We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Trust Your Reservation - I was Forced to Leave for THEIR Error.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Libertyville, IL, United States
1 review
“Can't Trust Your Reservation - I was Forced to Leave for THEIR Error.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Some two weeks prior to my arrival, I made a reservation for a Suite for 3 nights (Arriving Monday, checking out Thursday). Shortly after my checkin, I discovered that my room was not the suite as I reserved and had been charged for (this was my first stay at a Hampton). I called the front desk and was told that they had no Suites available and that they would just lower my rate. As if this would solve the problem of not having a refrigerator to keep the food that I brought that needed to be refrigerated (I'm on a special diet). What's the point of a reservation if you're not going to honor it? But it gets much worse... Then the next morning, I received an express checkout sheet under my door. I called the front desk and was told that my reservation was for only one day and that they had no rooms at all for the remainder of what my stay was supposed to be, so I had to leave. The person at the front desk didn't even act like she cared that she was kicking me out. She claimed that when whatever system I made the reservation in transferred it to the their hotel, it didn't properly transfer the number of days. That's quite funny given that to avoid any of these kind of problems, I CALLED THE FRONT DESK to make the initial reservation. And I'm 100% sure that I verbally confirmed with them that it was a suite for 3 nights. So there you have it. My first stay was ruined by either by three different front desk staff: 1) The person taking the reservation, 2) the person checking me in not verifying all of this and 3) the person who kicked me out the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of this error. I can't imagine how frustrating that may have been for you. We do see you have future reservations and we look forward to proving to you we can not only meet but exceed your expectations. We did some research on your reservation and it indeed was only made for one evening. Not sure what went wrong if it was miscommunication or a system error. Again I apologize and assure your next stay here with us will be an improvement. Have a wonderful holiday weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    85
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
214
46
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This Hampton Inn is fine for a short stay. Rooms are clean and spacious. Fitness room good, too. Steer clear of the breakfast if you have the option to go out. And no alcohol available here. Most of the staff was very good. You need a car if you stay here, though. No restaurants (except a Wendy's) are within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your response. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also pleased to announce we now offering new breakfast items, from Danishes to our hot breakfast. I do believe you would be pleased with the new and improved quality. We are not close to restaurants for walking but we do work with a taxi company that we can have at our door any time of day. We have lots of food options within just a couple of miles. If you are in the area again please give us a call and I would like to personally make a reservation for you and have the chance to win your satisfaction back with our Hot Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our first experience with a Hampton Inn was a pleasant surprise. We were part of a wedding party that had booked a large block of rooms. Every aspect of our stay was positive. The hotel was in excellent working condition and the staff was extremely helpful. We greatly appreciated the assistance the desk staff provided linking us to the reliable and reasonably priced American Taxi service for trips to and from O'Hare.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank maggiesfarm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear guest,

Good Morning! Thank you for your wonderful comments. Our staff here tries their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible, especially when attending such an important event. We want your hotel accommodations to be the last of your worries. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our family highly recommends this hotel for two reasons. First and most importantly, the staff of the hotel is fantastic. Second, it is far enough from the base area that you get a good mix of fellow guests. This hotel is relatively new but the way it is kept up, you would think it was just built. Great customer service experience, the best our family has ever had!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you greatly for your response. It was wonderful reading such fantastic feedback about our hotel and staff. We all strive to make our guest's stay extra comforting, especially when in your case haven't seen your loved ones for a few months. Congratulations on the graduation and we wish the best ! If you are in the area again please give us a call and I will be happy to personally make your reservation for you. Have a wonderful rest of 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was attending the wedding of my great niece and this was the closest hotel to the reception. The room and the staff were excellent, and the morning after the wedding I enjoyed the breakfast that was served. All in all I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your response. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly had a great time with family on such a special day. We do our best as a staff to make occasions like this as wonderful as possible. Have a wonderful day and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It was a great hotel, super comfortable in every way. The bed was awesome! Very clean! There are a few nearby places to eat. Not a busy area, very calm and noise free. Everything was tidy, clean, and clutter free. I slept like a baby. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your response. Our housekeeping staff works extra hard to keep our hotel clean and presentable for all of our guests. Again, thank you for making us your choice hotel and we hope to see you in Libertyville again soon! Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband ran the Prairie State Marathon at Independence Grove near Libertyville, and we wanted a place to stay nearby. This was an excellent Hampton Inn -- very clean, good breakfast with healthy choices and only minutes away from the race start.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britny P, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your husband running the race! I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you are in the area again please give us a call and I will be pleased to personally make your reservation for you. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest Mettawa
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago Lincolnshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
Address: 2061 Shell Dr, Libertyville, IL 60048-9602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago-Libertyville Hotel Libertyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing