We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blue Island, Illinois
1 review
“Nice for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed at the resort to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and booked their romance package for the occasion. As we entered lobby entrance to the resort it was very warm and inviting. The room was a nice size for two people. The package came with breakfast, massage, champagne and welcome basket. We had dinner and breakfast in two of the three restaurants onsite the food and service was pretty good, the spa and the massages were excellent we upgraded to the 60 min massage definitely worth the money! The only thing I didn't like was the champagne & chocolate strawberries and welcome basket, for this place to have 3 restaurants this was very skimpy, they brought us all of 4 chocolate strawberries, a small box of crackers and some nasty canned cheese and a few pieces of fruit! This was a big disappointment because we've booked this package at other hotels/resorts were they have a nice presentation with good variety, quality and good portions, but overall we had a good time during our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingdom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesReece, General Manager at Eaglewood Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thank you for the feedback. I will make sure these comments are shared with our management team. We look forward to seeing you back at Eaglewood Resort & Spa very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    164
    75
    38
    23
See reviews for
101
129
23
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Hotel charges a non-optional 15 US$ bogus fee that they call the amenity fee and includes nothing substantial in return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOOPING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We came in early to attend a wedding to discover a fantastic outdoor concert around a fire pit outside their bar! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Eddie the bartender and Damen (manager?) could not have been nicer. We attended a wedding there the following night and were blown away. There is usually a low expectation for service and food quality when you go to a wedding, but we were both blown away on both counts. The service was crisp and the food was delightful. I had visited the hotel before on business and we will definitely stay again the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Spent 3 nights at the Eaglewood last week for a business conference. There was some late summer heat in the Chicago area, and the public spaces and meeting rooms were all very warm and humid. We asked that our meeting room be adjusted, but it stayed just as warm. Not the end of the world, but when you're stuck in a room for hours....

The business conference spaces were very good. They have a large "stadium seating" room which was impressive looking (though my group did not use it). Tables in the meeting room were big enough to be useful, and the chairs were very comfortable. Break area had a good selection of snacks and drinks. Breakfast and lunch were both included (it appears they are for all conferences)...and were pretty good all in all for this type of facility.

As someone else commented, the design of this place is a bit strange. The hotel rooms are truly a hike from the lobby and especially from some of the meeting spaces. In addition, I felt like a hamster in a maze trying to find my way back and forth. Having said that, the room was not bad. Good sized, with a decent desk and chair for working. Oddly enough, I don't think they have wireless, but there was a hard wired ethernet connection which, I believe, was free. Couldn't work in bed wirelessly, but the connection was good and fast. Toilet/shower room was quite small, but adequate.

Overall upkeep seemed good, and the mostly foreign service staff very pleasant. There is a bar in the lobby, and another pub-like bar on the ground floor. I believe there is also a bar at the bowling lanes, but didn't investigate that. This primarily seems to be a place for business conferences...I certainly wouldn't describe it as romantic or a getaway place...although there is what appears to be a decent 18 hole golf course on property.

I would not hesitate to stay here on business, and would definitely hold another conference here as they seem to have that type of function down.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank peterarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesReece, General Manager at Eaglewood Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We take every comment to heart and I will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

As someone who has traveled and stayed at top resorts, I would grade this one at the bottom of my ratings, The service and care for the guest is terrible. Until the the CEO can get the right people in position this is NOT a the place I would stay or visit. Too many nicer places with better service like Indian Lakes nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaserDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesReece, General Manager at Eaglewood Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Eaglewood. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations however your comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team for their immediate review and action. Once again our sincere apologies and we hope we are given the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed one night here on a Saturday night (important later in this review), when we had a concert in the area. Overall a disappointing experience, and we would not stay here again - at least not without doing two things differently.

IF YOU STAY AT THIS HOTEL, DO THE FOLLOWING TWO THINGS, and your experience will probably be better than ours. One, make sure your room is NOT on the same floor as the lobby level (4th floor). Two, try to avoid Saturday nights if at all possible. Here is why...

The way the hotel is laid out, well, I hope this architect doesn't find hotel work ever again. The 4th floor has more rooms than any other floor - and this is the floor that everyone has to walk through (all the rooms are RIGHT on the main hallway) to get to the other rooms or elevators to other floors. So if your room is on the 4th floor, you literally get every single person going in and out walking past your room, at all hours of the night. I've never seen a hotel laid out this way - usually the access to rooms is not past most of the hotel guest rooms on the biggest floor - who thought that was a good idea?

All hours of the night is the problem when there are weddings and events that day and night. We had people walking by yelling, screaming, generally being loud and drunk, walking by the room the entire night. We barely slept.

To make things worse - and this will not be helped by location, most likely - the beds were very uncomfortable. Hard as a rock.

Location is, well, not close to anything else, in terms of walking. Short drive to some nice places.

The good? The grounds are very nice, staff was fine, common areas fine, nice pool, reasonable rate.

Defintiely would not recommend, but if you do have to stay here, FOLLOW MY ADVICE - no 4th floor rooms, and avoid Saturday night if possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesReece, General Manager at Eaglewood Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Eaglewood Resort. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and the noise level was higher than preferred. All guest comments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team for their immediate review and action. Eaglewood Resort is purpose built conference center and is laid out as such. Once again our sincere apologies and we hope we are given the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at the Eaglewood Resort. We went for a girls weekend of Scrapbooking with Karen. It was everything we hoped that it would be. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was attentive. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet with a view of the golf course at one of their restaurants. The conference room, where our event was held, was very comfortable and clean with a gorgeous view overlooking the golf course. Thank you to Adam Klos for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takingamoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglewood Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglewood Resort & Spa

Property: Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Address: 1401 Nordic Rd, Itasca, IL 60143-2499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaglewood Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale accommodations, luxurious amenities, technologically advanced conference facilities. Golf course and wellness spa. Newly renovations spacious, mission style guestrooms with mellow golds, deep reds and rich greens used throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eaglewood Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglewood Resort And Spa Chicago
Eaglewood Resort & Spa Chicago Hotel Itasca
Eaglewood Hotel Chicago
Eaglewood Hotel Itasca
Eaglewood Resort And Spa Itasca Il

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing