We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kankakee History”

B. Harley Bradley House
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kankakee History”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm not a huge Wright aficionado, but it is a nice place to see. I'm not really giving the house a three-star rating, it has to do with it being in Kankakee. I'm not really sure I would make a special trip just to see it. That being said, I have known people who (as part of a Wright tour) have made the trip to Kankakee just to see this house. If you happen to be in Kankakee and want some sight seeing, then go ahead and enjoy, it is right on the river.
And while you're in the Riverview historic district, you can take a trip around and see some historic homes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    5
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tis place is awesome!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our lawyer use to have his office here but now they host artist exhibits and I believe you can get a tour of the house. Well worth going to see if you love seeing architect from days gone by.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank phaynes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great day-trip from Chicago!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

For those of you in the Chicagoland area who only associate the name Frank Lloyd Wright with Parks (both Oak and Hyde), the B. Harley Bradley House in Kankakee is a great way to get acquainted with the architectural great. Kankakee's downtown area neighbors the Riverview Historic District (where the Bradley House is located), and a solid afternoon can be spent visiting the House and area museums (the French Heritage Museum is definitely worth a stop).

TIP: Definitely take the tour! This should not be a drive-by experience! For $15 you get a very well-informed and intimate tour that totally trumps the Chicago-area Wright tours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jsleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kankakee
1 review
“Historic district kankakee”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The wright home is a must see. we stayed a Riverview Guest house b&b around the corner, which is in Riverview Historic District.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank riverview641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peotone, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Architectural gem with lovely river view”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Restored Frank Lloyd Wright house built in 1900 and still looks fresh and livable today. As other reviewers have pointed out, there is little original furniture but the house itself has been well restored. Quite an achievement for this town since the carraige house to this home was slated for demolition just a few years ago. For travelers, it is an easy stop off of I-57 and for locals it is a must see. Many of the locals will remember this in its previous life as the Yesteryear restaurant which closed in 1983. FLW buffs will enjoy this as one of his earlier works and one of the first of his Prairie style. He was only 33 when he designed this house and its neighbor. (a privately owned house, not open for tours) One hour tours are available Friday-Sunday for $15. Most tours I suspect will be private or close to it as I don't think they get a lot of traffic. Make sure you take the short drive along the river south of the house in the Riverview district to see some very nice homes that you may not expect from Kankakee. The gift shop has some very nice FLW items also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank empjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B. Harley Bradley House also viewed

 

Been to B. Harley Bradley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing