We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Italian Place in Town”
Review of Francesca's Intimo

Francesca's Intimo
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's Intimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 65 Restaurants in Lake Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Western
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only Italian Place in Town”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Best italian sit down restaurant in LF. Good, classic choices. With that said- after spending 5 years in NYC it goes without saying that Intimo pales in comparison- but hey, this is the midwest- lower your expectations - as I have- and travel often to get food that is sensational.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistent, and consistently overcrowded with nowhere to wait”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I never knew this was a chain, because it is nice and as long as you don't get stuck next to the kitchen door or next to a huge group, it is pleasant.

The food is good with only an occasional miss which they will quickly replace. Good service, not world class but good. Excellent bartender makes excellent drinks.

Sadly, the place is absolutely tiny with the entrance always crowded, a tiny bar and nowhere to sit and wait. If you don't get there for a ridiculously early dinner, it won't be enjoyable.

Since we have at least a dozen excellent restaurants in neighboring Highwood, Italian and French, I see no reason to visit Francesca's unless you go for lunch. I do not understand why they don't get into a larger space!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvLoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always solid!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Francesca's Intimo is consistently outstanding. A good variety of seafood and pasta dishes are always available. Delicious veal dishes are typically available too.

Favorites include some of their home made pastas (ask the wait staff to identify), their half roasted chicken is outstanding, mussels appetizer is great, much much more. Specials deserve your attention, and are typically offered every night.

If you don't like a preparation, don't be shy about asking to mix and match....they usually accommodate your wishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“We have beautiful photos and even more beautiful memories from my bridal shower here.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a wonderful bridal shower brunch here last week. My mom's best friends planned it, and told me the restaurant was very easy to work with (even though they were mistaken on the party start time, they were able to get it together just in time!). From a partygoer's point of view, the food was fantastic, the atmosphere was light, airy, and modern, and the service was extremely attentive. We had a lentil goat cheese spinach salad that was incredible as well as some smoked salmon that was so far beyond your grandma's lox. The eggs as well were cooked perfectly. If you're looking for a venue for a party, this is an excellent choice! We have beautiful photos and even more beautiful memories from my bridal shower here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value. Consistently very good.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Consistently very good food and service. Staff is very accomodating. This place attracts lots of regulars which is always a good sign.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca's Intimo also viewed

Lake Forest, Lake County
 
Lake Forest, Lake County
Lake Forest, Lake County
 

Been to Francesca's Intimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing