We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good, but one thing I couldn't get over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First of all, the hot breakfast was wonderful. The scrambled eggs with cheese and ham were better than ones I've paid for in restaurants. The staff was friendly. The biggest problem was the smell of the room. When we opened the door and walked in the smell of smoke was overpowering. I thought that it was illegal to smoke in hotel rooms. When the cleaning people cleaned they must have smelled it. Did they report it? Did they do anything to try and get rid of the smell? If they did, it didn't work. The rest of the room was clean and nice, but the smell was very off putting. When we got home, even my suitcase smelled of smoke from being in the room. No, I didn't report it. We were there for a wedding and had to get ready quickly and leave. When we checked out in the morning, I had to wait for someone to get to the front desk and at that point I just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher53060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I am very sorry you had issues with the smell of smoke in your room. It is against our hotel policy to smoke in rooms and I will certainly get with housekeeping about reporting when guests do so. If you find yourself in the area again, please give us a call as we'd love the chance to make it right with you. Have a wonderful week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. The room was spacious enough for our three boys and us. The staff was very helpful with any request we had. The next time we travel to the Chicago area, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words about our hotel! I'm thrilled to see you had such a great experience with us! We certainly have a great staff here that is always happy to accommodate in any way we can. Please give us a call next time you're in the area. We'd love to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay at the Hampton Inn And Suites at Libertyville, Illinois was fantastic. We used most of the facilities here and had a great time with our stay. I would recommend this hotel to other people that are travelling.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience at our property! Not only is it great to hear back from our guests, but it is also a tremendous help to future travelers looking for lodging in our area. Have a wonderful weekend and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

OK it doesn't have a bar, but as a place for repose while on the road, the room is clean, there is adequate breakfast, wifi , and all the basic facilities one needs combined with welcoming staff. It works. Anything more is indulgence, there is a place for indulgence but this cost is reasonable and helps one save for a more indulgent moment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about our hotel. We're so glad to see you found our property to be all that you needed! While we don't have a bar on site, there are a lot of really great local places not too far from our property. Should you find yourself in the neighborhood again, please give us a ring. Not only will we be happy to have you as our guests again, we can also point you in the direction of some awesome food and drinks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms are very spacious. We had one with 2 beds and a pull out coach. There was a frig, microwave, extra sink area. Continental breakfast was fantastic. Wifi was easy to access. Pool was a great temperature. Cookies at check-in were awesome. Hot chocolate was available at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I'm so glad to see you were so happy with your stay at our hotel! It means so much to hear back from the guests. I'm also happy to see our accommodations were to your liking! Please contact us should you find yourself in our area again. We'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel was very clean. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Check in was speedy, even though we arrived before the official check in time. The room was very clean and there were no issues with any appliances. Internet worked well and was fast. The breakfast area was sufficiently supplied with breakfast items. Items seemed to be fresh. It was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words about our hotel! It means a lot to us to see when guests have all around great experiences with us. Thank you again and we hope to have you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hotel was clean and staff very helpful. Plenty of room in the suites for a family of 4!!! The breakfast area served as great place for our party of 14 to gather for cake & ice cream in the evening. Fitness center was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Londa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami F, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us! Your kind words mean so much to our staff and we're so pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at our property. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future! Have a wonderful week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
153 reviews
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville

Address: 2061 Shell Dr, Libertyville, IL 60048-9602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range: £76 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chicago-Libertyville Hotel Libertyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing