We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay from O'Hare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Reviewed 23 June 2010

On June 12,2010 American Airlines canceled the last leg of our trip home to San Francisco. Airline experience from Hell! We recieved a voucher for a portion of our stay here. We checked in at about 1:30am and the staff were wonderful. There was no problem w/ late check out the next day as our flight was not until 4:30 pm. The in house food venue had a reasonable $ Sunday Brunch. They provide 24 hour shuttle service to OHare. For not having a choice in places to stay this was bright spot in an other wise miserable trip home. American Airlines never again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacificabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2010

We entered the room, opened the cabinets, and the roaches started crawling. I was so ticked. Called the front desk and they sent a maintenance guy up to "spray" the room. Well, the spraying gave me an asthma attack, so we asked to be moved elsewhere. Had we not been in Chicago for a funeral, we would have been looking for another place to stay. The rates are very high -- especially when you have to share the room with crawling creatures.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamt726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamse, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

As you may notice this review is quite out of place compared to most of the positive reviews we have received. In fact we checked on the dates of your stay and we have not had any reports of what you had mentioned. We pride ourselves on our quality and service and we wouldn't have been awarded the Chairmans Award for Quality and Service for three years if we were that kind of hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We got the shuttle bus from the airport. It arrived about 15 minutes after we called. The driver was very nice and chatty to. The hotel offers a lovely breakfast for $8.95 and had a friday night fish buffet.

The staff are very nice and attentive, they cannot do enough for you the gym is modern. The incinerator is closed down so the smell is no longer there.

We would use this hotel again ................good start to route 66 and free transfer to Eagle Rider to pick up our harley

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

My dad and I travel to different cities to watch baseball games during the summer. Last summer we traveled to Chicago to watch the Whitesox. We selected the hotel based on affordability since downtown hotels were too expensive.

The hotel was fine. The bar and lounge was nice. The staff was helpful, they didn't seem overly excited to be there, but helpful. The only issue I had with the hotel was the smell of the garbage dump directly next to it.

The smell began penetrating our car as we pulled into the parking lot. I will never forget the sight of my dad running as fast as he could from the car to the back door of the hotel to get away from the stench. Once we were inside of our room we were O.K.

I would return to this hotel again, the area was safe, and it was located near the transit station. My dad probably wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bina0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2008

First off, you need to know that this hotel sits immediately next to a landfill. Nothing like the continous wafting smell of decomposing garbage to wake you from your sleep, or to greet you in the morning while eating breakfast. Never have I had to hold my breath when entering or leaving a hotel. Absolutely disgusting.

Hotel staff were just o.k.; not overty friendly or outgoing. Seemed to be bothered at times they had to wait on guests, and seemed more interested in talking with other employees.

Shuttle service while free, was undependable. Took 45 minutes for a pick up from a location that was less than 5 minutes from the hotel (and this was at 9 p.m. mind you, so it wasn't rush hour or anything, and they have two shuttles they run.)

Breakfast buffet was lously and overpriced for runny eggs, mushy potatoes and warm milk.

Hotel room itself was standard Best Western; renovated recently? Hard to tell.

Do not stay in this hotel; do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pokeyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

The staff was pleasant when checking us in. We requested a ground floor room. They were happy to do it, telling us that there were a few stairs. I appreciated that as stairs are difficult for me.
The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shuttle took us to the airport on request instead of making us wait for the scheduled shuttle. The driver was very helpful in helping me into the van and telling us where they would pick us up.
On returning to Ohare airport I called the hotel and was told that the driver just left the airport and it might be an hour or more before they could return. They tried to call him back but he didn't answer. They then said they sent another driver and he would be there in a few minutes. He did arrive, stayed in the van and said "get in" . He told us that he "had to come after us because the other driver ignored the radio calls, it wasn't really his job". THEN he got a call while we were leaving the airport and circled around to pick ups two more guest. He again rolled down his window and said "well come on let's get going"
He called the hotel to say that he "got em all".
He was obviously mad that he had to come to get us. On the way back he pulled into a gas station obviously looking for someone then back on the road. He was rude! When we arrived at the hotel to pick up our car we went into the lobby to use the restroom before our two hour drive home. We heard him swearing and waving his arms complaining that he had to make the run to the airport. but it wasn't his job! For the first time in all my travels I refused to tip a driver.
Outside the hotel there was a faint odor from the landfill but inside it was fine. They had a nice lounge with pool table

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Calsgrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We arrived a day early in Chicago, Il and the hotel we were staying at was booked for Labor Day weekend, so we found this hotel about 12 miles from Chicago downtown. This hotel was just renovated and the carpet was new and had a slight glue smell to be expected with new tile in the bathroom area.

The room itself was very clean and comfortable, we stayed in the double Queen bed room. If you like pillows you will enjoy the 4 pillows to a bed. We had a refrigerator and microwave that were both very clean. This hotel was located by a few restaurants in driving distance. We arrived in the evening and the area seem safe and quiet even though is was right next to the interstate. We would definately stay here again.

The hotel also had a restaurant onsite, but was closed around 10:00 PM so we did not get in there, they also have a bar that serves appetizers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Guido65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
236 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oakbrook Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside

Address: 4400 Frontage Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1734 (Formerly Chicago Hillside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside Hotel Hillside
Best Western Hillside
Hillside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing