We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great extended getaway place for 1 or a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Carmel, IN
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great extended getaway place for 1 or a couple”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have never stayed in a Candlewood as I'm usually traveling with a friend to dog shows and we prefer 2 beds. Since I was going alone, I thought it was the perfect time to try it out with just the 1 Q bed for 3 nights. Very roomy, full kitchen, large workspace. I had taken some food items since I knew they did not provide a breakfast buffet. They have an honor system "pantry" where you can find all kinds of food items and also fill up your coffee pot carafe after using the packet in room for the first morning. I was there for dog shows but my dog stayed with the handler. Lots of people there with dogs, plenty of room to walk them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gold3493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We hope everything went well with your dog show and have to say we love having all our four legged visitors stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
18
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were heading back home to NY and stopped here for the night. The price was very reasonable considering the amenties, including efficiency suite, free laundry, free coffee,free gym, free wifi and a great price. The only thing it doesn't offer is a free breakfast, which is reasonable considering you have a kitchen in the unit. Accommodations were well appointed and comfy. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: None needed. It was the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for coming in for a quick visit. Our large well appointed rooms have anything our guest could need. We are glad you got to enjoyed all of our amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOUNT AIRY
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What a wonderful property. Everyone was helpful. The room was spotless. We had our small dog with us and it was wonderful not to be placed in the nasty dog room and the grounds had plenty of space for walks. We throughly enjoyed our time there and would highly recommend this location. Overall this chain is a great value and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REBECCA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We just love our four legged visitors and strive to offer them great accommodations. Our furry friends are part of your family and we enjoy treating them like that as well. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and we hope to see you all of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Road trip stopping when we were tired. This was clean comfortable and extremely inexpensive. Place closest was twice as much and only extra amenity was free breakfast not worth $60 extra. Flat screen with HBO free wifi and free washers and dryers !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We love when guest stay with us after a long day of travel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we were delighted to have you as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The room was large and clean. Very updated finishes and lots of nice touches. We stayed almost an entire week for a graduation and it worked out very well; like having a little apartment. I will say that we should have taken a room that included a couch for visitors, but that was our mistake. Don't let that mislead-our room was very big. A full size fridge and microwave came in very handy. Never used the stove top. They took care of the dry cleaning (same day; bonus) and there is also free laundry by the treadmills; another win. There is no pool, but we knew that when we booked. That was not a requirement for us. There is a lovely BBQ area that unfortunately we did not get to use. The staff was very friendly and respectful, even when I discovered that the address of the hotel could not be located by my mapping system in the car! LOL I got a bit lost trying to find my way back so I called the front desk and the gentleman who answered did not miss a beat. He just explained it happens frequently, gave me the address of the office next door and was so nice.
A great stay. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that includes a couch if you will be entertaining guests. It was the only feature we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShihTzuparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We get many families that stay with us during graduations. We are glad that while you were with us you enjoyed our large rooms. We hope to see you again if you ever return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundelein
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have to say the hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice. A very good value.
The problems are:
1 - If your room is on the West side of the hotel you'll hear the trains more
2 - The wireless internet is unusable. It's so slow it buffers every 3-5 seconds when watching any kind of a youtube video. If you watch between 2AM-6AM it'll work fine, after that the system gets loaded up and falls apart.
3 - They use some kind of an air freshener in the public areas and it's a bit much.
4 - Sometimes when you arrive (1 out of 4) no one is at the front desk and you have to call them from a house phone. (what's up with that?)
Other than that the beds are nice, clean and comfy!
Ciao,
Ray

Room Tip: Get a room on the East side, you won't hear all of the train traffic as much :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your current stay with us. We apperciate any and all feedback we receive to make future stays for our guest better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I'll give this place 10 stars, the pictures online does nothing for these suites. Very clean, up to date and modern. Fully equipped with everything you would need to cook, eat, and they even provide you with a small bottle of dish washing liquid to wash all of the essentials in the room that you've used to cook & eat with. I'll most def looking for these suites is different cities when I travel for my job.

Staff was awesome and very friendly:), keep up the fantastic job. I also loved the fact this place has a laundry room, and cupboard:).

Room Tip: Idk about other rooms, but my room was on the 1st floor and it took my breath away:).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emstein2, Manager at Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We know with anyone traveling away from home is difficult. We are delighted to hear that everything we provided for your stay made your business trip comfortable and relaxing. Candlewood Suites is a great place for any business travel and love that you will be looking for us in other cities. Thank you for the taking the time to leave such a positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville

Property: Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Address: 1100 N US Highway 45, Libertyville, IL 60048-4469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundries items at value prices. We are located in the heart of Libertyville's business district, a short drive from I-94 and right next to Motorola, USG, University of St. Mary's, Volkswagen Credit and the College of Lake County. We're only minutes from many other large corporations. Surrounding leisure attractions include the new Libertyville Sports Complex, Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, Cuneo Museum and Volo Auto Museum. Simply, fun times for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville Hotel Libertyville
Candlewood Suites Libertyville
Candlewood Libertyville
Libertyville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing