We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, considering the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice place, considering the area”
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed here one night while visiting relatives. The hotel is very nice, and we had no complaints, except for the general ambiance of business parks and trains, which we slept through. Some fast-food restaurants are nearby, but the area is not all that attractive. Warning: Some maps have the wrong directions to it.

The staff was very courteous. When we arrived, we had dinner plans, but we could have easily had "dinner" at their hot buffet. The late-night or breakfast area is nice--serve yourself and deposit some money.

The room was large and clean, and the bed was just fine.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the ambience of Libertyville
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
33
18
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Given the fact that I I got this hotel through Priceline and it was cheap, very cheap, I cannot fault anybody but myself. You get what you pay for, even if it was supposed to be a 3 star hotel. What 3 star hotel you know has rooms and pillows that smell all the time and nothing can be done about it? Not that I have been in. Due to the fact that I had already paid for this room, we had to stick it out. We booked two rooms for my husband and two small children. The moment you open the closet door a musty smell hits you right away. And it was in both rooms. The pillows have the same smell, even though it is not due to the pillow cases being dirty. The pillows themselves have the smell. And of course, no roll aways. This hotel is a business hotel. That is it. I would recommend it to family or anybody staying there for any reason. However, the staff was attentive and nice.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Thames
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

One night here before an early morning meeting. Near a train line so get rail noise thundering past.
Not a 'hotel' that you'd want to stay at on holiday and in fact if i was here for 2 night or more on business that might be too much.
However, that said, the rooms were fine and large and difficult to fault. Not luxurious but functionally comfortable and fine to do work in. The staff were friendly if not slick. The place served its purpose for this one night.

  • Liked — Size of the room
  • Disliked — Road and rail noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2008

My wife and I have just returned to England after 8 nights at Candlewood, since our American friends, who live locally ,could not accomodate us .
We booked a suite with a separate bedroom and were very pleased indeed with the self catering accomodation.
The queen bed was very, very, comfortable and the bedroom furniture ,TV, and storage etc excellent.
The kitchenette was well equipped with electric 2 ring stove, microwave, coffee maker , fridge, toaster , cutlery, pans, storage etc, so we had no trouble preparing meals to our liking.
The lounge was fitted with large table,Internet connection, leather armchair, sofa bed, TV, other chairs,small table etc.
Bathroom with shower/bath, toilet, washbasin and storage.
The complete suite was very clean indeed, and modern.
In all, we were extremely satisfied with the accomodation ,and reception service was friendly and responsive.
We used the Candlewood food cupboard ( honesty system) on a few occasions and took the free newspaper.
Our only criticism was the relatively loud sound of the air conditioner, which was intrusive.
The location had some traffic and train noise but this was cut down to an acceptable level when the double glazed windows were closed.
Overall we were very satisfied with our stay and it just misses a top rating, but would award 94 out of 100.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and facilities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uktraveller074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2005

Location isn't the greatest, near a business park with food options unavailable. Otherwise its great, nice and quiet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pba1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Libertyville
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Grayslake
Comfort Suites Grayslake
#1 of 1 in Grayslake
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mundelein Libertyville Area
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
6.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville

Property: Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville
Address: 1100 N US Highway 45, Libertyville, IL 60048-4469
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Libertyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Libertyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave, stove top and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines and complimentary high-speed Internet. Relax in the over stuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase meals, snacks and sundries items at value prices. We are located in the heart of Libertyville's business district, a short drive from I-94 and right next to Motorola, USG, University of St. Mary's, Volkswagen Credit and the College of Lake County. We're only minutes from many other large corporations. Surrounding leisure attractions include the new Libertyville Sports Complex, Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, Cuneo Museum and Volo Auto Museum. Simply, fun times for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Chicago Libertyville Hotel Libertyville
Candlewood Suites Libertyville
Candlewood Libertyville
Libertyville Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing