We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never in your Life would I stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Karlstad, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never in your Life would I stay here”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked this hotel with Hotel.com for my husband an hour before he arrived after 18 hours of driving. The Hotel room was confirmed minuets after I booked it while still on the phone with the assistant that set the room up for me. { I was very please at how fast they were in booking this room}
My Husband arrived a little over an hour later and went to get his room key so he could begin to relax and was told that there was no room reserved for him by Hotel.com. So he went out to get something to eat before he went to sleep, came back and was left to stand around in the Lobby of the Hotel, while the desk clerk sat behind a desk and let his phone rang and rang never answering the phone.
I called and talked to an assistant from Hotels.com and asked them to find out why Alan was not given a key for a room and they would get back to me in a few moments after they talked to the Hotel. I was on hold for so long it went back to the main recording when calling Hotels.com I then got a hold of a gentleman and he said he would call me back one he got a hold of this Hotel. Never happened since the clerk at the counter just let the phone ring and ring instead of answering it.
I was then called back and told that the reservation would be moved to a Better Hotel so he could get a good nights sleep when all of a sudden the clerk said that the room had been confirmed. Excuse Me !!!! It had been confirmed hours before ... No I will Not recommend this hotel nor Refer to this Hotel .. with this type of treatment and this amount of Disrespect .. Inexcusable

Room Tip: Comfort Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJPintabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    20
    22
    13
    26
See reviews for
51
21
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our trip was a 6 day vacation. We stayed at a variety of hotels, but this was by far our favorite. It felt like we were coming home! We are planning our next vacation now ~ a 3 week trip to California. We will be staying at as many Extended Stay Hotels as we can. Thank you for being the best line of hotels out there!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to this E.S.A. Lansing Chicago as per the reviews on other sites. The hotel along with the staff is excellent but the only problem is that the people who came here to stay had made the hotel so messy and hell lot of smoke smell around the lobby as well as in individual floor lobby also it's has smoking rooms too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruturaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating to your needs. Still, I deeply apologize for the cleaning conditions. It is truly regrettable and we will use this experience to improve our cleaning procedures as well as inspection policies moving forward.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would wish to stay in the area. The rooms are always clean and presentable. The staff is friendly and understands urgency. I have never had any problems here and I always enjoy.

Room Tip: Second floor tends to be a bit quieter. No sure if it's just me being picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was very disappointed with the quality of this hotel. We stayed for over a week and never received new linen. Although they are supposed to change it every 5 days I believe. The beds were hard and the room had some maintenance issues. My husband told the front desk 3x about the maintenance issues and nothing was done. On the last day I received an online survey and completed it, it was only at this time that they decided to address the issues. The front desk staff was not too friendly, I wanted to extend my stay and I was told I had to wait to speak to someone else. Also, I couldn't even get a paper receipt, they had to email the receipt to me. The rooms are extremely small. We could barely fit 2 adults and an infant comfortably. After staying there I have been seeing the tv ads and this location is nothing like the ads.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that the hotel didn't meet your standards.

If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at lan@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Housekeeping was poor, room smelled, it was understaffed and the front desk was often unable to answer questions. At one point the woman behind the desk told the man " I don't know where the other extended stay is, I think it's 3 hrs away. maybe she can help you" pointing to me and then she disappeared. It was also very loud in the evenings with people yelling and slamming doors. I later found out the several families were living there as government housing.

There are many conveniences nearby and it was close to the job site but is the worst Extended Stay I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeway14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the service you received at the front desk. In response to your feedback I have shared your review with my Staff and will use it as a training tool to continue to improve the service we provide to our guests. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me at lan@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I recently stayed at this location for an overnight trip. The check in person Brandon was friendly and made the check in process quick and painless. I slept comfortably and no complaints other than the limited amount of soap, lotion and a hot breakfast in the a.m. Other than that the other staff members Michelle and Dan were pleasant :) I will book again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mysticjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We continually work to improve our hotels, so I really appreciate your feed back on the comfort of our beds and the quick and frienldy check in process.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel - Lansing
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago South Lansing
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
4.6 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing

Property: Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
Address: 2520 173rd St, Lansing, IL 60438-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Lansing
Extended Stay Lansing
Lansing Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing