We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in August, and it was awful. The bathroom was dirty, with mildew on the tile floor and someone's long, dark hair all over the shower walls. The bed was very uncomfortable. The smoke detector's battery was low, and it started beeping off and on around 1:00 am. We called the overnight person, who barely spoke English, and he kept just telling us that "it calls the fire department, I tell engineer in the morning," even though we kept saying it needed a battery. When I told the front desk clerk when we checked out, she didn't even apologize.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

We know that our guests have many lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price along with great customer service. The description you presented of your accommodation and about our level of professionalism is not representative of our standards and as such is clearly not acceptable. In order to meet our standards going forward, I will work with my staff to ensure that you and our future guests do not experience these types of incidents.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of our other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

The rooms, staff and pricing are great. I stayed prior to relocating 8 years ago and each year I return this is where I stay. I cannot rate the amenities, shopping and dining area high enough. At this rate, I will continue to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide a "home away from home" for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we are truly honored for the recognition.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other brand locations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This hotel has had some bad reviews and I was unsure what to expect. Located 15 minutes west of the loop off a main interstate, I was pleasantly surprised. The room is basically a small
efficiency apt with a kitchen, 1 queen bed, and a good sized bathroom. There is a laundry
room in the hotel and lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. The front desk was
friendly, however it is NOT 24 hour. It was easy to get around the metro area from here.
If you just want to see/hang downtown[or are car-less], this may not be for you, but
what you save staying here pays for a LOT of parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Chicago - Hillside. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I had a group of 16 people over a two week period stay at this Extended Stay in Hillside. The staff was extremely kind and helpful to my group. They helped in many ways to answer questions, about the city, transportation, Chicago. They worked with my group to make their stay comfortable in every way possible. I was really impressed. A good bunch of people here. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Overall, a perfect stay at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America Chicago - Hillside. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The room was ok, clean when we got there. It is a bit out of the way, but the interstate is very close by, along with a super target to stock up the fridge. If you bring kids along be prepared to get paper plates/silverware as they only put 2 plates/cups/bowls in the room.
And depending on what others are cooking, it can smell awful in the hallways, but we mainly used the back entrance as the elevator was S-L-O-W and walking up one flight was no big deal.

We got a great deal on Expedia, but I am not sure we would ever stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay America Chicago - Hillside. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We specialize in providing clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price. That means we don't set out extra amenities like shampoo, lotions, shower caps, etc, in our rooms. However, our hotel does have a limited supply of sundries at the front desk, and we happily dispense them free of charge upon request. Operating in this way allows us to continue to provide you our great rooms at exceptional rates. I take seriously your concern, however, and assure you that we work very hard to explain exactly what we offer to our guests before they arrive. I am, of course, very sorry that we were unable to make our offerings more clear to you before you checked in, and hope that you will keep our hotel in mind when your future needs are for an accommodation like ours.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived early in the morning to a sullen, strangely hostile receptionist. The room was stark with dirty windows, floors. In the morning we saw ants (they got un our clothes). When we reported this to the manager, she said it was normal for a ground floor room, and offered another room. We rejected that offer and asked for a refund. She said we would be charged for the day. When we went back to the room to get our clothes, the room was filled with bug spray. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I found this hotel to be excellent, even though the reviews that are given here make it sound horrible. First, it is near a landfill, and a church, a super target, a Panda Express, and alot of other things that have no effect on the quality of the hotel. The wind was blowing from the direction of the landfill and I could not smell a thing. Second, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I left my work phone in the room after I left and the staff was able to locate it and return it to me overnight with FedEx. The hotel itself is somewhat sparse on amenities, but that is to be expected from a Extended Stay hotel, which are generally the cheapest hotels around. I will stay here every time i visit Chicago and will challenge anyone to find a bad thing about it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkjohnson2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillside
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Regal Inn Chicago-O'hare Airport Franklin Park
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites O'Hare
Comfort Suites O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Schiller Park
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside

Address: 4575 Frontage Rd, Hillside, IL 60162-1700
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Hillside
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hillside
Price Range: £58 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Hillside
Extended Stay Hillside
Hillside Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing