We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to the summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We booked a large block of rooms here for a family wedding. The king room was spotless, carpet just shampooed earlier that day. The room was spacious and allowed enough closet room and drawer space to actually unpack. The bed was so comfortable, I would have loved to take it home with us. The breakfst provided so much variety, I can't believe I stuck with my normal peanut butter and jelly toast. The pancake maker was a hit with the kids in the family. The front desk staff was accommodating with the shuttle back and forth from the reception, and the different needs we had during our 2-3 day stay. Thanks for starting off our summer in a more home-like atmosphere, quiet, comfortable and welcoming. LOVEDTHE ADULT POOL TIME!!

Room Tip: King rooms have more space to walk between bed and TV console
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have now stayed at this hotel twice.nice enough facility but over the last 2 nights I was bitten while sleeping..sounds and looks like bed bugs.
Also the breakfast is appalling..powdered and watery eggs, string bacon and no fruit unless you want to munch on a hard apple..pathetic. either do it well or dont do it at all

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satere007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear TravellerHawaii,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a candid review. I assure you bed bugs are not a sanitary issue and IHG takes these concerns seriously. We recommend that our hotels undergo routine preventative procedures to guard against bed bugs. In the event that bed bugs are discovered, we recommend that the hotel's pest control specialists act to ensure that the bugs are eradicated and if necessary, the hotel discards and replaces all affected furniture and linens. Additionally, we recommend the guest room is taken out of service until the hotel is advised that the guest room is pest free. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I really enjoyed our week long stay here with family and a dog.
Park across the street, malls nearby to eat, very friendly staff. Clean rooms.
Good sleeps.

Room Tip: A room facing away from road and upper floor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BM195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. I loved the options in pillow firmness! The breakfast was ok - I don't bother with the "fake" eggs and stuck with yogurt and toast. We saw the weak coffee and decided to walk across the parking lot to Starbucks to get a real cup of coffee.
The hotel staff was very accomodating and provided a shuttle ride for us to attend a party in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennsylvaniaPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInn Z, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I appreciate the nice comments regarding the room and the staff as we strive to deliver excellence with each and every guest. More importantly I appreciate the comments regarding the breakfast and coffee as this has allowed to address any short comings and make corrections where necessary. We appreciate your business and taking the time to provide your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Neville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I travel Illinois and Indiana professionally. The buffet breakfast has the best (most varied) selection of food items I've experienced. Only the occasional hotel that has a real person making your eggs or hotcakes top this. Plus, I was a late eater and I noticed the room was as clean as at 6:00 a.m. Compliments to the staff for keeping it a place you want to eat in.

A special thanks to Kyle for fixing my TV after the cable guys had been tinkering in the PBX room.

cc9565

p.s. The pancake machine...I remember my first waffle machine where you pour your own batter...this thing..press a button and out they roll..almost like a no-window car wash. Cool!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. No frills, meticulously clean and close to the events I had going on. As a Holiday Inn Express you don't expect the high end amenities, but I will say this room was absolutely spotless, the employees were very pleasant and the entire stay was very nice.

The breakfast can be hit and miss. The first day it was scrambled eggs and bacon, biscuits, gravy, etc. It was very good. However, the next morning the scrambled eggs were replaced by a cheese omlet looking thing that actually crunched when I bit in. The bacon was replaced by a nasty looking sausage.

But that did not disuade me from giving this a 5-star ranking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was surprised to see that the hotel and an extensive warm breakfast. I've seen just a waffle maker and that's it but they had eggs, bacon and very warm cinnabuns in addition to all the staples like cereal, drinks, bagels, toast etc. The beds and sheets were comfortable. The pool and hot tub was clean. This hotel is not too old so it is to be expected. I would consider staying here with kids or on business. We stayed with the kids while our floors were getting refinished. Holiday Inn has improved a lot over the years.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Zurich
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Deer Park
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Hampton Inn - McHenry
#1 of 2 in McHenry
442 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
98 reviews
6.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#4 of 10 in Arlington Heights
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington

Address: 197 S Rand Rd, Lake Zurich, IL 60047-2275
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Lake Zurich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lake Zurich
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington, IL. Situated in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, IL, Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Lake Zurich - Barrington is located off Hwy 12 and State Route 22, with easy access to the communities of Barrington, Palatine, Crystal Lake, Vernon Hills and Mundelein. Our leisure travelers will love the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington's close proximity to Concorde Banquets and the Lakeside Family Sports Complex. In the heart of Lake County visitors will find our hotel ideally situated to enjoy the many recreational activities of the area. In addition, just a short drive from the hotel will give you access to all that downtown Chicago has to offer. Our Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel is close to several corporate offices, including ECHO Inc, CF Industries, Siemens, Motorola and Baxter. We are proud to offer free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access throughout our hotel, a 24-hour business center for all your business-related needs, meeting space and an indoor pool and whirlpool area. Our hotel in Lake Zurich offers a number of unexpected amenities in a comfortable setting. Come Stay Smart with us at our centrally located Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lake Zurich - Barrington hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Zurich-Barrington Lake County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing