We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”
Review of The Talbot Bar

The Talbot Bar
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Its a nice pub, with good traditional tasty English food. It had good comfortable environment, friendly services and good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank twynk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    78
    28
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Comfort food for hungry fell walkers”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Although listed as the only restaurant in Skelwith Bridge, the Talbot Bar is in the same building as The Bridge Restaurant at the Skelwith Bridge Hotel which appears separately under Ambleside. That said, it is still the better option.

Despite a very poor meal at The Bridge (see separate review) reluctance to walk further or to drive led to our party returning to the hotel to eat. The Talbot proved to have more modest ambitions but better execution. The barman was very welcoming, clear about which 'specials' were still available (sadly, on a Sunday evening, the roast beef was finished) and the pub menu was more than adequate to soak up the very good draught beer. (Marstons New World is highly recommended.)

My steal and ale pie was substantial and not over-complicated while other options (burger and chips, gammon steak and egg, roast chicken) were devoured by my friends. There was nothing out of the ordinary but it was more than satisfactory.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Staying nearby and ate here on our first evening, we ate outside at the front of the hotel. Food was nice and the man behind the bar very friendly. We returned the second evening for drinks and no problem taking dog into bar area which was a bonus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shipinnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An old favourite revisited”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It must be over 25 years since I last visited the Skelwith Bridge Hotel, and the major change was the Talbot bar where I had lunch. The barman was very voluble selling the real ales on offer, allowing me to try four local brews (sadly none to my liking). Food was as good as ever, and the welcome just as warm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alanl58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have always found this bar to be very good and very well priced over the years we spent the royal wedding in here hiding form the rain three years ago. Went back this year and it is still a great lakeland bar serving good wholesome food

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talbot Bar also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Elterwater, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Great Langdale, Lake District
 

Been to The Talbot Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing