We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here three nights while attending a wedding. Older hotel conveniently located near I-80. Large room, comfortable bed. Friendly staff. I've never before mentioned anyone's name in a review, but Debbie in the restaurant was so competent that she turned what would have been an average rating into a very good. Haven't seen service so good in a long long time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

A last minute decision put us at this Holiday Inn on a road trip to southern Illinois. It was a perfect location off the highway, but without any highway noise.

The real treat was the woman that was in charge of the complimentary breakfast on Thursday May 22. She was so friendly and because of her we honestly left the hotel with an extra smile on our faces.

Great customer service, thank you!!!

From room 309. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzyJo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to destination. We had high hopes based on the friendliness of the front desk when we first checked in. The room was OK but noisy, very thin walls. At about 6:00 AM the alarm in the next room went on and stayed on for a couple of hours. I realize the alarm isn't the fault of the hotel but the soundproofing of the walls is. The "breakfast" was horrible, cold and unappealing. When we mentioned this to the morning desk staff we were told we should have ordered off the menu. There was a menu?don't attempt

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kathye101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear kathye101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

After traveling several hundred miles and needing a good nights rest, we stayed here. From the moment we walked in, until we left, we were treated like family! This is one of the BEST hotels we have ever stayed at. Every single person there was so friendly and professional!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neveragain0129144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I will start will the positive: comfortable bed, friendly staff, great food in the restaurant, gigantic tv in the room, and that is all. Someone needs to come in and really clean these rooms. I left my socks on the whole time. The carpet was yucky. Couldn't find a plug in anywhere. Finally had to pull the mattress out and yuck! (why do they put the plugins behind the bed?!?!) Then I pulled the mini-fridge out to get to a plug in. Yuck again! Where the carpet meets the bathroom tile was beyond gross. The bathroom is super small. Have to squeeze between the toilet and sink to get the door open. Light fixture in the bathroom needs a good cleaning and so does the vent. It was full of nastiness. Shower head couldn't be adjusted. Like I said before, this hotel was just not up to the Holiday Inn standard.

Room Tip: Doors and walls are thin. Don't go near the elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldfeet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday-Inn J, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in January. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a larger bed and refridgerator upon check-in. Our room was nice and clean and the free breakfast was really good as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday-Inn J, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again should your travel plans bring you back to the Joliet area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Upon Check in the front desk was very friendly and cordial. The Room was clean and smelled fresh. I had a very good signal for the Wi-Fi. The reason of my title (Clean but below Holiday Inn standards) is that the rooms are dated and subpar of what i have come to expect with IHG.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harddrive99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday-Inn J, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for enhancements needed at our property.
Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joliet hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 23 in Joliet
66 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harrah's Joliet
Harrah's Joliet
#4 of 23 in Joliet
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South
3.2 mi away
Best Western Joliet Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joliet South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 411 S Larkin Ave, Joliet, IL 60436-1817 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Joliet Hotel Joliet
Holiday Inn Joliet
Joliet Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing