We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value despite sleeping in a former ashtray.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Joliet South
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Joliet
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value despite sleeping in a former ashtray.”
Reviewed 21 November 2008

This hotel represents a good value for the money. The staff is very friendly, the breakfast was decent, and the building seems well kept.

I do have one important issue though.

The hotel apparently adopted a non-smoking policy somewhat recently. This is a welcome change, however, as soon as I walked in to my room I could tell it was a former smoking room. The stale smoke smell hit me right away. Even a strong smell of air freshener and fresh paint could not overpower the years of smoking this room endured. I was too tired to complain about it. They need to dispose of all furnishings, drapes, and carpet, and perhaps even replace the drywall to convert this to a non smoking room, not just paint it and spray air freshener.

They also automatically bill you $1.50 for the safe that is in the room, but will remove the charge if you ask them.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Robert7350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    20
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
30
14
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2008

It's just your standard Fairfield Inn, but everything was just as it should be, and when that's all your seeking or expecting for a one night's stay, then that's what counts. Room was clean, with everything in place as it should be. Even though we were not that far from I-80, and on the highway side, we heard no road noise -- it was quiet.

My only complaint would be that this Fairfield still has those old lumpy hard-as-a-rock foam pillows. But not a problem for us, because we always travel with our own pillows when we are driving -- so problem solved.

A couple very "nice touches" that I should mention. On a small board at the desk when we arrived, was a special welcome sign for Marriott Reward customers that were arriving that night, with our names listed. And then the next morning at breakfast (which was just fine), they had paper plates and napkins with a US flag design on them -- it was Memorial Day weekend. Very patriotic! Nicely done,Fairfield at Joliet!

  • Liked — Clean & quiet
  • Disliked — The pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed here the first night of a 3 week driving trip from Ohio to Yellowstone, Rocky Mntn Nat'l Park and back. Our rate of $104 was too much for what you got. It wasn't horrible, just nothing special.
The towels were threadbare and rough (but handtowels and washcloths were soft). There was nasty black stuff on the shower curtain liner...yuk.
The staff was friendly and the breakfast just average....not many protein items. They did have a waffle maker. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, which was nice. We didn't use the indoor pool/hot tub.
Should've paid about $79 for what we got.

  • Liked — It was just a convient location for us to stop for the night
  • Disliked — Towels, Shower curtain
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Stayed here on a return trip from Missouri. We stayed at the Hampton Inn on the way to MO. Both hotels were a wonderful stay! The Fairfield was very clean, comfy and quiet! We had some noise from the highway at the Hampton that was not an issue at the Fairfield. Would definitely recommend this hotel for it's friendly staff, clean accomodations and wonderful breakfast offerings!

  • Liked — Clean, quiet and close to the Highway
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

Very nice hotel, comfy bed with lots of pillows, nice shower and just a nice room in general. The location was fine, afew resturants around. A Cracker Barrel within walking distance if you didn't want to get out to far from the hotel. McDonalds and a couple of gas stations very close by. Well worth the reasonable price for this hotel. From what I saw I'm not sure how it gets a 2 star hotel rating, I think it is much nicer then that.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SHarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2006

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel in December 2005 and had a great experience, esp. for the price we paid! The location is highly convenient (just a couple seconds' drive off I-80), and this hotel is far superior to the last one we stayed at in Joliet, the Comfort Inn, which was robbed while we were there.

We received exactly the type of room we had requested - non-smoking, on the second or third floor - and it was very clean and really nice. The beds each had five pillows - some filled with down alternative, some regular - which I appreciated, as I usually find hotel pillows either too fat or too thin for comfort. We checked in at the promised rate without problem, and the staff was attentive to every request we made. The hotel itself was quiet all evening and throughout the night.

The continental breakfast was much better than most budget hotels' - besides the usual cereal and breads, there was a waffle maker, hardboiled eggs and fresh fruit.

We didn't use the pool, but one warning: It's more a kid's pool than an adult's; the deepest part is only 4.5 feet. But there is a hot tub.

Definitely recommend this hotel - would stay here again in an instant!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Joliet hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Joliet South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-80
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Joliet
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Joliet I-55
4.8 mi away
Harrah's Joliet
Harrah's Joliet
#4 of 23 in Joliet
1,729 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Joliet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Joliet South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Joliet South

Property: Fairfield Inn Joliet South
Address: 1501 Riverboat Center Dr, Joliet, IL 60431-9341
Region: United States > Illinois > Joliet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Joliet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Joliet South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Joliet South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Joliet South Hotel Joliet
Fairfield Joliet
Joliet Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing