We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, Odd Breakfast Policy”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK Hotel, Odd Breakfast Policy”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just stayed for one night on the weekend to get away. We arrived pretty late - just before midnight. Parking lot was pretty full in the front, but it was a weekend.

Hotel is just right off the Interstate so it was easy to get to.

Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was on the fourth floor and was quite the walk from the front desk, but that was OK.

Room was nice with a modern TV and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The only complaint we had about the hotel is their bogus breakfast policy. Because we 'named our own price' on a discount site, we got the hotel room for about $60 for the night (including the fees). The standard rate for the room was about $91 for the night.

The front desk said that we were not eligible for the breakfast in the morning unless we paid an additional upcharge fee because we didn't pay full price for the room. Can't say that we were too pleased with being told this.

We specifically choose to stay at 2.5 star hotels because everywhere else we have went, breakfast was included - and typically they are hot breakfast bars with eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, biscuits/gravy, etc. But not at the Clarion - where they wanted an additional upcharge for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    32
    20
    22
See reviews for
32
28
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is one of, if not THE grossest places I've ever stayed. We walked into a tiny room that smelled like it had been deluged in Lysol. We wanted to put water in the refrigerator but how is that possible if the fridge's door doesn't open?? I attempted to work out at the fitness center but the smell of mold and filth was too overwhelming. In addition, the emergency clip is broken on the treadmill that also shocked my hand every time I touched it. The dirt on the bathroom floor couldn't even be scraped off with the sole of my shoe; believe me I tried. The final straw was the overpowering scent of corpses in the hallway. I kid you not, we opened the room's door to go to breakfast (where kids CANT eat free and you have to pay extra for JUICE) and we held our breath to run to the elevator because of how strong the scent of what could have been death and mold was. We proceeded to pack up everything in <5 minutes and checked out demanding our full refund which we certainly got. Ten minutes down the road is the Wingate where the rooms are perfect, the breakfast and wifi are FREE and the cleanliness is fantastic. We spent our two other nights there. FOR YOUR OWN GOOD, DONT STAY AT THE CLARION

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabethclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Joliet hotels

Lusby, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Servers in the hotel restaurant; Debbie for breakfast and Jesus for dinner were amazing, overly friendly and very professional. Our room 208 had a crack in the window from top to bottom with only clear tape holding it together, glad we did not have kids with us, looked dangerous. Had one night when we went down to the hotel bar for a nightcap and it was closed just after 9:00pm, even though posted closing time was 10:00pm, that was a disappointment. After a long day in Chicago came back to the room at 10:30pm looking forward to a nice hot shower only to find that housekeeping had never clean our room, so we made our own beds and had to go down to the front desk to ask for clean towels and washcloths. Night desk person was very nice and went to find clean towels and brought them up to our room.

Room Tip: If you have children make sure the windows are not broken!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fastools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is very clean and staff is very friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was nice. You could tell that some parts of it were a little old, but just little cosmetic stuff. The bed was super comfortable. My wife even said it was the most comfortable bed she's ever slept on. The complimentary breakfast was really good. It depends on how busy it is, but they either will have a buffet or a menu to order off of. Be sure to ask the front desk for the breakfast tickets every night before the next morning's breakfast. We were there for a wedding and the hotel features nice banquet halls. For what all the hotel offers, the price is really good. We'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock_n_roll_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've stayed in really nice Holiday Inns, and that's the reason why I booked this place (it was Holiday Inn when I booked), but it looks kinda run down and dingy when you first walk in. The lobby and the hallways look like some 1.5 or 2 star hotels I've stayed in.

The first room assigned wasn't clean, but the front desk attendant promptly assigned us another room and gave us free breakfast coupons as an apology. The second room was clean and a decent size. It has all the basic amenities like an iron, hairdryer and coffee machine in the room. All in all, decent room for the value.

Breakfast buffet was pretty good with all your standard basic-- scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, sausage, home fries, cereal and coffee.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank carbmanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked thru Baylor Univ. for a basketball tournament. At the time our reservations were made, it was a Holiday Inn but apparently changed ownership to a Clarion in the interim. Upon arrival in my room, there were large brown stains on the curtains which I immediately reported to the front desk. The front entrance, hall ways, stair wells were all dirty and must not have been cleaned in a very long time. The hallways and room wreaked of cigarette smoke. The area rug in the front desk area was worn and dirty. There was debris at the front entrance, smudges and hand prints all over the glass front doors. The restroom in the lobby was spectacular as it has obviously been renovated very recently. I moved the nightstand to access an outlet and was horrified by the filth along the wall behind the head board. Saturday night we took our team (2 parents and 9 kids) to the restaurant for dinner and Jesus the host seemed to be confused as to why we were there! He was underwhelmed to say the least and I assumed it was because we arrived at 9 p.m. and the restaurant closes at 10...guess we spoiled his quiet time! If you have a choice of another hotel-take the other hotel or sleep in your car! For the rate we were being charged per night, this is definitely NOT worth it!

Room Tip: no tips on choosing a room at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twonsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First issue was the name of the hotel changed from time of booking and stay. It would have been nice to be notified so that locating would have been easier. Convienient location once I found it.

Ice machine did not work on my floor or the one below so had to go to the first floor. The Air Conditioner in the room did not work.

Breakfast quality and service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joliet hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Joliet
61 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Joliet Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harrah's Joliet
Harrah's Joliet
#4 of 23 in Joliet
1,735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites South
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-80
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 411 S Larkin Ave, Joliet, IL 60436-1817 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Joliet Hotel Joliet
Holiday Inn Joliet
Joliet Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing