We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Langdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brimstone at Langdale
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very welcoming, spacious room with great facilities. Good, plentiful breakfasts with a wide choice and range of tasty food. Excellent walking area with breathtaking scenery. Would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin & Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    61
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
791
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for just 1 night in a Fireside Suite.
I was contacted prior to our arrival to ask if I had any special requests. I requested fresh basil & Fevertree tonic room in our room for our arrival - & there it was ready & waiting to be mixed with the Bedrock gin in the minibar.
The room was fantastic - huge comfy bed, robes, slippers, Elemis toiletries.
We made good use of the drinks & cakes provided in the reading room, although I was disappointed that they weren't any meat sandwiches. I rung down to check, assuming I'd just missed them, but no, there weren't any that day.
Whenever we requested something or information from the hosts it was always provided almost instantly.
We had our breakfast in our room. It was delivered on time & was hot. We ran out of toast, one 'phone call & more was delivered quickly.
My only criticism of the place would be where the building is situated. It's in one of the most beautiful parts of the country, yet the rooms have a view of a car park!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the luxurious Brimstone Hotel part of the Langdale Estate. The room was perfect, everything was thought of. Super kingsize bed, bath that was built for 2 as well as a rainforest shower. Balcony overlooking the estate and mountains beyond. The extra's were the food, wine, beer and soft drinks that you could help yourself to and a boot room full of Berghaus jackets, leggings and boots, even broil lets and torches if you needed them. Breakfast was excellent and the use of the spa facilities made it a truly relaxing stay. If you did not want to eat on sight there was good couple of pubs with food within walking distance. There was a 20% discount for booking 30 days in advance. For us one of the best we've stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a beautiful hotel. The meet and greet when you arrive is great, the hosts were watching out for our arrival and check in is very swift. My partner and I stayed in the duet suite and the rooms are fantastic, very comfortable. We liked the idea of the host service as this is a discreet service but always there when you need it. The reading room is a lovely touch and we were able to have a bottle of wine in the room prior to going out in the evening. Also fresh juice in the mornings before breakfast arrived. Reading room was always well stocked. We stayed for 2 nights both mornings having breakfast in the room which was always hot and very good. I will definitely be returning in the future. I also made use of the boot room borrowing a waterproof coat which is a great feature as it's nice not to have to bring everything. There was also GHD hair dryer and straighteners in the room. The weather was very good whilst we were there although I still enjoyed having a go at lighting the fire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toptrip1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent a three night break her with friends and from the moment we arrived we were amazed. From the 'meet & greet' on arrival through to checking out, the staff at all times were superb. They were extremely attentive and always on hand should they be needed, but more importantly non intrusive. The rooms are furnished to an exceptional level, without doubt the best we have experienced in the UK and on-par with the Middle East. Numerous dining options available, with a very high standard of food, from breakfast (both in and out of room), the a la carte menu in Purdeys (cheese and port menu a must here) through to the less formal Hobson's Choice menu (small taster portions of main courses available). Needless to say we will most definitely be back. Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Having just returned home from a two night stay at Brimstone for our anniversary it's safe to say we're missing it already! The rooms are stunning, the decor throughout the hotel is lovely and every member of staff we came in contact with was pleasant and helpful whilst doing their best not to intrude on us enjoying some time together. The little touches really make this hotel stand out and the included drinks and snacks make it seem like even better value!

Tips:
Make sure you have breakfast on your balcony, we we're fortunate enough to have had glorious weather but it was nice when we did have the odd shower to sit out and listen to the rain.
See if you can find the hidden treats located in the corridors to the rooms - made us giggle!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank angelface6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Very reasonably priced considering the comfort you receive whilst there. Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful location. Overwhelmed with choice for every meal. Spa access, parking, and breakfast all included. The perfect treat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Langdale
0.0 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.6 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brimstone at Langdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brimstone at Langdale

Property: Brimstone at Langdale
Address: The Langdale Estate | Ambleside, Great Langdale LA22 9JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Great Langdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Langdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brimstone is the first development of its kind in the Lake District offering boutique luxury hotel suites and rooms. The contemporary and innovative design blends seamlessly with the stunning Lakeland landscape and extensive spa and restaurant facilities on the Langdale Estate. The Brimstone experience includes outdoor equipment from Berghaus and a reading room with complimentary refreshments, beer, wind and snacks all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing