We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Joliet
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I would have given 4 but it got a 3 for parking. While the parking lot is big enough for guests, it does not accomodate guests when there are conferences happening. I had to park at a gas station until the conference was over. I do believe they should provide a fridge and microwave for the price but I didn't need them, so I wasn't put out by it. My room was veryclean, bed comfortable and the shower head is high which I liked being a tall person. The room was very clean . I would stay here again but only at the discounted rate I got with CLC.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hzgmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    32
    19
    21
See reviews for
31
24
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Start with access - from west requires long detour South and potentially dangerous u-turn. Although the address is on Larkin, in fact the hotel is not visible from Larkin and requires two turn off Larkin down an obscure access road. Even with GPS I finally had to call the hotel for additional directions. No refrigerator in the room, which I would have expected for the price. When I enquired, they put in a portable -- for an additional $5. Bush league. When I asked the young lady who man handled the unit into our room, she said that code didn't require it for "this class hotel" (hmmmm), and management didn't want to pay for the upgrade. TV had no pay for view and no TV guide -- not even on line. One of the bedside lamps was not connected, because there was no conveniently located outlet. Final straw: the sofa in our "non-smoking room" had an obvious cigarette burn hole. Definitely not what I expected from a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear David C,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Joliet hotels

Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Trying to celebrate a wonderful occasion? Go somewhere else! They don't have any suites and you are forced to try and shove several people in a very small room.
If you are wanting to use a "Hospitality" room, be prepared to pay outrageous prices for the space and a very unprepared staff! It doesn't matter how much money you are bringing in to this particular Holiday Inn or to the community. Because of their "lack of hospitality", I'm sure that future gatherings of this kind will cause the coordinators of our VERY LARGE group will find somewhere else and another city! Way to go Holiday Inn for not taking care of your guest AND the community! Joliet Tourism should be so proud! It will only cost the area only about $1.5 Million in revenue!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Bowler_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is important in our conitnuous drive for excellence.

I am disappointed to learn that we have left you with a less than memorable stay. I am truly sorry for the level of service provided by our staff was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you. We regret that we have failed to provide the best customer care which we have strived so hard to achieve.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

A remodeled holiday inn but still nice. No mini fridge if that is important to you. The bed was very comfortable and had soft and firm pillows with indicator which were which. The heater was an older window unit that was a little noisy. Since I got the room on priceline cheap it was worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed for a quick 1 night when the weather meant could not go on to normal destination.
the reception and attitude were both excellent and for me the meal was too.
Like many holiday inns - the decor is a bit tired - but so what - it was clean and functional. The TV was very big. Clearly a popular hotel for conventions and meetings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Passed through the area and needed a one nighter. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was pleasant and hard working. Night desk clerk went out of her way to get us a room we wanted....then saw her working hard the next morning cleaning rooms! Snacks given in the evening. Breakfast was standard HI-Ex fare, well stocked and hot. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptHemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster City, Iowa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Always a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful!!! This is the first time we ate at the hotel and the food was very good. Breakfast was very good. I can't wait for next year to go back. The staff told us a couple of new restraunts to try that were wonderful, and the taxi service they called was great. 2 of the best taxi drivers I have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26lovetotravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joliet hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 22 in Joliet
56 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-80
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joliet Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites - Joliet / Plainfield / I-55 North
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 411 S Larkin Ave, Joliet, IL 60436-1817 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Joliet Hotel Joliet
Holiday Inn Joliet
Joliet Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing