We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,243)
Filter reviews
1,243 results
Traveller rating
1,105
93
30
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,105
93
30
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room spa suite duet suite boot room mezzanine room complimentary drinks and snacks fireside suite cheese and biscuits log fire large balcony wainwrights pub mood lighting lake district breakfast in bed amazing room pure luxury walking boots
Filter
Updating list...
1,150 - 1,155 of 1,243 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for one night in the mezannine room. The room was beautiful, you could not fault it at all. We loved all the little touches, it was definitely worth every penny. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The fire was lit on arrival, the ambiance was perfect. It is definitely the place to go to get away from it all.

Breakfast in our room was out of this world, we couldn't decide what to have, so they sent us pretty much everything on the menu!

One night wasn't enough but it was our little haven, even if it was only for one night. So if you want to get away from it all, and spend some quailty time with someone very special then this is the place to go. We will definitely be back

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We loved the room, the reading lounge, the spa, the bed, the shower, the lights, the friendly staff. We enjoyed a great meal at The Brittania in Elterwater. The on site restaurant was less attractive. A great place to stay and treat yourself.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tim_Pickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We was looking for a cheap couple of nights in the lakes and to be honest after seeing the brimstone we was tempted to spend a lot more than we had planned. All I can say is that it was worth every penny. On arrival we met our host who checked us in. We went to our plush room and the room was breathtaking. The reading room catered for everything. There was merlot wine, lagers, teas and coffees. There were lots of buns and scones and even sandwiches at night. We went to the spa and the pool and saunas was lovely. The staff are very helpful and always on call. Breakfast in bed at no extra cost and was delicious. We wouldn't even look at any hotel for our next visit to the lakes.
Thanks to all at Brimstones

Date of stay: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottyg98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Two nights in one of the Fireside Suites over Easter is a stay I'll never forget - and for all the right reasons.

Room was peerless, have stayed in 5* hotels all over the world but nowhere like this, just awesome all the way through.

Room service breakfast was delivered on time.

Treatment in the spa was really good, and as our massages ended at noon, was able to relax in the pool area while all the families had headed for lunch (is noisy at other times).

Enjoyed a stroll to Wainrights, the pub up the road which is part of the Langdale Estate, beautiful to sit outside in the sun (yes, we had a rare 2 days of Lake District sunshine)

Meal in Purdey's was good, had to move tables originally as our table was squeezed in tight against another and the waitress kept walking into me, but once we were settled elsewhere the meal was excellent. Top tip, don't order the cheese, have a dessert instead. I noticed on the cheese menu that there were some that hadn't been put out in the Reading Room on night 1 so ordered them, only to fine them there in the Reading Room on our return.

Overall, can't recommend it enough. Just to need to start saving up to go back!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stev13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a two night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is as described, very well appointed rooms, nice touches like books in rooms and reading room, availability of outdoor gear in the boot room etc. Very clean and well kept. Hosts friendly and professional. Breakfast in rooms seems to be the 'done thing', we took this option the second morning, however we found the breakfast is just sent over from main hotel and was actually better (fresher etc) the first day.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikingbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews