We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brimstone at Langdale
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Great Langdale
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,130)
Filter reviews
1,130 results
Traveller rating
1,010
83
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,010
83
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreading roomspa suiteduet suiteboot roommezzanine roomcomplimentary drinks and snacksfireside suitelight settingscheese and biscuitslog firelarge balconywainwrights pubbreakfast in bedlake districtamazing roommood lightingpure luxury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,108 - 1,113 of 1,130 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

At last someone in the UK has found the formula for quality accommodation. Everything about this place oozes quality - the location - the building - the rooms - the service - the facilities - the lovely staff - all the little extras. The rooms are so perfect you don't want to leave them. Only regret we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

At no time did Brimstone feel like a hotel. Park in the underground car park. Buzz the entry door and you're greeted by your 'host' (their phraseology not mine). No reception to check you in. Straight to your room (which is sumptuous) and a guided tour of facilities: reading room, boot room (with Berghaus stuff to wear should you forget your own) and leisure facilities across the way in the main hotel block. Free tea and coffee in the reading room along with wine, beer, sandwiches, cakes etc etc. it's different that's for sure. Service is good (albeit breakfast taken in our room was late and they forgot some things), but could be more polished. Location is excellent; we did two of their suggested local walks and the route descriptions were faultless and the scenery fantastic. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was very good even for our critical pallets! So, will we return. Yes, you bet we will; just need to save up first...

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tickandbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We are lodge owners at Langdale and keep promising to come at a different time to our usual week
Brimstone opening gave us a great excuse to do just that with some indulgence

It did not let us down the room WAS fantastic the balcony also fantastic
The staff were attentive and friendly
We were impressed at all the little details that make an hotel special including the reading room with complimentary papers and generous refreshments
we chose to eat in the restaurant the dinner and breakfast were also first class
Highly recommended

Room Tip: cant go wrong really but we loved our junior suit
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I took my husband for a birthday treat, and omg, what a treat it was. We stayed in Rm 9 which is one of the two spa suites, very spacious, immaculately clean and certainly has the wow factor and more. Any one looking for a relaxing, indulging, peaceful retreat, then this has to be the place, who wouldn't want to be relaxing in a bathroom with folding doors which opens out onto a balcony with views to die for while in the spa bath with a lovely chilled bottle of champagne, just watching the world go by..........

Room Tip: Rm 9, spa suite, very large balcony with views to die for
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mully1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a birthday treat and it was just simply amazing! We had the best time. We had the duet suite which was out of this world with the two freestanding baths, huge wet room bathroom, massive bed, log burning stove, lounge area, dressing room, two huge TV's and amazing balcony! Breakfast in bed was divine, a really lovely touch. The staff were great, really friendly and the reading room was a fabulous little extra with free nibbles and drinks. Decor throughout was 5 star standard, they haven't scrimped at all with finishing touches such as the electric curtains, GHD hair stylers, Elemis products and lovely thick towels and robes. We will definitely be returning!

We ate at Purdeys restaurant and had the taster menu. Although it was nice it wasn't as good as when we ate there previously. Service lacked that little special touch and items on the menu were missing from our two courses.

We used the complementary spa which was again a lovely touch, but if I were to be picky I would say it needs updating a little to bring it up to the high standard of the rest of the Langdale estate.

Room Tip: Duet room 10 was Amazing! It has the biggest and best balcony, the views were breathtaking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BambiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews