We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, go to Platinum staple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chicago Northwest
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Solid, go to Platinum staple”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As I no longer travel for business on a weekly basis we must secure our SPG Platinum level through more creative means. This means for us many weekend stays close to home. These getaway's are very nice. We break the grind of working seven days a week, and we typically get a great meal at a one of the best restaurants in Chicago's Northern Suburbs.

This means a stay at the Chicago Westin Northwest. Previously a window, this property is shaped around a large atrium. The property is showing it's age in some of the facilities, but nothing that the wonderful staff does not overshadow. With large rooms, great views (Chicago skyline is visible from the east facing rooms) and a great bar menu, or Shula's Steakhouse on site you cannot go wrong. the location is close to O'hare Airport, and a modest drive downtown.

We have stayed in this property over fifty nights over the last several years; something which started as a simple weekend getaway to now a required ritual.

So, for the weekend adventurer, this is a great stepping off spot for Woodfield Mall, the suburbs, or downtown, and for the business traveler, location to the airport is excellent.

A nice property with great meals, drinks, and an exceptional staff. When in Chicago, try the Westin Northwest!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. The suites are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacker0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your four star review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be celebrated with departmental managers and staff! We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    167
    116
    52
    42
See reviews for
126
89
35
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We read other reviews before our trip so we were prepared for it not meeting the very high standards of most Westins we have stayed at. The breakfast buffet was a dissapointment, the food and service were very average for much more than an average price. If we stay again we will go off-site for breakfast. The building is really great in a wonderful water park setting with walks by the lakes. The full height (12 stories) lobby is a great architectural feature but also a problem, a wedding in the lobby generated a lot of noise in our room which was on the 12th floor, it must have been much worse on the lower floors. Overall the rooms were large and nice, great beds but the rooms have an air of tiredness, not typical of Westins. You have to remember that this hotel is about half the cost of a typical Westin and as such represents great value, just don't expect typical Westin perfection and appreciate the value. We would certainly use this hotel again, the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Due to noise from the lobby we would suggest a room as high as possible
See more room tips
Green Features: Option of a reward for not having the room serviced was a nice touch.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprigrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your four star review. Guest comments such as yours are important to us and will be shared with the management staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were here for a wedding. The hotel is beautiful and so are the grounds. We did have a problem with our room but it was taken care of immediatly. The food was excellent. If we are ever in the area, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candlewick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your five star review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be celebrated with departmental managers and staff! We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a lovely, full service suburban hotel in between Woodfield, Yorktown and Oak Brook malls. The rooms are very large and the bedding, which they call "heavenly" truly is. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks in the lobby as well as a restaurant/bar for light meals. There is also a Shula's Steak House on the property. This suited our needs perfectly for visiting family in the vicinity.

Green Features: $5 back or 500 SPG points if you hang the sign on your door declining new sheets and towels.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfish123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your four star review. We are glad you enjoyable your fathers day weekend and the wonderful shopping malls that surround us! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LITH, IL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Attended a wedding and reception at the Westin so, of course, we stayed there overnight as well. Wonderfully maintained property and beautifully landscaped. The wedding venue overlooked a small lake with a dancing fountain. The wedding reception was well staffed and the service was impecable. Our room was huge with a gigantic window that overlooked the lake and wedding venue. Wonderful view!! Had a bit of a personal tussle with my SLAW forgetting that I had booked their room along with mine and he subsequently booked an additional room. Front desk staff fully understood and I had resolution in about 45 seconds!
Can't say enough good things about the staff members that I interacted with. All were friendly, helpful and upbeat. Pity this isn't a treavel destination for me as I wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redleg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your five star review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will be celebrated with departmental managers and staff! We hope to see again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemount, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Needed a quick overnight stay on my way from Minneapolis to Indiana. Westin had a great rate at $89/night. With my gold membership, they upgraded me to a HUGE corner suite that had an enormous bedroom, family room, kitchen, dining room and multiple bathrooms. I felt like royalty! however, after a little bit of time, having that much space to myself seemed a bit strange. Everything in this suite was very high end, from the 50" tv's to the leather furniture, to the plush blankets. In all actuality, I was in the room less than 12 hours hours before I had to be back on the road, so I used very little of the wonderful accommodations.

Room Tip: If you are an SPG gold member, request a corner suite upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your five star review! We are glad your stay was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was quiet and the food at Schula's was good, but over priced. Maid service was good, but the rooms are fairly outdated. Location is good off interstate but in a stale area. Beds were comfortable. There was a wedding and prom the weekend we stayed and could hear through the doors and out neighbors were pretty loud. But it was what it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Itasca, Director of Sales at The Westin Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. Guest feedback is important to us and your comments will be shared with our management staff for follow up. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Itasca
2.3 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Itasca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Itasca (Woodfield Area)
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago Northwest

Property: The Westin Chicago Northwest
Address: 400 Park Blvd, Itasca, IL 60143-1212 (Formerly Wyndham Northwest Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Itasca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Itasca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Chicago Northwest 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An O'Hare perimeter hotel, The Westin Chicago Northwest is located just 12 miles from O'Hare International Airport and 27 miles from downtown Chicago. 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Chicago Northwest Hotel Itasca
Westin Itasca
Itasca Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing