliar airport. In the past we have also taken advantage of the shuttle to see some of the sights nearby, such as the Brookfield Zoo. The shuttle also goes to the CTA Blue line. Next year instead of taking a car downtown and paying the ever more exorbitant rates parking when going sightseeing, we might just venture to use the shuttle/CTA Blue line for transportation.

This hotel is a good value and is near enough to Chicago but much more economical than Chicago hotels, especially if the cost of parking at downtown Chicago hotels is taken into account. This year, especially, we found the beds very comfortable and were very satisfied with the comfort and amenities of the room.

The breakfast buffet at the Chicago Hillside is excellent and large, with such offerings as fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, sausages, eggs, French toast, etc., etc. It is also possible to order from the excellent breakfast menu. Our favorite waitress remembers us from year to year and even remembers what we like to eat there. One member of our family really enjoys the chorizo sausage omelet. The buffet is not free, but this year there was a discount card available at the front desk, which made the breakfast very reasonable. We were not made aware of the discount card when we checked in, but our waitress asked us if we had one, so we went to the desk and asked about it.

This is a very busy hotel with a busy front desk. I originally chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and we have been very satisfied with our stays at this hotel. We plan to return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Positives: Good location (close to restaurants and a SuperTarget), and okay price, compared to ones further east. I liked the attention to décor; this hotel is definitely targeting business travelers.

Negatives: I had to wait for 10-15 minutes to check in at 8:30 p.m. Phone kept ringing, and the lone desk attendant was too busy to care. There's road construction on the highway, so you might not get much sleep. Our AC was also way too loud, so I had to wake up and turn it off at 4 in the morning. Also, my girlfriend claims she was bitten by bedbugs -- yes, bedbugs.

Room Tip: Away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The price was great for Chicago. If you are looking for a good value this might be for you. However, the hotel is in need of upgrades particularly in the bedding and bath area.
The staff were friendly. Responded to our concern promptly which was appreciated. Business area was nice. The location was okay. Only spent two nights here can't say much more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 726Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stay in Best Westerns almost exclusively, we are rewards members. Avoid this one! Burn hole in comforter in non smoking rooms. 2 rooms and the air conditioners were noisy and lacked the ability to cool. 2 of 3 nights, no wash cloths , hand towels or shampoo replacement. Went to Target across the street to avoid the hassle and got toiletries. Dirty hallways...coffee or dirt stains. 2nd room had trash in containers and water on the floor when we walked in. Surprise! There's a $9.95 charge for a minimal, silly breakfast buffet. There was a list of complaints longer than characters allowed in this review. We simply stopped calling the front desk and endured the stay as the complaints and repair attempts were getting time consuming and digging into our time in Chicago.This should not be a Best Western "Plus", it shouldn't be a Best Western anything. Dismal, dirty and an unfriendly staff at the buffet, seemingly were bothered when we asked them to fill the raisin bin at the oatmeal container...geeeeezzzzz.. We were sleep-deprived at departure. I complained for the first time ever directly to Best Western corporate on this stay. I'm waiting for a response from Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hillside hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It was not a terrible experience, but it was not great. The bathroom smelled like urine, the towels were not very good quality, and there was a burn mark on the comforter.
The staff was very friendly even though they were incredibly busy and booked up with people still coming in trying to get a room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethP260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by our recent stay at Best Western Hillside, IL
Everything was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The beds, in particular, were cozy and clean. As good as any Best Western I've ever stayed at.
We stayed here because all the downtown hotels were totally booked so we were a little concerned from some older, negative reviews. I want to say that, other than the noisy A/C, none of the concerns are valid, anymore. I actually like white noise when I sleep. :)
The staff was spot-on. They could not have been more cheerful and professional... remember that they were booked, solid. I was really impressed.
Little things like a free disposable razor from the front desk... I forgot mine and, extra free coffees were a bonus.
Oh, and it is really close to the Brookfield Zoo.
They have smoking rooms and are pet friendly.
Other than the drive to downtown on the I290 and the noisy A/C would rate 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
717 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
4.8 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside

Property: Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
Address: 4400 Frontage Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1734 (Formerly Chicago Hillside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside Hotel Hillside
Best Western Hillside
Hillside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing