We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room & Bed but Clumsy Housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Room & Bed but Clumsy Housekeeping”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We always enjoy staying at Hiltons for their cleanliness and extremely comfortable beds and this was no exception. The room was great, though the TV was pretty tiny. The one major complaint was that housekeeping entered our room after our arrival without knocking/announcing themselves and once again in the morning after announcing themselves but disregarding someone in the room shouting, "Hello! I'm in here!". It reminded me of my old apartment where I would walk in to an unannounced maintenance person in my living room! Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank katertotyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like you found the property very clean and comfortable and that your overall experience was excellent. The situation you described with housekeeping is unacceptable and I want to personally apologize for the intrusions. Our entire team is trained on proper guestroom access and the importance of privacy and security. Our housekeeping team receives additional guidance on these subjects due to the nature of their positions. Hearing your concerns we immediately sought out the team member(s) involved to share your disappointment and of course retrain to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. My intincts were confirmed when we discovered two new team members were involved. Both were extremely apologetic. However, the responsibility in this case falls solely with myself and our leadership team. Again I'm sorry for the intrusion and thankful that the remainder of your stay was outstanding. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    127
    53
    17
    5
See reviews for
228
61
28
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lake forest, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is on a budget, but wants to stay a nice hotel for their vacation or visit. All the staffs were helpful and very professional. During my stay at this hotel I was very satisfied. The room I stayed in was very clean and gave a comfortable feeling so that I can rest peacefully at night. The hotel is also close by to an outlet mall, restaurants, and other department stores.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Pa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the incredibly kind and positive review. It's great to learn you felt the hotel was amazing and offered at a good value. Add to that the fact it was clean, comfortable and run by a friendly, professional team, and just as you said, it truly does sound like an "amazing" experience. We really appreciate you staying with us and we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel was immaculate, the food was good, and the beds were very comfortable. Our room was very cool and well air-conditioned. The staff was very supportive and accommodating. We are already planning our next visit with family!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We're very happy to learn you found the entire property to be emmaculately clean and that our team was "supportive and accommodating". We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we are certainly looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A wedding led us to this Hilton Garden Inn, in Lake Forest IL. The bride had reserved a block of rooms, but since I wanted to visit family, we booked the extra day. The price is not bad, but I have learned to keep looking for a better rate. The night before arriving, I found that on their own website, they had lowered the rate from $98 per night to $71 per night. I called, and they changed my reservation to the cheaper rate.

This Hilton is nice for the price. The true value is in their employees, who go over and above what is expected these days. Jeff at the front desk was the ultimate host; So personable and helpful. This hotel has 5 floors, all rooms accessible by elevator with inside corridors.

We did not try the breakfast, as it is priced at $12.95 per person,. With tax and tip, you are easily at $17-20. The pool was clean, and is inside. There were lots of guests swimming, as it was the 4th of July weekend. The Fitness room was also busy, as I observed each time going by to the elevator.

The Hotel is immaculate, all common areas, and especially in the room we stayed. We were at the end of a hall, room 341. Clean and quiet. The room had a king size bed, with firmness adjusting mattress, which was a plus. There were lots of lamps, so the lighting was good in the room. The wireless internet is complimentary for 24 hours, after answering a few questions, you get connected. After 24 hours I signed up again, for an additional complimentary 24 hours of internet.

Overall, I would give this an A. I would rate it higher if the hotel at least offered something in the line of complimentary breakfast. They did offer plates of cookies in the afternoon only, until gone.

Room Tip: Rooms 341, 342 are at the end of the hall on one end of the third floor. I assume that 441, 442 wou...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am not sure what this Hilton Garden Inn does to reduce, reuse, recycle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive and extremely positive review of the hotel. It's clear you very much enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. However, it's wonderful to hear it was our associates' desire to exceed expectations that made the biggest impression and that Jeff stood out as a star among stars. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and your visit to Lake Forest. Please come back and see us again if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have yet to have any discomforts while staying at any of Hilton Garden Inn hotels or its counterparts. Rooms were clean, staff was professional and our stay was seamless. Any and all questions were answered in a timely manner by hotel staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for taking your personal time to share your outstanding experience with your fellow travelers. We're so glad to learn your stay with seamless from check in to check out and that you found everything to be perfectly clean. Most importantly it sounds like you received friendly, genuine, and professional service from our team. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel and we hope you'll come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at 9:30 pm with no reservations after having gone to our initial property and found it un-acceptable and after beating around 15 other properties that were all booked - "no room at the inn". We were kindly referred to the HGI by a next-door hotel that was also full.

Mr. Jeff Cokefair greeted me warmly and with some humorous banter, said he had a room and would be happy to accommodate us. Our son was graduating the next day from Great Lake Naval Base Recruit Training and he also mentioned he had several other military families with him that night.

He handled the booking quickly and kindly.

The property is "5 circles" in our estimation; courteous and professional staff, super room, and lovely breakfast service while not included was very reasonably priced and beat going out to hunt for a place.

MS-Indianapolis, IN

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
What a wonderfully kind and thoughtful review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. First, it's clear Jeff set the tone for what proved to be an exceptionally satisfying stay. I know he appreciates your recognition. Jeff represents our hotel very well and we're fortuante to be able to enjoy his passion and genuine desire to provide outstanding care to our guests. I'm particularly happy we were able to accommodate you considering the purpose for your visit as we are proud to serve the visiting family and friends of those that will soon serve our country. Congrats to you and your son! Thanks for your business and please stay with us again if you ever return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have spent five weeks at the Hilton Garden Inn Mettawa near Lake Forest within the last year and it is a surprisingly good hotel. It's aimed at a sensible price level as usual for the Garden Inn's and yet it delivers excellent service, large comfortable rooms and some undramatic but pleasant food in both breakfast and dinner sittings. It's also situated just next to the highway so it's easy to get everywhere from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose a room looking at the car park rather than the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your repeat business and your loyalty. Your kind words about the hotel's product, value proposition, and most importantly...excellent service, are very much appreciated. Add to that the fact you've experienced consistently high quality meals in our restaurant and we could not be happier. We really appreciate your business and if you have to be away from home we hope it can at least be with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Forest
3.2 mi away
The Deer Path Inn
The Deer Path Inn
#2 of 2 in Lake Forest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lincolnshire
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lake Forest/Mettawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Chicago - Vernon Hills
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bannockburn-Deerfield
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
Address: 26225 N Riverwoods Blvd, Lake Forest, IL 60045-3429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Forest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Forest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa is ideally located among Lake Forest, IL hotels, just off I-94, and only minutes north of Chicago. The brand-new lobby is highlighted by stylish décor and comfortable lounge seating near a cozy fireplace that creates the perfect atmosphere to hang out with friends or co-workers. Start your day off with breakfast at the Great American Grill, or unwind in the evenings at the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy a beer or signature cocktail. The spacious guest rooms feature modern amenities including free WiFi, HD TVs with premium cable, and the signature Garden Sleep System bed that is adjustable to fit your comfort. This Lake Forest, IL hotel also offers easy access to O’Hare International Airport and the businesses in Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, and Libertyville to make it perfect for corporate travel. Leisure travelers will also appreciate the quick commute to Six Flags and the Great Lakes Naval Base. Select the Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa, and enjoy premium service and a great location for your next Chicago-land trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa Hotel Lake Forest
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa IL - Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing