We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug infested”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lansing IL
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two weeks ago. I woke up the next day. Bed bug bites all over me. I showed the manager and staff my bites. They didn't care at all and noticed it was new bug bites. I have never encountered bed bugs or a dirty hotel. Don't go here save your money unless you want to wake up with itchy bites all over you. They didn't give me a refund for my uncomfortable stay and didn't care at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queennie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

From the outside it appears clean and well-kept. OMG....once you get into the room....it is DISGUSTING!!! The carpet has clearly never been cleaned. There is a build up of dirt and dust along the edges. There were smudges of blood and who knows what else on the walls. There were layers of mold on the bathroom faucet. There were pubic hairs in the the tub. There was a pencil drawing on the bathroom door, holes in the sheets, the lock was broken off on the bathroom door. The only thing that was clean in the room was the refrigerator and microwave. There was also no sign of roaches....but I was surprised by that.

Room Tip: Don't stay here....it is not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This was the first time I ever stayed here and the last, I hope not all Howard Johnson's are like this. I think the days inn across the street is cleaner then this place. There are holes in the corners of the wall towards the floor, the room looked like it hadn't been vaccumed in months, the sheets didnt fit the bed, the chair in the room had a stain; i dont want to know what is was. The hotel looks nice from the outside but its sooo dirty on the inside, I understand if you dont relaly check people into a certain room for awhile, but there should be soemone checking out the room after housekeeping has cleaned it.

I advise you not to stay here until you are in dyer need of a hotel and have no money. the red roof in only $30 more but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10sne1-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Not one good thing to say about this place. Safety was also a major concern. No control of noise in the other rooms late into the night by management. The included breakfast was also very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emorris812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Rooms are in deplorable condition. House keeping was awful. No washcloths, no hand towels, toilet paper not in holder because holder pulled out of wall, no coffee for room coffee maker, towels were a dingy white. 2 ice machines in entire complex and neither worked. Notice by city stating "do not enter outside stairwell doors" posted on all floors. Sign says free breakfast. Breakfast included cold bagels, cereal with no milk on the counter, coffee had to be asked for. One of the worst motel experiences ever encountered. All this enjoyment for $85.00 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

For the price, you won't be able to find a hotel with easy access to where you're going or coming from. With that said, the doorways, hallways and elevator are dirty and don't smell clean. Thank god that the same didn't go for my room!

The room was clean, bed nicely made, ac worked, and I couldn't hear neighbors. Thats all I am asking for when I pay $44 a night.

Some unsettling things was seeing a police car slowly cruise through the parking lot (says something of the neighborhood) and the 3rd floor door's electronic lock was broken from the inside...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrilledFetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I would stay here again if I was short on cash. The place isn't the cleanliest but it's not horrid. The staff were friendly enough and it's in a great location. You can't beat $40 a night and expect a 5-star room. Biggest complaint would be the crap pillows. But the air conditioning kept me cool all night and the bed was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudgetStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lansing IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lansing IL

Address: 17301 Oak Ave, Torrence Ave & Beinice Rd, Lansing, IL 60438-1038
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Lansing IL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Lansing IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing