We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait for next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brimstone at Langdale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Langdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brimstone at Langdale
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can't wait for next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My second stay at the brimstone. This was for my 6th wedding anniversary. The rooms was as luxurious as I had remembered and a few extras this time. Extra bath mats, sweets and chocolate to indulge in. Used the reason room this time which was very well received. Wine and a relaxing read. Lovely. My husband and I used the spa and gym while there which whilst lovely is maybe not as impressive as the Brimstone itself. Ate at the purdeys restuarant and had the taster menu with wine which was lovely - not cheap but value for money.
I'm now saving to come back for the 7th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    53
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
703
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Well what can we say that already has not been already said !
We had a 2 night stay at Brimstone and were blown away !! We could not rate this luxury hotel high enough... From the minute you arrive you are well and truly pampered. The staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast on the balcony was lovely. The complimentary goodies in the reading room were a nice touch.
We were sad to leave ! My husband even suggested selling our house and moving into Brimstone !!! Total luxury. Lovely to have the experience...Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A hotel that is different, luxury at every level. Very relaxed atmosphere and a warm welcome by the hosts, who are at the end of a phone at all times to provide for your needs. A super luxury bed that reminded us of those in 'royal suites' in NT houses. Lovely bath and shower room. Modern lighting with various mood settings, including 'sexy'! The reading room was relaxing and provided complimentary drinks and snacks, we had a cream tea when we arrived. We had a super breakfast served in the room and enjoyed eating it on the balcony surrounded by nature. We also booked dinner at the two rosette Purdeys restaurant, which served a super meal and added to the sheer indulgence of our stay. We will certainly save up for another, perhaps longer, stay in this delightful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our first stay and most certainly will not be the last , we re already looking forward to a return trip. From the moment you approach letter water and then the langdales estate we always feel relaxed , but this time it took relaxation to a different level !!
We were met in the underground car park by our "host " Harriet and Alex who were charmingly efficient showing us the boot room , library with complimentary drinks and pastries .
Finally our room , nos 14 . It was a mezzanine room . Very spacious and well appointed in contemporary style but still with a Lakeland ambience .
The dining lounge had a wood burning stove , sumptuous seating , large wall mounted all singing and dancing t.v , , glazed doors to our balcony but the most impressive was an egg shaped bath hidden behind sliding days . A seperately w.c.
Stairs to our bedroom overlooking the lounge again with t.v. , luxury super king size bed
And en suite shower room .
The mood lighting completed the romantic ambience .
The breakfast was served in our room , exactly on time from Alex , the star employee in our experience who even charged up my mobile phone .
We had dinner in the pillar hotel in the grounds with spa complex .
Dinner was of a high standard and reasonably priced .
The location is my favourite in the lakes and the management attention to detail in providing the outstanding standard of accommadation in the new brimstone as now made it our all time favourite .!!!
Many thanks to all concerned .

Room Tip: Take the breakfast option in your room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We loved Brimstone and will be returning. The concept is great - it's like staying in a luxury ski chalet - rather than a hotel. The design is truly outstanding with no money spared on fittings, furnishings and technology. If you love playing with gadgets - mood lighting, TV computer and powered curtains - you could never leave your room!. We really liked the reading room with excellent cakes and cheeses and help yourself drinks. It was also a meeting place for guests which created a friendly house-party atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic - served on a massive tray in your room or balcony. (Tip - do not be tempted to take breakfast in the main hotel restaurant - it doesn't compare with the in room service). There are a few places where the service execution could have been better and we mentioned these in our feedback form. It would be churlish to mention them here as they did not take away from an excellent experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

These new luxury suites had only been open a couple of weeks when we stayed. We stayed in a mezzanine suite which was stunning. Luxury furnishings and lots of thought had gone into creating a very comfortable stay. The sun shone & breakfast was delivered to our terrace. Taster menu in Purdey's Restaurant was delicious and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

At last someone in the UK has found the formula for quality accommodation. Everything about this place oozes quality - the location - the building - the rooms - the service - the facilities - the lovely staff - all the little extras. The rooms are so perfect you don't want to leave them. Only regret we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Langdale
0.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
18.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimstone at Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimstone at Langdale

Property: Brimstone at Langdale
Address: The Langdale Estate | Ambleside, Great Langdale LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Great Langdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Langdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimstone is the first development of its kind in the Lake District offering boutique luxury hotel suites and rooms. The contemporary and innovative design blends seamlessly with the stunning Lakeland landscape and extensive spa and restaurant facilities on the Langdale Estate. The Brimstone experience includes outdoor equipment from Berghaus and a reading room with complimentary refreshments, beer, wind and snacks all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing